We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Affordable, convenient location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Moderno

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Moderno
Ranked #18 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Affordable, convenient location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

This is an affordable hotel ideal for a short stay.
Perfect location for the train station - just a short walk away, but 30 minute walk to the leaning tower.
Rooms are clean but are out dated. The hotel staff are friendly and the shared bathrooms are cleaned regularly.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahltaylor_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    132
    88
    20
    24
See reviews for
71
133
27
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Hotel Moderno for one night at the beginning and end of our trip around Italy as we flew in and out of Pisa. This hotel is in a great location (5 minute walk from Pisa train station which can be done with luggage, 7€ taxi ride from the airport, and a 20 minute walk to the leaning tower.
The hotel itself wasn't much for the eyes. It was dark and smelled slightly of cigarette smoke. It was clean, however, but because it is so outdated it didn't feel overly comfortable. The room was a moderate size with a larget un attacehd closet. The bathroom was fair.
The breakfast was modest compared to many other hotels we stayed at, but acceptable.
I found the staff very friendly and helpful. The older lady that people have complained about seemed nice to me. There was just a bit of a language barrier but she tried hard to help us despite this.
The wifi is free but does not work well in the rooms. You often have to go sit on the stairs in the really dark hallway. You have to ask for the password often as well as they only give you 3 hour intervals at a time.
In conclusion, Iwould recommend this hotel for a budget friendly overnight if you are flying into pisa and need somewhere to stay for one night. This is not the place to stay for a long period of time, howeve.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandyparsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

A perfect location hotel , close to airport & even closer to train station. A good 30 minute walk to Pisa Tower, And what a sight it is . Also convenient to go to Florence. A friendly run Hotel, and very courteous staff. Only one negative remark, a strong smell of cigarette odor in our room. we did booked a non smoking room.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnpaulvella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in a fantastic location for the train station (Pisa Centrale) and the airport, so perfect for travellers or students or people on a budget. Stayed in one of the twin rooms with a shared bathroom. The bathroom was very small but clean enough! There was a sink in the room which was quite handy. Staff are friendly and wifi is available, best on the ground floor though.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottishExplorer92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

this place is as far from modern as possible. ground floor, dank, smells like an old ashtray. can hear everything next door and above. for less money i did air bnb and stayed in a LOVELY house... consider it!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Merby2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pisa hotels

Olesna, Vysocina, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

This hotel is the right choice if you travel by train or by plain. It is 200 meters to the train station, It is 10 minutes on foot to the airport. If you would like to visit city, it is not problem too, you can reach the leaning tower in 20 minutes.
The hotel was clean with friendly staff. We have the doubleroom with a balcony and a privat bathroom. There was a hairdryer and a tv.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingswinford,England
Level Contributor
111 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

A very acceptable BB family run establishment which met our requirements. Arrived late and in darkness but still an easy 20 mins walk (max) from the airport. Although nothing appeared to be open in the locality we found that on turning left out of the hotel you soon came to a lively Piazza with many bars and food outlets. Stayed only one night prior to visiting family in Italy but still managed to fit in a quick viewing of the Leaning Tower just a pleasant stroll away.

Room Tip: We paid extra and had a bathroom. It was better than expected.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LsaKingswinford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pisa hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Pace
Hotel La Pace
#12 of 68 in Pisa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,463 reviews
1.0 mi away
Helvetia
Helvetia
#9 of 68 in Pisa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
0.2 mi away
NH Pisa
NH Pisa
#5 of 68 in Pisa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alessandro della Spina
2.1 mi away
B&B Hotel Pisa
B&B Hotel Pisa
#16 of 68 in Pisa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel San Ranieri
Hotel San Ranieri
#1 of 68 in Pisa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Moderno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Moderno

Property: Hotel Moderno
Address: Via Filippo Corridoni 103, 56125, Pisa, Italy (Formerly "Albergo Moderno")
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Moderno 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very close to downtown and Business. 110 meters from the train station and terminal bus . 400 m from the convention building , 1 km from the "G.Galilei" Airport. Reception open 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Moderno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moderno Hotel Pisa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing