We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Agriturismo Guardastelle - Wonderful !”
Review of Guardastelle

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Gimignano
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Guardastelle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed at Antilia Apartment in Guardastelle from 28/06/2014-12/07/2014
This was our second stay at Guardastelle. Fausto, Susannah and Barbara are extremely helpful and very pleasant throughout the whole stay and our kids just love this place. The Antilia apartment is where we stayed the last time and where we chose to stay again and it was just as super this time around. We had breakfast a couple of times upstairs which was excellent -great choice and kids just loved it. We really love it here and the kids really felt at home - our kids are age 4 and 8. The kids really enjoyed the swimming pool. It was lovely and peaceful there in the evening. We hired a car and it was very easy to drive to Siena, Florence and Volterra and all the other small villages nearby. Its great that there is ample car parking at Guardastelle as well as a little walking track up to San Gimignano which takes about 25 mins (kids thought it was great also) Guardastelle produce their own wine - which is gorgeous (we even got some shipped home) and also their Olive Oil is pretty amazing stuff. They have wine tours on which seem to be very popular, they have cookery classes and I happened to pop into the Winery & tried their home made pasta & Ragu and Tiramisu -this was the best ever treat!!! It was my 40th birthday and they sang happy birthday to me in there!! Amazing holiday just like the 1st time we visited and we hope to return next year !! Thanks Fausto and Susannah for a fantastic stay.

Room Tip: Antilia Apt perfect for families. 2 Bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. Lots of space and Kitchen excellent. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MMSAVAGE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fausto M, Proprietario at Guardastelle, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2014

Dear "MMSAVAGE",
nothing is more pleasant to see a surprised smile on our guests face. I must thank the guests who attended the cookery class to be so kind to sang together with us but especially to be so generous to share their tiramisú!!!

And obviously I thank you for your second stay. Please regards to all your beautiful family.
Perhaps next year you'll also take part of a cooking class, maybe a private one in your apartment. Why not?

All the best!
Fausto & Susanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (732)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

258 - 264 of 732 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

I am overdue for this review, but it was just this time last year that we were booking hotels for our long-awaited trip to Italy. So for anyone planning now, don't hesitate to stay at this lovely spot. The room was wonderful, location perfect, and we loved being so close to San Gimignano. Take the wine tour, too. We had a case of the chianti shipped home and just recently ordered another case. Whenever we open a bottle, we are reminded of our fabulous time.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank DianeCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fausto M, Proprietario at Guardastelle, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2014

Dear "DianeCA",
certainly I didn't expect your review now but it is much more appreciate! It means that after 1 year you are still thing of us and that's a good thing!!
Thank you very much to have re-ordered our wine (for this quality I think is a nice deal to have them shipped front door!) and for your stay and for the review and to think of us and......thanks!!

Hopefully you'll come back someday, so a cooking class will be a must!!
All the best until then!!
Fausto & Susanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This is the most amazing place I have ever stayed! I MUST go again this side of heaven! Rooms, breakfast, Fausto ( Owner/operator), views...everything was magical! We loved our walk up the dirt road into San G every night for dinner. AMAZING!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank P C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fausto M, Proprietario at Guardastelle, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear "P C",
I had a shiver running down my spine when I read my name listed between the amazing things! What a pleasure! Thank you so much for your wonderful review, hopefully you'll be able to come and stay longer next time!

Best regards,
Fausto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Our group of 5 stayed here for 4 nights last week. We already miss it- the breathtaking views, the quaint sitting areas around the property, the signature wine. We did the tour and wine tasting and bought a case which I can't wait to receive. We jogged the road into town in the mornings and enjoyed the views on our runs. It's a dirt road that can get muddy after a rain, so be sure and wear comfy old shoes if you want to walk into town. Fausto and Barbara are very accommodating. The lock on our door was broken and Fausto fixed it immediately. Barbara's cappucinos in the morning are wonderful. It was fun getting to know the other guests from around the world and watching the world cup together in the main house. The pool was very nice and everything well maintained. Thank you, Guardastelle for a wonderful visit. We hope to return someday!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank careswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fausto M, Proprietario at Guardastelle, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear "careswell",
unfortunately the world cup didn't ended well for both of us but it doesn't matter! What is really important is that you had a beautiful stay and enjoyed Guardastelle and its facilities.
It's nice to see on Twitter you are enjoying our white wine, cheers!!

Many thanks and tweet me your photos!
Fausto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Can't even begin to describe the beauty of Agriturismo Guardastelle and the surrounding country-side. My wife and I spent a week here in April on the first leg of our honeymoon and were awestruck by the beauty of the landscape, the property itself, and the amazing warmth of hospitality (the pictures are gorgeous, but do not do it justice at all). Our stay found us relaxing and enjoying Guardastelle the majority of our time, and taking the short walk into the city center almost every night for some of the best food we've ever had as we immersed ourselves into the local scene.

At Guardastelle, Fausto, Susanna, and Barbara truly made it a welcoming and relaxing stay. They are tremendous hosts that helped us with plans prior to our trip, and took us into their culture as soon as we arrived. A day of cooking classes with them, another touring their sloping vineyards and groves, and another tasting and enjoying the wine and olive oil they produce on-site was truly something special that we won’t soon stop talking about.

Between the stunning vistas, the historic city center, the countryside, and the warm reception back at Guardastelle, the only regret we have is not staying longer. Another week in Italy brought us Cinque Terre, Venice, and Florence, but we wish we stayed where we had begun our honeymoon. We’ll have plenty of anniversaries to come back!

-Scott & Sarah

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fausto M, Proprietario at Guardastelle, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear "Scott S",
sorry if my reply took so long. It is still very busy at Guardastelle.
It was a pleasure host you, you always came out of the room with a big smile for us that seemed you were hosting us!
You did everything here! Wine tour, cooking class, had wines and oil taste.....I can only thank you a thousand times and hope to see you for an anniversary!

All the best for your marriage!
Fausto & Susanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We've just got back from our vacation in Guardastelle. It wasn't our first time in Tuscany, but it was the best one. We travelled with our 2-year-old little daughter, so I can be quite picky when it comes to accommodation, but this one met all my requirements. We stayed a week in Perseo apartment, which has very nice decor and patio with a beatiful view on Tuscan hills and vineyards.
I also went to the cooking class, which was hosted by the owners and it happened to be one of the highlights of our stay.
Thanks for the experience Fausto, Susanna and Barbara.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank orsivaladi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fausto M, Proprietario at Guardastelle, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear "orsivaladi",
it's very good to hear by an expert that it was the best time in Tuscany!
PERSEO is one of the smallest apartment but fully equipped and good size for a couple (even with a little child).
About the cooking class, we are pretty new about it so it's really really nice to have this feedback from you! As soon as possible I'll send the recipe via email.

Many many thanks for your stay and to be the first place you reviewd on TA!
Take care
Fausto & Susanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We are a family of 4 ( 22 months boy and 4 years girl) who spent a wonderful week at La Guardastelle back early June 2014. Hosts, apartment, pool, scenery, wine, oil (named it), everything was perfect. The 15 mins walk away to San Gimignano was very much appreciated for a quick hop without having to take the car. Very classy, everything you can think of and Tuscany is there. Close to key cities such as Firenze and Siena

Ranking speaks for itself, well deserved

Thanks again to the hosts for making this a perfect week

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alx_Beaulieu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fausto M, Proprietario at Guardastelle, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear "Alx_beaulieu"
...and what a nice family you are. We're so lucky for our location, so close to San Gimignano and apart from the crowd of tourist. Not so far from main cities but in the countryside where you can come back in the afternoon for a relaxing swimming!

It is nice to see that you enjoyed it all at Guardastelle? If you'll never come back I'll guide you into our food culture with cooking class!

Best regards and many thanks for your stay and review!
Fausto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Gimignano
12.1 mi away
Diacceroni Agriturismo Biologico
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sovestro
Hotel Sovestro
#6 of 29 in San Gimignano
640 reviews
2.8 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#2 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Il Borghetto di San Gimignano Agriturismo
0.8 mi away
Agriturismo Il Segreto di Pietrafitta
1.3 mi away
Agriturismo Poggiacolle
Agriturismo Poggiacolle
#4 of 109 in San Gimignano
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guardastelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guardastelle

Address: Localita Sovestro 63, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 109 Speciality Lodging in San Gimignano
Price Range: £72 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Agriturismo is a working farm with accomodation. A farm stay! You'll be welcome by the owners in a rustic and typical Tuscan style rennovated house. We're at only 1 km away from San Gimignano, Tuscany. Wine tour and taste of our own products. Cooking lessons. Come to visit us, we are waiting you!! Fausto & Susanna ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Agriturismo Guardastelle Hotel San Gimignano
Guardastelle San Gimignano, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing