We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good restaurant, great view to Piazza!”

Locanda Di Sant'Agostino
Ranked #25 of 129 Restaurants in San Gimignano
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
94 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Very good restaurant, great view to Piazza!”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This is a great place to have a pasta or pizza while visiting San Gimignano. It's close to one of the parkings outside the city walls, and just 300 ft away from the way leading to the main square. The pastas were excellent, the service was nice, there were live musicians playing very well nearby at the piazza and it was close to the church with picturesque countryside. This was great time!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tadeusz Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    227
    75
    22
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
103 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Surprise Value”
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

Suggested by a retail merchant so we were initially suspect. Frequented by locals and visitors alike as it is a little off the beaten path. The pici with leaks was great and my wife's pasta was equally great. The pana cotta was also very good. Say away from the tourist food - pizza and pasta with red sauce and you may be pleasantly surprised.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brookner1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darlington, UK
Level Contributor
126 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Lunch outside in the sun”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Located in a square right next to Church of Sant Agostino we found this to be the quieter area of san Gimignano. We have a nice relaxing lunch while sat in the sun. Food was excellent with good service all away from the main throng of tourists.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank funkrye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cute Restaurant, Good food, Away from the Crowds”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Great location, away from the crowds. Right next to Church of Sant Agostino (which is great, definitely worth a visit, Fresco work is amazing) in the square. It was a chilly evening, so we ate inside, but several people ate outside. Food was good. Kids loved the pizza. Adults had pasta. Good house wine. Service was friendly. They even bring lemon cello to taste at the end. Would definitely recommend.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank meganti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

My wife stumbled upon this place when we were exploring the side streets of San Gimignano. We both thought this place was delicious. The appetizer board with meats and cheeses is highly recommended. I wanted to try something new and had the pappardelle with wild boar sauce and was not disappointed. We both recommended this place.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Locanda Di Sant'Agostino also viewed

San Gimignano, Province of Siena
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 

Been to Locanda Di Sant'Agostino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing