We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”
Review of Guardastelle

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Gimignano
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Guardastelle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Stayed here with our 1 year-old in the Perseo apartment for a week in August, along with friends who took the Antilia apartment with their two young children. We had an absolutely fantastic time. Apartments were stunning, so clean and beautifully-decorated, breakfast on the terrace with views of San Gimignano was just lovely, and the staff couldn't do enough to help and make us feel welcome. Kids (and adults!) loved the pool too. We also had one night in one of the hotel rooms, which was lovely, large and luxurious.

We'd really recommend the wine tasting and Tuscan lunch, which we thought was great value.

The walk to San Gimignano (with great views) takes about 20-30 minutes but is slightly hot work in the August heat! Thankfully the city itself is a little cooler.

As said in other reviews, they don't serve meals other than breakfast and the wine-tasting lunch, but we found their restaurant recommendations (especially Il Trovatore - you have to have their Bistecca Fiorentina) absolutely spot-on.

All in all, a lovely stay, and we couldn't recommend Guardastelle enough. Hopefully we'll be back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neal H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fausto M, Proprietario at Guardastelle, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear "Neal H",
you have tryed everything at Guardastelle, apartment, room, wine tour.....now we're organizing cooking class. A nice occasion to come back!

Thank you for your stay and hope to see you and your baby again.
Best regards,
Fausto & Susanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (730)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

305 - 311 of 730 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2013

We stopped for a tasting on the way back to Florence from Sienna...lovely tasting and bruschetta. We ordered both wine and olive oil to be shipped home.... the perfect gifts and travel souvenirs !
I did not know that staying here was an option, but I would certainly consider this as a home base for seeing sights in Tuscany.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fausto M, Proprietario at Guardastelle, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear "Lisa W",
ok! Next time you'll be welcome to stay in one of our rooms or apartments! Your wine should be arrived safely, right? Do you nee more? Just curious ;-))

Thank you for your visit and to share your experience!

See you next time.
Best,
Fausto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We stayed here only a few days on a long trip through Italy. If we had it to do over again, we would have planned to stay here longer.

They have a picture-perfect view of nearby San Gimignano from their terrace. We checked in and immediately enjoyed some of their farm's terrific red wine, while gazing up at the view. The property sits on a hill top, so every window looks out at a scene that will have you reaching for your camera.

They have put a lot of time and money into making comfortable rooms. They are spacious and fit with the overall Tuscan theme. They also have several rooms in their own structures scattered around the central farm house.

Breakfast is a simple lay out of breads, meats, cheeses, and fruit. They do not serve other meals, but will happily recommend and book you reservations at nearby restaurants. They close down for the winter, when the tourist flow slows down. The owner said they try to improve the place every year and are contemplating offering at least one unit with a kitchen next year, which would enable that lucky traveler to go to market and cook their own meals.

They have a pool that looks very comfortable. We were visiting in early October, which wasn't a time to take a plunge, but it looked inviting.

The town of San Gimignano can be reached on foot by walking up a gravel back-road that is maybe 1/2 mile. The views along the walk are terrific.

The owner and staff are very friendly and accommodating. We loved their farm's wine and olive oil and shipped a case home.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve159654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fausto M, Proprietario at Guardastelle, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear "Steve159654",
grazie! your review is wonderful and very appreciate as it's so helpful.

Just one thing: we have rooms (as you experienced) and also apartments in self catering. These four already have their furnished kitchen and our guests goes to the supermarket to buy their food to prepare at "home". Perhaps there was a misundertoonding and some sort of mistakes in my English speaking.....

I really appreciate your stay and the time to review Guardastelle, maybe in your next visit we'll prepare some food together during the cooking class ;-)

Best regards,
Fausto & Susanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Spent 2 nights at guardastelle to attend Bocelli concert in July. Wished we had stayed longer ! Absolutely beautiful accomodation and surroundings and breakfast views to die for - picture postcard perfection ! Didnt really have enough time to sample all the place had to offer so would love to go back again for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dimlel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fausto M, Proprietario at Guardastelle, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear "dimlel",
"...so would love to go back again for a longer stay" and we'll be here ready to welcome you again! Many people every year stay at Guardastelle to then attend the Bocelli's concert. It's a nice idea to don't be in the crowd of the nearby.

I wish you to come back as soon as possible and invite you to stay tuned on our fan page for promotions! Just type our name on Facebook.

Best regards,
Fausto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Guardastelle is a little Tuscan paradise. The location is simply beautiful, overlooking the many wine grapes and from the terrace the view on the historic town San Gimignano is amazing. The rooms are big and comfortable. The breakfast buffet was extensive. The pool looked very appealing, but unfortunately the weather wasn't that good when we were there.
San Gimignano is a very interesting town, and has many nice restaurants and world's best icecream. It's only half an hour walk from the agriturismo, but uphill.
The location is also perfect for day trips to Florence, Siena and the Chianti route. Talking about chianti, we also enjoyed the very informative and delicious wine tour and lunch.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Ilse H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fausto M, Proprietario at Guardastelle, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear "Ilse H",
the wine tour on the premises is our speciality since about 3 years ago. People comes from Florence and Siena to enjoy the beauty of our landscape and savor true Tuscan wines and food.

The proximity to San Gimignano is a plus! You can go anytime by walk and come back also at night, dark but absolutely safe!

The pool water is not heated, so it depends from the season. Hopefully next time will be warm enough.

Look forward to see you again,
Fausto & Susanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

If anyone is looking for a place to base themselves to tour around the hill towns of Tuscany, as we did in late September/early October 2013, look no further than the bucolic 40 acre vineyard and olive farm named Guardastelle. We guarantee that when the time comes, you will not want to leave this enchanting Agriturismo. From the moment of arrival with a warm welcome from guest manager Barbara, and the ever helpful advice and friendly care from the owners Susanna and Fausto, we were made to feel at home. We stayed in the spacious and elegantly furnished apartment named Orione, and one could not wish for more comfortable and beautiful accommodations. Guardastelle is set within meticulously maintained gardens, and its commanding position provides grand views of the surrounding Tuscan countryside - especially the vista of the towers of San Gimignano to be enjoyed as one partakes of the sumptuous buffet breakfast provided in the guest dining area. We were fortunate to be there during grape harvest time, and of course made sure that we had some of their olive oil shipped back to USA. During your stay, the vineyard tour, wine tasting and luncheon conducted by Fausto is highly recommended. Thank you Fausto, Susanna and Barbara for making our stay so memorable.

Room Tip: We stayed in the spacious and elegantly furnished apartment named Orione, and one could not wish for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fausto M, Proprietario at Guardastelle, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear "Chris S",
wow! wow! wow! What could I say more than this?
Your comment is really amazing, thank you so much, it's very helpful for us!!
You were so kind with us that Barbara often mention you during her daily speech with us!

It's important for us to have a nice and friendly approch with guests and I'm glad we did!
This is also why I usually suggest to stay tuned on our fan page on Facebook (just type our name there), so it seems to be closer!

Next time I'll wait you for a cooking lesson ;-)

My very best regards,
Fausto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

My husband and I spent a week at Guardastelle during September. We stayed in the gorgeous Virgo Apartment which was perfect for our needs with a lovely cottage feel and a very comfortable bed, very important after a long day spent exploring the Tuscan countryside:). Guardastelle is ideally situated, a short walk away from magnificent San Gimignano and very close to most of the other small towns on the tourist map. Our rented car had a wonderful gps system and we travelled around with ease. Many thanks to Fausto and Barbara for making our holiday so perfect :). Barbara gave us lots of tips to get our holiday started from avoiding parking fines to recommended restaurants :). We highly recommend the wine and food pairing lunch that Guardastelle offers:). The food was delicious and the wine outstanding:). I could go on forever about the beautiful surroundings at Guardastelle ... every view is stunning and will forever be remembered! :). We highly recommend Guardastelle! It was the perfect place to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary and we hope to return some day.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fausto M, Proprietario at Guardastelle, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear "Robin M",
I don't know if you can understand this review for me, expecaially for one thing....."a lovely cottage feel and a very comfortable bed"!! In the last months I reveived some little complaint about our hard mattress. Little or not for me are important feedback fromguests!

I would like to let people understand that probably this is the quality of standard Italians mattress and that for someone, like you and many other guests, are very confortable. Many many thanks to mention this!!

After all I'm very happy that you enjoyed your stay so much and, obviously, I hope that you'll come to stay again with us!!
Very appreciate the gift you brough us from South Africa.

Best regards,
Fausto & Susanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Gimignano
12.1 mi away
Diacceroni Agriturismo Biologico
2.8 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#2 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,341 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sovestro
Hotel Sovestro
#4 of 29 in San Gimignano
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Hotel le Volpaie
Hotel le Volpaie
#15 of 29 in San Gimignano
178 reviews
1.0 mi away
Il Borghetto di San Gimignano Agriturismo
1.3 mi away
Agriturismo Poggiacolle
Agriturismo Poggiacolle
#4 of 108 in San Gimignano
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guardastelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guardastelle

Address: Localita Sovestro 63, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 108 Speciality Lodging in San Gimignano
Price Range: £76 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Agriturismo is a working farm with accomodation. A farm stay! You'll be welcome by the owners in a rustic and typical Tuscan style rennovated house. We're at only 1 km away from San Gimignano, Tuscany. Wine tour and taste of our own products. Cooking lessons. Come to visit us, we are waiting you!! Fausto & Susanna ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Agriturismo Guardastelle Hotel San Gimignano
Guardastelle San Gimignano, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing