We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Fabulous”
Review of Le Tre Stelle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Tre Stelle
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely Fabulous”
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Our visit was actually in September, but we will continue to remember it for years to come. Delightful atmosphere and wonderful, wonderful food. All of our friends have been shown our video of Donatella feeding the animals. I do hope that one day we can return.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adeledit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    56
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
63
139
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, WA
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We had a lovely 6 night stay at Le Tre Stelle. Donatella and her mother are warm, friendly and welcoming. Donatella is an amazing cook and bent over backwards to provide a real taste of Tuscany at breakfast and the 2 dinners we had with her. Everything is local, and most everything is home made and/or home-grown, from the prosciutto to the wine. Donatella takes pride in this. Le Tre Stelle is a true working farm, with pigs and ducks and chickens as well as the vineyards, so you're not going to find the creature comforts or the embellishments of the Ritz Carlton -- the towels are a little worn and line-dried, the decor is what you might find at your aging aunt's house (silk flowers, tacky pictures on the wall) - but who cares! You get to experience real life in Tuscany, not some fake touristy version of it. Donatella was a superb host and we would definitely return to Le Tre Stelle.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne-Marie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 October 2011

We stayed at Le Tre Stelle for 5 days, what a wonderful choice that was! The farm house is set in such a beautiful country side of Tuscany, from the moment we arrived till the minute we left, everything was exceptional. Donatella, Antonella and Nonna Maria are such fun, loving, hard working, smiling, amazing hosts - all food including vegetables and meat were produce of the farm. Also the wine and vinsanto were made by the three ladies of the farm house (hence Le Tre Stelle). Not to mention even the desserts were home made! Every morning and every evening there was wild expectation of what the menu was going to be as the menu was decided then and there depending on the harvest of the day. We also made friends with Lollo, the house pig (half wild bore), which had 2-3 wives and about 8 piglets.

The farm is also in close proximity to many attaractions of Tuscany. We would have our big breakfast, set off for a day trip to near by villages (San Gimignano, Siena and Volterra to name a few) and come back for a wonderful dinner with the rest of the guests till mid night.

3 months after the holidays, me (South Korean) and my boyfirend (Italian) are still talking about nonna Maria and the times we had there. We will definetely go back there... the only draw back was that we were about 3 kg heavier after the trip, but absolutely happier beyond imagination!!!!

Room Tip: Just try your luck - every single room has its own charm
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

First of all : Donatella is the best host : her laughter, her hospitality, her cooking (breakfast + dinner : to die for!!), her tips where to go : all Superb!! We had a fantastic room with a large balcony and great view. We used the option for joyning in dinner twice and this is so delicious : both the food and the wines! The farm has a pool and it has a big vinyard where you can walk for a while and see the grapes and the views, very nice. It was the best location to visit Certaldo, San Gimignano and see a good part of the Chianti route. We stayed here for 3 days and it was well worth it. Excellent! Thanks Donatella (and thank you Maria) !

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mo-Netherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

We had a great time here. The location is perfect for us to drive in Toscana, because it's situated in the center of Toscana and near the charming town, Certald. It means we don't need to drive the winding narrow road to find 'Le Tre Stelle'. On the other hand, we can enjoy a beautiful landscape from its vineyard. The home-made dishes, which Donatelle and Maria cooked, and their wine were wonderful. Of course, all ingredients are from their farm. I couldn't hardly wait for dinner. Maria always served like a real mother. Donatella kindly answered my questions and advised me. Though I have stayed some farm-houses in Italy, I thought 'Le Tre Stelle' is the real agritourism. Thank you, Donatella ,Antonella and Maria!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wakuwaku-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Donatella is great!!!!

She is such a happy, kind and generous person, She cooks delicious, her wine is great and she goes further to help in everything....

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria0617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2011

We found the hospitatlity provided by Donatella above average and the farm average for the area. Donatella was extremely polite and helpful. She spent over an hour with us the first day looking on the interent for activites for the family. She also gave us directions when we needed it. The breakfast provided was a very nice touch since we didnt get this everywhere we went.
As far as the farm we felt it was nice but would rate this average. The rooms were on the second floor and a little dark. It was very hot in the rooms (we heard that the weather was hotter then usual for June). The first floor of the house was cool but as soon as we walked up the stairs we felt a wave of heat. We opened the windows, which helped a little, even though there were no screens and thus some bugs. Also, the beds were a little hard but again we could deal with the beds if not for the heat on the second floor. The surroundings on the farm were average with a pleasant view but not above average. Again, the hospitatlity made up for the average farm.. We would recommend this to a family going to the area. Also, the farm was in a very central location for exploring Tuscany.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank my3girlsFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
6.3 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#3 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Sovestro
Hotel Sovestro
#2 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
2.6 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#4 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
#6 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
0.7 mi away
Poderi Arcangelo Agriturismo Farmhouse
5.6 mi away
Agriturismo Poggiacolle
Agriturismo Poggiacolle
#5 of 111 in San Gimignano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Tre Stelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Tre Stelle

Property: Le Tre Stelle
Address: Via Fonte di Campaino 17/B, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 111 Speciality Lodging in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
small farmholiday situated only two kilometers far from Certaldoand 8 kilometers far from san Gimignano which offers to guests five doublerooms with private bathroom-air conditioned and heating.restaurant .typical tuscan product.swimming pool with big solarium area.we speak french english and german languages ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Le Tre Stelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Tre Stelle San Gimignano, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing