We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Osteria delle Catene
Reserve with
Osteria delle Catene is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 129 Restaurants in San Gimignano
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$17 - US$51
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Although the host was very welcoming and helpful and the service was good we found the food to be very average compared to everywhere else we have eaten in Tuscany. Our mushroom bruschetta was delicious, but the tomato one lacked taste and the beef in chianti, and pumpkin pasta with meat sauce were also sadly lacking in flavour. Very disappointing having expected much more based on previous reviews.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OdC_12, Proprietario at Osteria delle Catene, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Guests,
thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant, and for the nice words you spent for the service and part of the food.
Yet, we were a bit surprised to hear that you didn’t appreciate the Stracotto (beef in Chianti) and the Ravioli (pumpkin-filled pasta with meat sauce) because, as you also mention in your comment, our guests usually like and praise these dishes. Different tastes often influence the way food is perceived and appreciated, that’s why we hope you will be our welcome guests again: maybe some dishes will meet better your expectations. If told, our waiter is always ready make suggestions according to the different tastes of our dear guests.
Sincerely,
Gino & Virgilio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    216
    44
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice simple lunch, not so touristy”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

The city is swarmed with tourist, fortunately this restaurant slightly off the main tourist path. It is small, it is simple, and yes I would go there again. Good food for a very decent price, and kind service.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Travels_too_much_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“really nice restaurant”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

we went 2 times to this restaurant: excellent! And a very friendly and honest staff! We can recommend it without any doubt.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jehaesel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Little cute osteria!”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Its a wonderful place with perfectly cooked food and hospitable owner! We were there 2 times, ate beef chianina, hare cooked with three wines, oven cooked lamb with white wine and onions. All this dishes were very tasty. Thanks owner for this!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vikshira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A Gem in a Tourist Town”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The town is crawling with tourists during the day, so we waited until the evening for dinner - what a great decision, and an even better one to eat here. It's a small place on one of the side roads, and a small osteria. But if you can get a table, it's well worth it. We were surrounded by locals as we spoke with the waiter (who didn't speak much English, but had as much fun as we did finding a middle language ground). A great wine selection started the meal; a typical Tuscan cheese plate for appetizer, and then our main courses were the highlight. Homemade sauces, soups and pasta were the norm, and they tasted it. They have a wild boar dish that is outstanding; don't be afraid to try it, it's not gamey at all and tastes more like beef than pork. Vegetable soup was full of fresh vegetables (enough for the smallest person in our group for a meal, but not if you're hungry). Finally, I suggest the pasta with onions, bacon and cooked in a chianti sauce. It has a strong flavor, but our waiter suggested a great wine to pair it with. Service was outstanding - not the place for those looking for a quick bite, but once you eat here, you won't want to rush.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Al P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Osteria delle Catene also viewed

San Gimignano, Province of Siena
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 

Been to Osteria delle Catene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing