We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and nice ambiance” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il Trovatore

Il Trovatore
Ranked #17 of 126 Restaurants in San Gimignano
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$53
Cuisines: Grill, Italian, Pizza, Mediterranean, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Kids, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Marietta, GA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great food and nice ambiance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Located just outside the walls of San Gimignano, we had driven by the restaurant several times during our stay and decided to eat there on our last night. Very glad we did. Enjoyed a great Tuscan steak and very good local wine. We were able to eat outside on the front deck, which was nice. It is close to the road, but still is a pleasant experience. We were a family of 4 with 2 teenagers so the pizza was great for them. Would recommend it!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TomTraveler12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    674
    327
    109
    30
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Brilliant food and a warm welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

Wasn't going to eat whilst in this amazing town but in the end couldn't resist!

Fabulous restaurant - brilliant service and a great price.

Highly recommended, especially the pizza, if you are looking at this wonderful town.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Annette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

Stopped here on way back to room after walking around walled city of San Gimignano. Was asked if we had reservations and said no. Expected to be told sorry full. But the manager said he could get us in upstairs if we thought we would be finished by 8:30 PM as he had a party starting then. It was only 7:00 PM and we asked if he could have Pizza ready in 30 minutes and he said yes so we said yes. Food was excellent and service friendly.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ron V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pavarotti !!! Best pizza Mozarella di Buffala”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

We kind of stumble unto this restaurant, on a rainy night! There was no line up when we got there but when we left, there were people under umbrella's waiting outside. We had a great salad and this AMAZING mozarella di Buffala pizza. I think they had delivered the cheese that day, IT WAS SO FRESH. That was the best di Buffala cheese we had of the entire trip (Rome, FLorence, Amalfi) Just the pizza made the evening worth it and it was like 4 euros! The owner has this opera theme going on and its pretty cute! Food was delish, we sat upstairs, they have an oven pizza fire thing and seriously you need to go there and have that pizza!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RoxyBBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
140 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Average food and slow service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

My girlfriend and I ate here in September 2013 as we thought we should probably try somewhere other than the farm that we were staying on. We both had a pasta course followed by pizza. It was absolutely fine, but nothing special - you get fresh pasta and pizza like this all over Italy. The service was a bit slow and we had to rather embarrassingly ask for our change, as they seemed to assume we wanted to leave a huge tip. The bill came to over €50, which we felt was slightly poor value, especially as the restaurant is outside the city walls.

I wouldn't go back and instead recommend a short taxi ride to the nearby Fattoria Poggio Alloro where you can enjoy a huge, multi-course, home-grown meal including wine for the outrageously cheap price of €30 per head.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CharlieInLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Trovatore also viewed

San Gimignano, Province of Siena
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 

Been to Il Trovatore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing