We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its good!”
Review of Hotel San Ranieri

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel San Ranieri
Ranked #1 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2014

We stayed here due to a morning return flight from Pisa after our summer holidays. Visiting any Italian city is something we enjoy doing but also wanting to see the tower was of particular interest. The hotel was a great stop over for us and we are happy we did it. Its decor is modern and quite quirky in places. The garden bar was a lovely end to our day and the staff there were very friendly.

A couple of draw backs to bring up - and I have done this directly with the hotel as their review process. The instructions to get to the centre of Pisa weren't great. Some of this may have been down to the language barrier somewhat - my italian is pretty much non existent and the guy on reception may have misunderstood me - but I was told walking into town was an option. It isn't. Getting the bus does involve changing and there isn't much guidance at the station as to what to do - not the hotels fault, I know.
Also, for non speaking Italians, the in room TV doesn't give you many options.
The beds were pretty hard but oddly comfortable after a lot of walking during the afternoon.

I would recommend it and, in the main, the staff were very helpful. Breakfast is decent too. If we didn't have a flight to catch, we would have made more of that part of the day!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank thelimepickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,812)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

345 - 351 of 2,812 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2014

Only stopped the one night as we were meeting up with family to go on to a villa for the next week. We weren't disappointed. The hotel is modern, light & airy. Particularly liked the bedroom doors, which were covered in photos of classic sculptures or buildings. The staff were warm, welcoming & helpful & the breakfast was amazing, with a huge choice & a chef also available to make omelettes or smoothies. Three of us stayed for €79 including breakfast & local taxes. This was a discounted rate for liking them on Facebook & was well worth it. The bus service in the area was a bit confusing. Drivers do not take payment, so you have to buy tickets from the local shop & then get them stamped on the bus the first time you board. They can then be used on any bus till the time runs out on them. We noticed a lot of people just getting on & off without stamping their tickets & the driver said nothing. There are 2 bus stops very near by, so getting to & from the hotel was quite easy.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Toni H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Stayed there for a night with a friend because we were meeting friends off an early flight the next morning, and it was truly lovely. Charming, welcoming staff, chic and witty modern decor (though it was a little hard to find our room down a fashionably dark corridor), a really fun experience and a lovely dinner in the restaurant with portions so generous that after my starter I actually cancelled my main course as it was simply so much delicious food. Dinner was very well-priced for what we ate and drank and breakfast had a huge selection of food and drink, all included.

As an extra bonus, my friend left her iPad behind and the hotel immediately informed us and kept it safe until she could arrange a courier pickup, which was immensely appreciated.

Room Tip: The Executive Suite was very nice and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank laurenitalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We are a well travelled family of five, used to staying at four star hotels. We booked this hotel based on it's no.1 trip advisor position, four star rating and other reviews. We stayed for one week, using the hotel as a base to explore the region, before moving on to Florence.
I simply cannot believe that this hotel is genuinely worthy of four star status. It's location is in the middle of nowhere and there isn't even a mention that it is in the middle of a very run down favela. The rooms, are oppressive with very dark decor. The floor in the bedroom area was not clean and I suspect had not seen a mop and bucket for some time. My children's once white socks were evidence of this fact. The beds are exceptionally hard and uncomfortable. The showers, however, were good and the bathrooms were cleaned daily, to a high standard. We had fresh towels and bed linen on a daily basis, although I find it rather alarming that there were never any duvet covers on the duvets, merely sheets to cover the duvet and I only hope the duvets themselves were freshly laundered with each new customer?? The housekeeping staff frequently Hoover the corridors at 7.30am, which is great if you need an early morning alarm call but not so great if you intend to lie in.
Breakfast was actually quite a pleasure for the first 3 days of our stay. A good selection of fresh juices, fruits, meats, cheeses, pastries and cereals, omelettes made fresh to order and a hot buffet. However, on day 4 of our stay the hotel became much busier and the hotel staff simply could not cope with its influx of guests. Breakfast items were not replenished to meet customer demand. We began having our breakfast earlier, on the assumption that perhaps eating at 9.30 am or so was too late, even though breakfast wasn't due to finish until 10.30 am. But it made no difference. Staffing levels were inadequate and staff just could not cope with the number of guests. Tables were not cleared, with nowhere to sit. Insufficient crockery and cutlery. Restaurant Staff becoming impatient with guests and other members of staff. We, on several occasions witnessed completely unprofessional staff behaviour and conduct including an apparent argument between staff members, complete with throwing of towels and slamming of fists on counter tops. It was somewhat reminiscent of an English sitcom called 'Fawlty Towers'.
Do not even consider an evening meal at the restaurant. It is dire. Prices are overinflated and the description of dishes on the menu do not even agree with what you finally receive. There is a very nice, welcoming trattoria about 2 minutes walk from the hotel, serving, tasty, home cooked meals.
We tried to complain about the hotels 'shortcomings'. The reception manager suggested we leave a comment in the front of house book, rather than deal directly with the issues himself. However, he couldn't find the book and so he invited us to leave a review on trip advisor! I even emailed the hotel directly, during our stay, in an effort to address some issues. I received a standard, computer generated reply. It's a shame that the management do not want to listen to constructive criticism in order to drive up standards and satisfy the customer. More staff would be helpful during busy periods. The restaurant staff that we saw worked incredibly long hours, from as early as 7am, until gone midnight. Staff attitude definitely needs to be addressed.
If you do stay here do not expect four star standards. Thankfully we travelled onwards to The Hilton in Florence, who have since restored our faith in standards and customer service.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank taylorfamilyfrombas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexPisa, Direttore vendite at Hotel San Ranieri, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Dear Guest ,

thanks for expressing his thoughts and sharing it with TripAdvisor travelers.
We accept the criticism and confrontation, we are always sorry for this and regardless of his opinion not really positive.

With regard to the cleanliness of the room are sorry, the san ranieri hotel cleanliness and professionalism of the staff are the first steps that management gives to all employees. It is also demonstrating its comments as it signals that the cleanliness of the bathroom was perfect, and we thank you for that. I hope that this is not persisted during all the days of his stay, do not think so because you also specifies that every day the rooms are cleaned and policed also replaced the towels.. we are sorry if our standard of cleaning has not satisfied, we will definitely pay more attention.

About the breakfast I am glad that the first 3 days was to your liking, and as far as the 4th day most likely the concentration of all people at the same time to eat breakfast has created a bit of trouble to the staff, but the I assure you that it was just an extraordinary episode.

About the direction that does not want to listen to customers, in fact assure that the judgment and experience of our guests at our hotel is the thing that most concerns us and the proof is that we send to all guests online questionnaires for tips at the time of departure, we always ask the customer how has been the experience in the hotel and we always try to respond to online book reviews.

In regards to your completed questionnaire on 08/15/14 where he was instructed to contact you, I confirm that it is the same day that the next we tried to call the number that was indicated but no one ever answered. This is another proof that customer satisfaction is our top priority.

We thank you for his claims that his hope next stay at the San Ranieri are the fruit of his inner conviction and not just as a last choice.

We remain at your disposal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

If you want stylish Italian chic, with minimalist but striking decor, and a staff that I found to be extremely helpful and attentive, then look no further. This hotel does all the little things so very well, making for an overall superb experience. Relaxation, mouthwatering Tuscan food, and easy access to an extremely varied cultural heritage is the order of the day. This venue is not for you if you expect to lounge around a pool and sunbathe all day - there isn't one! It is, however, a first class base to meet your expectations of experiencing a wonderfully diverse, yet totally authentic immersion in Italian life. Yes, tourism is rife in Pisa, but the surrounding Tuscan countryside will reveal the real gems that will continue to make you smile, even after returning home!

Room Tip: Our classic suite was excellent. Cleanliness was superb! The photos were accurate so there is no rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Geoff425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Fabulous modern hotel in a good location to explore Pisa and the surrounding areas. Check in was fast and efficient and the rooms bright, spacious and modern. Complimentary breakfast came in handy and offered a good selection to set you up for the day. Had no problem finding a parking space for the hire car.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank wilsonberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The hotel is clean, with comfortable beds, and excellent breakfast. Rooms are relatively small but comfortable. Some of tourists maybe do not like the dark colors of the walls but it is compensated with other things. The hotel is pretty far from the city tourist center, restaurants and attractions but if you have a car it takes only few minutes to reach the main points of interest in Pisa. The hotel is very close to the main road Fi-Pi-Li to explore the area around Pisa. The hotel has a good underground garage to safely park a car for nights.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anatoly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pisa hotels
2.7 mi away
Hotel Pisa Tower
Hotel Pisa Tower
#2 of 68 in Pisa
831 reviews
2 mi away
NH Pisa
NH Pisa
#8 of 68 in Pisa
1,956 reviews
2.1 mi away
Bologna Hotel Pisa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Di Stefano
Hotel Di Stefano
#5 of 68 in Pisa
450 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Alessandro della Spina
0.3 mi away
AC Hotel by Marriott Pisa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Ranieri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Ranieri

Address: Via Filippo Mazzei, 2 | Cisanello, 56124, Pisa, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Pisa
#1 Business Hotel in Pisa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
#5 Best Value Hotel in Pisa
Price Range: £56 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Ranieri 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Hotel San Ranieri in Pisa we transform common places into extraordinary ones. We offer our guests gallant terraces facing up to the sky, wall partitioning that absorbs solar energy and shines nocturnal rainbows, and design rooms that might be mistaken for spaceships. Our architect Simone Micheli, one of the most noted contemporary designers, has created a wondrous metropolitan oasis. The rooms of the Hotel San Ranieri in Pisa are a concentrated eclecticism of contemporary and sophisticated vintage patterns. They offer all that you will need and even additional services that you will not want to be lacking. You will be amazed at our fiber optical Internet connection that will enable you to navigate at the speed of light. With our complimentary TV Mediaset Premium, you can enjoy hours of television entertainment with your family and friends. The Squisitia restaurant in the San Ranieri Hotel is well-known for always offering its clients truly superlative recipes using local ingredients, such as seasonal truffles, mushrooms and produce in its flavorful Pisan & Tuscan cuisine. The Squisitia restaurant is distinguished by the excellence of its homemade items, such as pasta, bread and pastries, served with care and kindness by our skilled and attentive staff. If you wish to visit the center of Pisa: Piazza dei Miracoli is found 4 kms (10 minutes) from the hotel. You can get to the center by car, or take the LAM BLU bus. The bus stop is located just a few hundred meters from the hotel. If you are going to Cisanello: The hospital is directly in front of us. We offer visitors to Cisanello—patients, family members, teachers, doctors and nurses—the perfect position to easily walk to the hospital. If you are just stopping by: The SGC Fi-Pi-Li is only 5 minutes away, while the Galileo Galilei airport is 8 minutes distance by car. If you are going to Palazzo dei Congressi: you can reach the convention center in only 5 minutes by car. The Palazzo dei Congressi is 3 kms from the hotel. You can also reach it by LAM BLU bus. The bus stop is not far from the hotel's entrance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel San Ranieri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Ranieri Hotel
San Ranieri Pisa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing