We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My little Italy” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Agriturismo La Collina dei Lecci

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Agriturismo La Collina dei Lecci
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“My little Italy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

Firstly, I must apologise to the owners for only discovering now that they are listed on tripadvisor...else I would have submitted this review long ago.
We have stayed here twice before - in 2008 and in 2012. On both occasions we travelled with friends and stayed in the apartment. We used this as our base whilst exploring different towns and regions every day. Returning in the evenings was like coming home. Not only could we enjoy the superb facilities, but we enjoyed the produce from the farm and felt cared for. The farm is well located and within easy reach of a number of towns and sites.
We will recommend this to anybody, anytime and we will be back there at the earliest opportunity.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HenkLourens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    3
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2011

We traveled in Italy for 2 weeks, and our 3 nights/4 days in Tuscany were a highlight among many highlights. The authenicity of Agriturismo La Collina dei Lecci was a delight and contributed greatly to our overall very positive visit to Italy. The room we stayed in was in the upper level of the relatively new dwelling where the guests stayed, and was very clean and spacious. There are 3 private rooms with private baths on the upper level, sharing a common area. The view of the Tuscany hillside was spectacular. The grounds including the olive trees and original farm buildings also really gave us a true feel for this part of Italy. The owners could not have been nicer to us in terms of making the reservation, and welcoming us to the room. The homemade breakfast and service made us feel special. And the rate for the room was a great value.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidUSA2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2010

This is a perfect place to stay to experience the hill towns and nearby cities of Siena, Florence, and Pisa. We stayed in the one bedroom apartment which appeared to be recently constructed and very well maintained. It was very clean and comfortable, had a fully equipped kitchen, and a beautiful working fireplace. The scenery is absolutely breath-taking and the resident dogs walk with you in the morning as you go to breakfast. The warm family that owns the agriturismo and operates the farm is genuinely interested in making sure that you have eveything you need. Although there can be a slight language barrier, we were able to communicate well with them. Teresa is well versed in English and is only a phone call away in case there is a language barrier with her parents.

Breakfast was included and was served daily in the main house by Rosa. Sometimes her husband Pepe was also present. They gladly shared the fruits of their farm (honey, olives, cheese, olive oil, and wine) with us.

This is a perfect place to stay if you want to enjoy experience the beauty of Tuscany in a quiet, friendly, and truly Italian atmosphere.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank animalNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2009

We spent the first week in May in San Gimignano close to Siena in Tuscany. It was an ideal holiday because it is not yet high season but all the hotels and restaurants are open so it's easy to just find a place to stay without too much hassle. We stayed at La collina dei lecci, 7 minutes by car from San Gimignano. It's a tiny complex of 3 apartments and we chose the Sasso flat with 3 double bedrooms 2 bathrooms (one ensuite) and a small but fully equipped kitchen. The flat has a very Tuscan feel to it, with stone walls and wooden beams, it's neatly tucked away in the hills and close to a working farmhouse belonging to the owner's parents . Olive trees and vineyards surround the area and it is lovely to take a walk first thing in the morning accompanied by the owner's 2 dogs Lola and Ulisse. From San Gimignano there are loads of day trips each offering something totally different. A day trip to Siena is a must but drive carefully as the road to the city is very busy and park right outside the city as the roads within the walls are very narrow , or take a driving tour south of Siena along the ''Crete Senesi'' for those breathtaking views of typical Tuscan hills, or spend a day in the Chianti Classico area visiting all the small villages (Castellina in Chianti is a little jewel) and stopping at every vineyard for a taste of Chianti. Tasting is normally free if you buy at least one bottle of wine. Another day out is visiting the town of Pienza lovely on its own but blessed in addition by endless shops selling wild boar salamis, pasta and pecorino cheese...an absolute must.

Helpful?
Thank Voyager968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sicily, Italy
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2008

Collina dei Lecci is a small and pleasent farmhouse near San Gimignano.
The Owner gave us an appartment ( we were six) and we spent a lovely weekend.
The appartment is nicely decoreted and with all the confort .In front of the appartment There is a small garden where the guests can sit and enjoying the nature. Obviously a car is adviced to go up in town

  • Stayed December 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
Helpful?
Thank Sabrinagaudio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
2.4 mi away
Hotel Sovestro
Hotel Sovestro
#2 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
4.1 mi away
Agriturismo Montegonfoli
Agriturismo Montegonfoli
#52 of 111 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
3.2 mi away
Agriturismo Il Castagnolino
Agriturismo Il Castagnolino
#90 of 111 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Agriturismo Il Casolare di Bucciano
Agriturismo Il Casolare di Bucci...
#12 of 111 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
1.4 mi away
Agriturismo Polveraia
Agriturismo Polveraia
#62 of 111 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
1.2 mi away
Agriturismo Poggiacolle
Agriturismo Poggiacolle
#5 of 111 in San Gimignano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo La Collina dei Lecci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo La Collina dei Lecci

Property: Agriturismo La Collina dei Lecci
Address: via San Donato, 21, San Gimignano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 111 Speciality Lodging in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Agriturismo La Collina dei Lecci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agriturismo La Collina Dei Lecci San Gimignano, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing