We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A jewel in the crown of the whole of Italy” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Torraccia di Chiusi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Torraccia di Chiusi
Ranked #3 of 65 San Gimignano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A jewel in the crown of the whole of Italy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013 via mobile

Staying at Torraccia Di Chiusi was a highlight of our month long trip to Italy. Stefano was the perfect host, sharing the history of his beautiful home with such passion and love. The tour of the ancient cave was a highlight as was the substantial wine tasting. Bruno, the chef, deserves a couple of Michelin stars for his dinners and Stefano's Leek Pasta is a dish I will remember forever. Maria made us feel very welcome and the beautiful accommodation was very comfy. I would highly recommend this agriturismo to anyone who wants to know Tuscany intimately and with their whole heart. I wish we could have stayed forever!

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Blootigerroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donatella S, Responsabile reception at Torraccia di Chiusi, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
.Many hanks for your beautiful words, thank you for your appreciation. we love our work and we are happy when our passion becomes visible to our guests. We wish all the best for you, greetings from all of us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    21
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
45
198
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

From the very personal welcome to this oasis of calm, until the time we left three days later, we were enveloped in a special atmsophere I am sure unique to this place; the history of the House, the surounding landscaps, views and the wonderful hospitality,this was a fantastic break. I would recomend to any who appreciate peace and quiet, fine food, and fantastic hospitality. We will certainly return

Room Tip: Ask for a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TimandPip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donatella S, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Torraccia di Chiusi, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
What gives sense to our work is the joy of our guests. Thank you for sharing with us your time. We hope to welcome you again as soon as possible.
Greetings from all of us in Torraccia di Chiusi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013 via mobile

Wow! My husband and I were so impressed by the beautiful accommodations, the delicious food and fantastic grounds! Stefano was such a wonderful host and made us feel so welcome! We wouldn't change a single thing about our time there. It was like a slice of heaven for us and we hope to return some day! If you stay at this magical place you won't regret it and will find yourself wishing you could stay longer!

Stayed September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ted H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

Beautiful property with spectacular views in every direction. Lovely great room for guests to share which was nice in November to cozy up and enjoy some tea or wine while the kids explored the cabinet of board games in the corner. Food was outstanding, but dinner takes several hours which makes it harder with young children. All 3 of our children would eventually fall asleep during dinner, and then we were able to really enjoy the meals. The owner gave us a wonderful tour including through his own residence. The history he shares is incredible, and he showed us some ancient coins he and his wife discovered while walking around the property. Wine tasting is a must, and the best we'd ever experienced. That's saying a lot for 4 adults who have spent most of their days in CA. The wine is fabulous and a good value. The cost for half board is a bit high relative to other similar accomodations, but the property and food are wonderful. Worth visiting at least once and if it's your one and only stop in Tuscany, then splurge and experience this wonderful place.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyProTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2012

My wife and I spent a weekend here in October, 2012. I told her i had booked an agriturismo in Tuscany to end our visit to Italy but told her nothing about the place; from the moment we arrived she was overwhelmed. The grounds are spectacular, even in the autumn, with lime and lemon trees, lavender plants, and a host of other herbs carefully cared for around the grounds. There is also lots to do in the area including a lovely 90 minute walk along the old Roman road into the medieval city of San Gimignano.

The hosts Stefano and Donatella were outstanding, as was Maria at reception. Chef Bruno prepared wonderful dinners as well. We took part in a lovely wine tasting during which we sampled Stefano's wines while he described them. They have a hot tub on site which one can reserve for a cost. The hot tub was lovely but unlike in North America, hot tubs are often left unheated when not in use (to reduce fuel cost) so make sure you reserve it prior to arrival since it takes several hours to warm up.

I've made multiple trips to Italy and stayed in several agriturismos, all of which have been excellent, but this one is without question the nicest I've had the pleasure to stay in. We will certainly return there on our next trip to Tuscany.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony_Rush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2012

We chose Torraccia di Chiusi from the Tripadviser site and as usual, the comments of other travellers was "spot on"! A real taste of Tuscany on a working agri-tourismo vineyard! The region, the site , the scenery, the friendly welcome from Maria, Stefano's tour of their house with the added history lesson and Brono's cooking make this an absolute must for anyone who wants to experience the Tuscan region. Maybe a little hard to find, even with a GPS, but that is the only small negative! We spent an hour trying to find the place but I could think of worse places to spend an hour driving around in circles!!!
The room was large and had great views but for me, Bruno's efforts in the kitchen were something to be experienced. The dinners were great home style Italian cooking and you need to be absolutely starving because the meals are huge! Their wine was also very drinkable!
Do yourself a favour and spend a couple of nights here - you wont be disappointed!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philadelphia area
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

This place is an incredible find. We were told to stay here by friends of ours. Were here for 4 nights, and I am already planning my return trip. Stefano and Donatella are the most gracious hosts, and Bruno's cooking is wonderful. I am a vegetarian, and we ate dinner at the agriturismo every night. I never had to remind them that I didn't eat meat, and the meals were delicious, abundant portions, and very reasonable. They have their own vineyard, and if you request it in advance, Stefano will arrange a tour of the vineyards and do a tasting. He was very helpful to us with directions and places to go while we were there. I celebrated my 50th birthday while staying there, and they welcomed me to breakfast with a beautiful flower cut from their garden and a note card wishing me a happy birthday. My children arranged to have a special surprise for me at dinner that night, and Stefano and Donatella worked with them via email to arrange everything for me. It was such a special day. There is a spa at the agriturismo, again, arrangements in advance. I had a great massage, and then my husband and I spent time in the Turkish bath...very private and very romantic.

The agriturismo is located at the end of a dirt road, approximately 3 miles long, off the main road from Poggibonsi to San Gimignano. It's about a 10 minute on the main road to each town. It is very centrally located. There is an outdoor swimming pool, which was still open when we were there the beginning of October, although we did not swim. The Pilgrim's Path (the dirt road the Crusaders followed from England to Jerusalem) runs right through the property and is a nice hike/walk.

I can not stress enough what a wonderful place this is, for exploring the countryside and surrounding area, or for just relaxing and doing nothing. I can't wait to return!

Room Tip: the second floor has views that overlook the hillsides. room 6, where we stayed, is a corner room w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank koala46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
2.4 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#3 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Sovestro
Hotel Sovestro
#2 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
#1 of 1 in Ulignano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#5 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,201 reviews
2.7 mi away
B&B Le Undici Lune
B&B Le Undici Lune
#2 of 65 in San Gimignano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
6.1 mi away
Locanda dell' Artista
Locanda dell' Artista
#1 of 65 in San Gimignano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torraccia di Chiusi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torraccia di Chiusi

Property: Torraccia di Chiusi
Address: | Località Montauto, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a hill overlooking the medieval town of San Gimignano, surrounded by greenery, in an isolated and mysterious corner of the Tuscan countryside... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Torraccia di Chiusi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torraccia Di Chiusi Hotel San Gimignano
Torraccia Di Chiusi San Gimignano, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing