We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 stars is very suitable for this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
AC Hotel by Marriott Pisa
Ranked #27 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
Reviewed 15 December 2009

The room and bathroom were very clean, modern and cozy. TV had no interesting channels unless you speak Italian. The free minibar was a nice addition: 2 glass bottles of coke(1 diet, 1 regular), 1 small bottle of juice and 2 0,5l bottles of water. Bathtub clean and deep. Breakfast was very basic: toast, cereal, eggs, fruits, meats, cheeses and pastries. Croissants were to die for!

Service was always very good and everybody spoke English. Hotel was quiet, no outside noices and nothing heard from other rooms or hallway. Right next door is a huge supermarket selling everything you might want to stock your minibar with, open till 9pm! There is also cafe and pizzeria and some other shopping with the supermarket. Pizzeria has very good gigantic pizzas for about 10€!

You can walk to the city centre, about 25 min/3 km. Or you can take the bus infront of the supermarket. We took bus back from the city only once since we like walking.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tikeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (983)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

334 - 340 of 983 reviews

An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 27 November 2009

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 6 November 2009

This hotel is a pretty good choice for a business trip in the Pisa area. The decor is modern, the rooms are clean and the staff are pleasant. It is about 4km from the airport and is easy to find (with a SatNav).

One issue I would have with this hotel is the lack of free WiFi. At this stage I would expect a hotel of this quality to offer free internet access. Surely the extra business would be worth any loss of revenue?

An unusual aspect of this hotel is the free mini-bar. Before you get too excited, it does not contain any alcohol - only coke, water and fruit juice. That is a nice touch though. There is no bar in the hotel so this is not a place for a drinking session in Pisa.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pádraig C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2009

We chose the AC Hotel based on other Trip Advisor reviews. The hotel is modern, clean and was very different from the more historical locations we stayed in on our trip . We both slept well prior to our early 4 am, wakeup call and found the staff helpful.

Only negative is location. We had to take a taxi both ways into Pisa for dinner. In hindsight, weI probably should have stayed in Pisa which would have been easier in the long run.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravlFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2009

This review is going to sound as though we had a dreadful time, which couldn’t be further from the truth. I believe its what you make it, we made the most of a bad situation and had a great time regardless.
We stayed at the AC Pisa for 3 nights for our wedding anniversary. The first impressions were how modern + contemporary the décor was, which is all fine with me, but felt it was quite clinical to point of being cold.
We were informed during check-in that the restaurant is closed at weekends except for breakfast?? Thought that was very odd.
The rooms are a reasonable size, they’re clean, and the bathroom was lovely. However there are no drawers to put your belongings into, no quilt on the bed, just a sheet and blanket in the wardrobe. There is a decent wardrobe but no shelves in it. Also there is no safe in the room but I think I recall safety deposit boxes next to reception. There is no tea/coffee making facilities in the room either which is a shame. There is however a FREE mini-bar, but before you get too excited, it contains 2 small waters + 2 small cokes. That’s it. Maybe it could be used to chill wine bought from the supermarket across the road as this hotel has NO bar what so ever, not even in the restaurant, which is a first for us. You can order a drink during restaurant hours, but as I said the restaurant is shut at weekends so unless you’re staying during the week, no joy there.
We happened to eat in the restaurant on our first night (Friday) due to torrential rain and tiredness. The restaurant itself was very canteen like. There was no hint of any atmosphere at all. Very depressing. The food was okay surprisingly, a little pricey. The two of us had 2 courses + wine approx £100.
The area outside the hotel has nothing going for it. Its basically residential and about 2 miles from the centre of Pisa. I was aware of the distance but felt the taxi charges were ridiculous for a five minute journey, it was around £10 each way. So we decided to try the bus service for the first time. It was great! You just get on and off wherever and whenever you want for free if its under 60 mins.
We really enjoyed Pisa town, its pretty, old and charming. The Leaning Tower was amazing too. There’s a great market on Sunday, that runs along the length of the river which runs through the town. Two great restaurants to recommend would be Bella Napoli and La Pergoletta. We headed to Tirrenia on the coast for the day, (6 miles) not much to see there, no promenade, very quiet.
As others have said on here, Pisa is more of a stop over/day trip place as once you’ve seen it there isn’t much else.
As for the hotel it’s really hard to think of any positives. It doesn’t deserve its No:1 ranking. I wouldn’t recommend it unless your staying for 1 night. It’s geared towards corporate clients not tourists. Shame.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaki07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2009

This hotel is just what you expect from a large corporate hotel. It was immaculate, nicely designed (lovely bathroom), with even a free mini bar (no alcohol I'm afraid!). Breakfast had a wide variety of options, unlike other hotels in Italy. I wouldn't recommend for people staying in Pisa for a few nights as it is away from the centre but ideal if you arrive late at the airport or are leaving early.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mini_peaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2009

AC Pisa is a clean, modern boutique hotel with very chic rooms and super-king sized beds. The only down side to the room (which was not a major problem for us) is that there is there are only 6 hangers in the wardrobe and no drawers whatsoever. Toiletries are replaced daily and include the usual shower gel, shampoo, soap and a disposable razor which is great if your travelling with hand luggage only. The hotel is situated approx 8 mins drive from the airport but is a great base to explore from as the local buses and trains run often and are clean, reliable and very cheap. The hotel is more of a business hotel but don't let this put you off. We booked a few weeks in advance and paid £52 pr night including all taxes. Buffet breakfast is included and is very tasty & plentiful, you won't go hungry. Complimentary bottles of water, coke & juice replaced daily in the mini bar is an added bonus and there are always bottles of water in the fridge in the gym. We did not eat in the hotel restaurant as we were advised by other guests it wasn't up to much, but like most places it is expensive. Eating and drinking out anywhere in Pisa is extortionately priced. However, we found a little bar/restaurant a few minutes walk down the road from the hotel, 'Le Torri' which is very reasonably priced and the food delicious. The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful and if you ask at reception they will give you a big map of Pisa and point out the Supermarket, shops and bus stop. I would recommend NOT to get a taxi from the airport to the hotel as tourist taxi's cost over 18 euros and the local taxi's 13 euro. It is far better to get the 'Red Line' bus just outside the arrivals doors at the airport to the train/bus station (Stazione is on the front of the bus) and then get the 'Blue Line' bus at the station to the hotel (Cisanello is on the front of the bus). The bus stop is literally 2 minutes across from the hotel. The journey will take approx 15-20 mins but will only cost you a total of 1.50 euros and the ticket is valid for up to 1 hour. MAKE SURE YOU VALIDATE ALL TICKETS IN THE YELLOW MACHINE ON THE BUS, or you could be liable for a fine. The bus stop into Pisa is opposite the hotel and you can easily get into Cathedral Square. I would recommend seeing Pisa on the Open Top sightseeing bus, it costs 11 euro and you can hop on and off all day and are supplied with earphones to listen to informative English commentary. The best place to get on the bus is at the Station (Stazione). The sightseeing buses run every hour. Once in Cathedral Square the best museum by far is Museo dell' Opea del Duomo, we spend 2 hours looking round, fascinating! It costs 5 euro or you can get tickets for 2, 3 or more museums at discount prices. The other 'must' is the Baptistry of St John. At 2 euro it is worth it just to listen to the acoustics demonstrated every 30 minutes. Another great place to explore is Florence. Again it is easy to get the bus from the hotel to the Station and then jump the train into Florence (destination 'Firenze). It costs 5.70 euro and the trains are comfortable, clean and reliable. It takes approx 1 hour and you can also get another Sightseeing open top bus right at the station. (with 10% discount if you show your ticket from the Pisa Sightseeing bus). Florence is big so this bus is brilliant, Again you can hop on and off and the tickets last 24 hours. A great place for lunch is 'Fiesole' (stop 13 on the green line route), this is way up in the mountains with spectacular views and the 2 pavement cafe bars near the bus stop are good value for money with very nice food. As I said eating and drinking costs a small fortune (8.50 for a small beer, less than half a pint). Check prices first and ask if there is a 'cover charge', this is usually around 3 euros per person, for a stale piece of bread that you probably won't eat. It's best to look for Self Service Restaurants where there is no cover or service charge (which can be up to 25%). Don't think that it will be cheaper outside of the main tourist areas, it's not, if anything it is more expensive. On the whole Pisa is a wonderful place to visit and I would definitely recommend AC Pisa to say at.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PamGsTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pisa hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel San Ranieri
Hotel San Ranieri
#1 of 68 in Pisa
2,745 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Repubblica Marinara
1.7 mi away
NH Pisa
NH Pisa
#9 of 68 in Pisa
1,904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Bologna Hotel Pisa
2.4 mi away
Hotel Pisa Tower
Hotel Pisa Tower
#2 of 68 in Pisa
794 reviews
2.9 mi away
Allegroitalia Pisa Tower Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Hotel by Marriott Pisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel by Marriott Pisa

Address: Via delle Torri 20, 56124, Pisa, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
#11 Luxury Hotel in Pisa
Price Range: £51 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — AC Hotel by Marriott Pisa 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your AC Hotel by Marriott Pisa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Hotels Pisa
Ac Hotel Pisa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing