We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth to have breakfast looking to S.Giminiano towers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Fornace di Racciano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We spent a couple of days in this typical tuscan house, Nice views. Quite quiet place, owners are a very kind young couple. Not far from S.Gimignano, there is a nearby trattoria where it is possible to have dinner

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jruizbarcelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (209)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 209 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2013

We stayed already for the third time in this lovely small hotel. It provides very quiet and friendly atmosphere, breakfasts with local products, very nice swimming pool and spacy appartments. It is surrounded by vineyards and provides excellent view of San Gimignano panorama. There is a beautiful garden restaurant within 300m. We fully recommend it.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Petr K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

The old farmhouse is at 2.5km from San Gimignano. First of all, you need a car in order to arrive here and to visit the area. On the website of the B&B you have a very good map on how to reach the place.
It is situated on a hill in an area full of olive trees and vineyards. Christiano, the owner, told me that they produce their own olive oil and their wine(i bought a bottle, the brand is Cesani). It is a quiet place where you can have a 10+ sleep quality and when you'll wake up you'll hear the birds singing. We had the Pino Apartment with a full equipped kitchen but we also had in some days breakfast in the hall where you have a magnificent view to San Gimignano. Breakfast: salami, home made bread, olive oil, cereals, italian cakes, croissant etc. in case you don't want to go far, at 50m there is the Trattoria "Borgo di Racciano" where you can have lunch or dinner. We tested and it was very ok. We loved to stay in this old farmhouse - nobody to bother you, peace and quiet, a very nice area and the pool(this one we'll do next time, now it was very cold). San Gimignano is situated at 2.5km and in the other direction Volterra(approx 20km). My recommendation is to visit both of them. Christiano the owner can gladly help you with what you need. The main gate is closed at night but you'll have the key if you want to go in and out. A supermarket is in San Gimignano(a COOP) and 15km there is a PAM(in Poggibonsi). Take into account that all of them usually close at 20pm.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Pino Studio and it was very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank snakebyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

We stayed at this pretty farmhouse in August 2012. The owner, his family and staff were very friendly. They served a nice continental breakfast and we found the price for our room very reasonable (only about 75 Euros per day) The apartment had a small lounge area, comfortable bed and was very well equiped with air con and a kitchenette which we used for lunch and breakfast on some days.

I'd definitely recommend this accomodation for couples and families for a relaxing, authentic, sight seeing holiday. Great location, only a few minutes drive to the centre of San Gimignano. We went to some great restaurants nearby and really enjoyed the wandering the town in the evening. A great location for visiting Florence and Sienna by car or train.

Lovely swimming pool area with big gazebo, pretty gardens with beautiful views of vine yards and San Gimignano's towers. Very hot in August, approx 30 degrees but so beautiful to drive about and explore the countryside.

Cheap supermarket is about 10 minutes drive near the town of Poggisbonsi. There is one in San Gimignano but its twice the price because of the tourists!

Easy to book this place through their website and good correspondance with the owner via emails. Thank you for a great holiday Cristiano, family and Bridgitte :)

We hope to return soon x

Room Tip: We stayed in the apartment rosa and it was great for two people
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jenthehen_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2011

We loved the farmhouse. It was spacious and clean. It overlooked the hills of Tuscany. Amzaing!!! The pool was nice to unwind. San Gimignano was a nice little middle ages town. Some reviews of the town said it was flooded with tourism. I honestly thought the town was well preserved and not over crowded. It was closed to cars so the kids could run freely through the narrow streets.
The caretaker at the farmhouse was so helpful and hospitable. They served a modest continental breakfast for 7euro pp./a fair price. They sold his own EVOO. He also sold wines from his friends wine orchards. 6euro a bottle was a nice price. All in all this was a lovely stay and good value.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kayfay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2009

After running away from a bad hotel we decided to basically drive around the San Gimignano area and find a good place to stay. We found this hidden place by coincidence and we loved it...
It has a great location over looking the San Gimignano towers... It's an old villa / farm renewed into a six room B&B / apartments. We had a good sized room with a large kitchen and one double bed. A little run down but by Italian standards it was in very good condition. Breakfast was a bit boring but for the 85 Euros we paid per night it was a great option and a good value. Lovely restaurant just up the street (again amazing view and the BEST Nutella Pizza you are EVER gonna eat!) and as it's a dead end street - the hotel is very quiet!
Very nice pool in the back of the B&B which we enjoyed a lot. Private free parking with closed gate at night. Being there felt really nice. a great central location for Tuscany: Sienna, Voltera etc

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nehederet77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LA Fornace D, Responsabile reception at La Fornace di Racciano, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
2.5 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#2 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,350 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#5 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,277 reviews
4.4 mi away
Poderi Arcangelo Agriturismo Farmhouse
Poderi Arcangelo Agriturismo Far...
#10 of 108 in San Gimignano
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Agriturismo Il Casolare di Bucciano
1.3 mi away
Fattoria Voltrona
Fattoria Voltrona
#5 of 108 in San Gimignano
715 reviews
2.2 mi away
Agriturismo Il Segreto di Pietrafitta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Fornace di Racciano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fornace di Racciano

Address: Localita Racciano 6, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 108 Speciality Lodging in San Gimignano
Price Range: £57 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your La Fornace di Racciano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Fornace Di Racciano San Gimignano, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing