We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relax”

Ristorante Antico Desco
Ranked #65 of 126 Restaurants in San Gimignano
Price range: US$27 - US$38
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: A few km from San Gimignano,Poggibonsi and Certaldo, lovely restaurant with old typicall cuisin. Terrace with panoramic view on vineyards and olive's tree.
belgium
Level Contributor
54 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Relax”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

Rural restaurant in the neighbourhood of Certaldo and San Gimignano.
We went there because of the advice of the landlords of our agriturismo.
You will find:
- very nice views of the environment
- very relax atmosphere
- very friendly, charming (and English speaking) staff
- typical Toscan food, secondi primarely being tagliata
- short winelist, mostly local wines at a very reasonable price.

We paid 84€ for a glas of spumanti, a primi, a secondi, a bottle of wine, water and coffee for the 2 of us.
If you stay in the neighbourhood and want a relaxing evening out, Antico Desco is a good place to go.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank greyben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    35
    12
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
151 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Typical Tuscan cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

A lovely place middle in the Tuscan landscape. The service is impeccable and the food was lovely, suitable for small kids and adults. Especially the desserts are of extraordinary quality with homemade ingredients. We have been back to this restaurant for a number of times and we have not been let down by the chef and staff.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Floris_71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Authentic Tuscan food, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

If you want to steer clear of touristy restaurants and try authentic Tuscan food, come to Antico Desco. It was absolutely amazing. Tucked away in the Tuscan hills, the rustic food and ambiance is amazing. The service was great too. I am a vegetarian, and after we ordered brushetta the waitress came out to explain that some of it contained meat, and she could bring it back to the kitchen and have the cook prepare extra tomato and mushroom brushetta. Definitely go here.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank trottingguineapig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
104 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Great Tuscan food, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

We arrived late at our hotel (Hotel Vecchio Asilo, a great hotel) and asked the owner, Elio, for a recommendation close by. He suggested Antico Desco and made a reservation for us. What a great restuarant. Local fare that was delicious, prepared wonderfully and tasted great. They staff couldn't have been nicer or more accomodating. They prepared special brushetta for us at their suggestion. A bit out off the beaten path, but well with the trip. Just super!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Trip takker101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Gimignano, Italy
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“nice country restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

this restaurant, that usually we call "Trattoria" is in a nice country side, close to my agriturismo, it's very clean, good organized and, most important, they use their own production of olive oil and wine for the restaurant, there it is possible to eat typical toscany food.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank lanciotti g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ristorante Antico Desco also viewed

San Gimignano, Province of Siena
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 

Been to Ristorante Antico Desco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing