We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unbeatable views” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Vecchie Mura

Le Vecchie Mura
Ranked #14 of 126 Restaurants in San Gimignano
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, View, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Manchester
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Unbeatable views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

This is a hard one. The location makes this place super special but we were pleasantly surprised by how good the food was. One might think that a place in such a busy tourist town, with such amazing views, may not have to try too hard on the actual food front, but the starters and mains, and the wines, were very good indeed. The service, too, was good. If you want a table right on the edge of the terrace, book ahead-it's worth it! We went twice. If there is a weakness here, it is in the desserts, which were a little clumsy. Go for the cantuccini and vin santo to satisfy your sweet tooth, or hold out for a gelato elsewhere. All in all, a lovely experience-calm, peaceful, beautiful.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank glivett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    685
    438
    109
    26
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
Level Contributor
87 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Nice dinner, with a wonderful view !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

After our visit of San Gimignano – this is surely the most beautiful city we visited when we were in Tuscany –, we decided to end the day at the Vecchie Mura.
On the plus side:
> The restaurant opens at 6 pm, no need to wait until 7 or 7.30 pm…
> Great view on the countryside if you have the chance to get a table outside… But if you don’t, the inside part is absolutely superb!
> Large choice of dishes, everybody should be able to find something to his taste
> Very good food, well presented on the plates

On the… less positive side:
> We felt it was a bit pricy… and paying an extra euro pp for dining outside sounds a bit odd
> The personnel is not extremely welcoming and friendly, excepting for the big-grey-moustache waiter who showed us a shortcut to reach our parking!

So, all things considered, we enjoyed our meal and should you decide to go there, make sure to book a table or go early!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PHV009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A must go to restaurant in San Gimi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

If you going to go to one restaurant in San Gimignano, then this is the one. Book in advance to get a terrace table. Set on the edge of the city walls with amazing views of the valley. Great authentic local dishes and warm friendly service.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BradMuir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Lovely experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

We had visited Vecchie Mura previously and knew we had to book to get a prime terrace table, fantastic views with the sun setting, magic. The food was excellent again, a varied menu, well presented and great flavours at reasonable prices reflecting the locality. The staff service was very good, and several were there in previous years. If it is poor weather the inside restaurant is very attractive and modern looking, but go for the view as well if at all possible. One of the best all round and value experiences on offer in San Gimignano, but do book, several people got turned away.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Imp_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
65 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A 'must go' restaurant in San Gim”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

The restaurant has a beautiful flower garden, and we planned to eat outside; however, it was sprinkling when we arrived so we opted to eat inside. The inside is just as charming as the outside. This restaurant is well-staffed and has a highly efficient kitchen staff. We had scrumptious pick with chianina beef - and the veal scallopini with porcini mushrooms (very rich and delicious). Get a litre of the house Sangiovese red wine.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pinkisin2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Vecchie Mura also viewed

San Gimignano, Province of Siena
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 

Been to Le Vecchie Mura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing