We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of Our Tuscan Vacation”
Review of B&B Ponte a Nappo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
B&B Ponte a Nappo
Ranked #23 of 67 San Gimignano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We had booked an apartment for our entire three week stay just outside San Gimignano. There were "issues" with that place and we happened upon Ponte a Nappo as we walked up the Old Road into San Gimignano. It was a paradise! We chose to stay for our last 8 nights and it made our Tuscany experience! The breakfasts were very good and we enjoyed them poolside each morning. The ambience around the property is one of complete relaxation and ease! We used the great lounge chairs around the pool each day. You can have Carla make you a delicious lunch if you would like and purchasing a bottle of wine to drink in your room or poolside is my recommendation. During our stay they offered guests a dinner on Mondays and Thursdays, which was very good. The location is perfect! There is a fantastic view of San Gimignano from the property and a walk of 20 minutes has you inside the walls of this gorgeous village. We stayed in an apartment and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. I highly recommend Ponte a Nappo for a stay in Tuscany!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dovie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2013

On the morning of Sept. 9th, my wife and I were staying in Piensa. We made a reservation which was confirmed by email by Ponte A Nappo for one night.
After driving several hours, we arrived at Ponte A Nappo and was told that they had made a mistake and did not have any rooms available. We were told that they had emailed us to notify us of this problem. We explained that during our trip, we had no ability to receive emails so we never received such. Their reply was, "too bad, nothing available, we sent us an email." They kept us in the mosquito infested driveway without inviting us in to assist us with other accommodations.
This left us with a tourists dilemma; no place to stay during a very busy season.
When we did finally found a place to stay (which was stressful and exhausting) and plugged in our cell phone- we found that the Ponte A Nappo had in fact, sent us an email- at 4:30pm....AN HOUR BEFORE WE WERE SUPPOSED TO ARRIVE!!
So buyer beware!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank mbrillo18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nappo2010, Proprietario at B&B Ponte a Nappo, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013
Google Translation

Salve Sig. 18,
il 9 settembre alle 11:40 mi ha scritto la prima email chiedendo se avevamo una camera disponibile e che eri in partenza da Lucca per venire a San Gimignano.
Le abbiamo risposto che ne avevamo una in centro ed una in capagna.
Alle 12:33 , un ora dopo, mi ha detto che avrebbe voluto prenotare una camera a Ponte a Nappo e che "ci veidamo presto".
Non ha fornito ne un numero di telefono ne un numero di carta di credito a garanzia.
Visto che alle 11:40 eravate in partenza per San Gimignano e che da Lucca in meno di 2 ore si arriva a San Gimignano, vi aspettavamo per le 14:30- 15:00. Dopo le quattro facendo un controllo degli arrivi previsti per la giornata, visto che non eravate ancora arrivati, ci siamo accorti che la camera che vi abbiamo detto che era libera a ponte a nappo non lo era quindi vi abbia scritto un 'email dicendovi che avevamo sbagliato ma che restava libera la camera in centro nell'altra nostra struttura. Vi abbiamo scritto un email perchè era L'UNICO contatto che ci avete fornito, non avevamo altri mezzi.
La sera alle 19:00 vi sete presentati ed una volta che vi abbiamo spiegato il problema e vi abbiamo offerto una soluzione alternativa al centro, in un altro B&B in campagna vi siete indignati perche lacamera non c'era!!
LEI ha scelto di comunicare via email quindi se dalle 12:33 alle 19:00 che siete arrivati da noi non avete più controllato le email non è colpa nostra. Oltretutto lei ha detto che voleva prenotare ma non ha chiesto ne il prezzo ne una nostra conferma ne se avevamo bisogno di una garanzia.
Quindi credo che quello che ha scritto non corrisponde a essattamente alla verità.
Ogni giorno Noi siamo qui a lavorare e ci mettiamo la faccia in prima persona e non ci firmiamo MBRILLO18

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Ponte A Nappo was the highlight of our 6-week tour of Europe. It was highly recommended by friends who had previously stayed, and more than lived up to expectations. The family of Andrea, Carla, Francesco and young Lorenzo were wonderful hosts, thankyou to all of you. Our room, Bianca, was very comfortable and had a fabulous view up to San Gimignano. We enjoyed breakfast on the patio overlooking the fantastic pool and a backdrop of the town, olive groves,Tuscan villas and vineyards..it sure had the wow factor! We stayed a week, walked the road to the amazing town of San G. many times, and drove to Siena, Florence and Pisa (each within an hour). The pool area was a real haven on hot afternoons, a great venue for a few beers and relaxing after busy sightseeing trips. Carla's dinners were wonderful, and the wine from their vineyard is highly recommended! Go there, you won't be disappointed!
Phil and Gena, Australia

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nappo2010, Proprietario at B&B Ponte a Nappo, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Dear Pill and Gena,
thank you very much your sweet words!!! we are glad you fell the essence of Ponte a Nappo and San Gimignano.
We are waiting you soon
Thanks Francesco & Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Our stay in Ponte a Nappo was absolutely fantastic! We spend a week in an apartment, which was located in the historical center of San Gimignano (just 200 m from the main square). We also had a great time in the farmhouse garden with the swimming pool and an amazing view of San Gimignano.
The family that owns the B&B was very friendly and doing their best to make their guests a pleasant stay. Sometimes they organize dinner in the farmhouse garden, with home made dishes prepared by Carla. All the meals were simply delicious, accompanied with a very nice local wine...
In conclusion, this was one of the best places I have ever stayed and would recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martina_mf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

There are few places that leave a lasting impression, but Ponte A Nappo did just that! From the moment we arrived and meet Andrea to when we said goodbye, the service was truly incredible!

We had the Lilla room, on the ground floor, which was perfect for our needs, a view of San G from our window completed the look, not sure what more you would look for - the pool and surrounding gardens are a delight and very well looked after, the pool a delight to dip in when the temperature soared, which it did when we stayed last week.

They arranged a dinner for all the guests, so a large U shaped table was erected and we enjoyed one of the best 4 course dinners ever! Delicious. Thank you Carla!

Breakfast was always great, the tomato bruschetta, so tasty and you could have eggs and Espresso coffee for an extra few euros, if you wished.

Francesco and Andrea always busy with maintaining the grounds, shower electrics around the pool was the last project, hope it went OK?!

The walk up to San G was about 10 - 15 minutes walk up this road and we managed to remember the torch, (which does help on the return) but very manageable but pretty hot!! For the last two nights we opted for taking the car (as we were pretty exhausted by all the walking in Florence & Siena) so for €5 you could park the car in the car park next to the entrance of San G.

All in all, one of the best holidays we have spent, and we will return for sure!! Well we will have to , as my husband badly packed a bottle of Chianti wine (a gift from Andrea to us) and it shattered in MY suitcase!! :)

Mille Grazie to Carla, Francesco and Andrea

Andy & Lucinda Barker

Room Tip: I think all the rooms have either views over San G or the beautiful scenery.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luc48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013 via mobile

I cannot say enough about how much I love this B&B. this was my 2nd time to stay there and I loved it even more. The room we had was exactly as the photos suggest. Large, spotless clean and the view from our room overlooking the Tuscan countryside was absolutely breathtaking! Very centrally located. But the highlight of the stay was the staff! They are the warmest, most hospitable people I've met in Italy. Nothing was too much trouble. We stayed in San Gimignano historical centre but availed of the pool facilities at the farmhouse. Just perfect with stunning views of San Gimignano. There's nowhere else I'd stay for my future visits to San Gimignano! Thanks to Francesco, Andreas and theur wonderful mother for the lovely, homemade pasta!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heart_Rainbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We really enjoyed our 5-days staying in Ponte a Nappo in the beginning of june. I think there's the best Tuscan scenery from the pool-area - or from the windows facing pool/San Gimignano (we stayed in apartment L'olivo). Place is perfect - I can't say anything else. Staff is so friendly and fhe food Carla makes for guests (a'25€ - 4 course dinner) couple of times during week is something you dont get anywhere else. We just enjoyed :-)
Breakfast was good and apartment too. Garden is so beautiful!!
Ponte a Nappo is near San Gimignano town- about 10minutes by walk. It's really good base for getting around Tuscany. We were visiting Siena and Volterra and other towns nearby, San Gimignano is definitely most beutiful and nicest in Tuscany (we have been many places in Italy before).

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KurAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nappo2010, Proprietario at B&B Ponte a Nappo, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2013

Dear Anne,
thank you very much for your words.
We hope you had a grat time during you stay here at Ponte a Nappo and we will wait you soon to enjoyng the pool at sun seet again.
Thanks a lot
Francesco Andrea and Carla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
0.8 mi away
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
#9 of 29 in San Gimignano
660 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#17 of 29 in San Gimignano
160 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sovestro
Hotel Sovestro
#3 of 29 in San Gimignano
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Leon Bianco
Hotel Leon Bianco
#6 of 29 in San Gimignano
909 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Cisterna Hotel
La Cisterna Hotel
#7 of 29 in San Gimignano
766 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Bel Soggiorno
Hotel Bel Soggiorno
#10 of 29 in San Gimignano
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Ponte a Nappo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Ponte a Nappo

Address: Via Vecchia 66 | Localita Ponte a Nappo, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 67 B&Bs / Inns in San Gimignano
Price Range: £83 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Busini Rossi Carla Holiday, the bed and breakfast of San Gimignano that offers 9 options of great prestige, scattered between the countryside and the historical centre of a wonderful UNESCO World Heritage hamlet. From the olive trees, the vineyards, and the swimming pool of the Ponte a Nappo country house, to the medieval charm of Palazzo Tortoli a short walk from the beautiful towers: rooms and apartments equipped with every comfort, finely furnished to preserve the authentic taste of a holiday in the heart of Tuscany. A truly magical bed and breakfast of San Gimignano where you can enjoy an experience rich in art, history and culture, home cooking and fine wines, relaxation, sun, and nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your B&B Ponte a Nappo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b&b Ponte a Nappo Hotel San Gimignano
Bed And Breakfast Ponte a Nappo
B&B Ponte a Nappo San Gimignano, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing