We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“la bella vita (a beautiful life)” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Podere il Pino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Podere il Pino
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“la bella vita (a beautiful life)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

Wow what a relaxing place.getting there was a bit tricky but Matteo txts you and his directions are great.we had a love/hate relationship with navman, dont tust it.The pam supermarket has everything.we stayed in villa 11 which holds 8 we only had 4 but loved having 2 bathrooms and space for 10 days.
Franko the gardener is wonderful,little english so we used sign langauge and my tablet translate, it was so fun, the swimming pool and gardens are a credit to Franko.the pool looks over the tuscan hills and San Gimignano.you need a car,you must visit Volterra a lovely village and meet di stefano salvadori what a man.Would go there again,this place has left us wonderful memories. Would stay there again

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vald63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatteoFirenze, Direttore at Podere il Pino, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Hello!
Thank you very much for your review!

We are very happy that you liked our place!
We hope to see you again in "Podere il Pino"!

Thank you!!!!!
Ciao!

Matteo

P.S.= Just to let you know, at the end of the year, one of the 3 roads to arrive at "Podere il Pino" it will be paved!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    34
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
53
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

Perfect location, great view on the hills, home service, and SMS how to get to the hotel. Red wine as check-in compliment!
This hotel is perfect for family holidays - silence, nature, large apartments.

Room Tip: Take apartments with view on Tuscany hills - they have wonderfull view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LexusGPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatteoFirenze, Direttore at Podere il Pino, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Hello!
Thank you very much for your review!

We are very happy that you liked our place!
We hope to see you again in "Podere il Pino"!

Thank you!!!!!
Ciao!

Matteo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sumirago, Lombardia, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

The location is excellent, close to Siena, San Gimignano and Florence. Very beautiful and spacious house. Beautiful view of the Tuscan hills. The downside was that the house does not have enough cups, glasses, towels and so on. the house is suitable for 8 people but when you have 8 forks, knives, glasses and so on it means you have to wash the dishes all the time. It was very cold in Tuscany and when we arrived the house was only 16 degrees celsius., which is really uncomfortable. We heated it up but by the time we left it was only 20 degrees and we had to pay 40 euro's for 2 days of heating. We would expect the house to be warm upon arrival. The showers didn't function well, the house has 2 bathrooms but when you use one the other shower will not give constant warm water. The house would have been much better if it was equipped with more cups, glasses, towels and kitchen linen. And everything costs extra, a childbed, a childchair and so on. Dogs were welcomed for free which was an advantage.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lianne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatteoFirenze, Direttore at Podere il Pino, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
Hello Lianne!
Thank you very much for your review!

We are very happy that you liked our place!
Thank you also for your suggest! We gonna do your advices!
Usually the temperature of our property is 19°... if there was just 16° we don't know what happen!
We hope to see you again in "Podere il Pino" and next time we give for free some meters for the central heating!

Thank you again!!!!!
Ciao!

Matteo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2012

We stayed for 5 nights end October/beginning of November travelling with our 3 children (8, 12 & 14). I had done a lot of internet searching before opting for Podere Il Pino and found the website and reviews helpful in informing my choice. It lived up to expectations. All the photos on the website provide an accurate representation of what to expect.

Location: Yes, it is a bit of an adventure up the steep winding roads among the vineyards and olive groves, but that is part of the charm. There is a stunning view just about every way you look but across the pool to San Gimignano is unbeatable. It was a good base from which to explore the small hilltop villages as well as Siena and Florence. Given the location you are unlikely to pop back in the evening and head out again, so plan to eat supper out before returning or eat in.

Accommodation: It has a rustic feel whilst being clean and well kept and maintained. We stayed in apartment 3 which was a 2 bedroom ground floor apartment. Every apartment felt as if it had some degree of privacy. I might be tempted to stay on the first floor though to take greater advantage of the views and also because the noise from above does carry below due to the stone floors. I can't comment on the degree to which noise travels upwards! The oven was a small counter top one which we didn't use. We opted to each out at lunchtime and then pick up hams, cheeses, bread, salads, etc from the PAM supermarket on the way home each evening. If the weather is warmer there is an outdoors public BBQ area. The weather was a bit unkind to us so we were not able to use the pool.

Staff: we only met Franco on arrival and departure briefly who was friendly and helpful but his lack of English and my lack of Italian was a bit limiting! However, all correspondence with Matteo was in excellent English and very helpful. I managed to leave an important work book behind and it was no trouble for them to find and post it back to me - thank you!

Very happy to recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatteoFirenze, Direttore at Podere il Pino, responded to this review, 19 November 2012
Hello Tracy!
Thank you very much for your review!

We are very happy that you liked our place!
We hope to see you again in "Podere il Pino"!

Thank you!!!!!
Ciao!

Matteo

P.S.= Just to let you know, next year, one of the 3 roads to arrive at "Podere il Pino" it will be paved!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2012

Podere il Pino was just as it had been pictured. I am always grateful for good photos, since I choose by visual. I was not disappointed. The location, once you got there, was outstanding. My one complaint would be that it was very difficult to get to and the road was terrible. We had villa no. 9 and it was great for 8 of us. It was clean, although the sofas in living area were worn out. The view, the gardens, and the pool area are all fantastic. It was very peaceful.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnrdadrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatteoFirenze, Direttore at Podere il Pino, responded to this review, 9 November 2012
Hello!
Thank you very much for your review!

We are very happy that you liked our place!
We hope to see you again in "Podere il Pino"!

Thank you!!!!!
Ciao!

Matteo

P.S.= Just to let you know, next year, one of the 3 roads to arrive at "Podere il Pino" it will be paved! About the sofà some of them we gonna change it next year! Some we have changed this and last summer so now are very new!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2012

Fabulous place! Quietness, fresh air, breathtaking views... You can take walks among the fields and vine groves, or explore nearby ancient towns like famous San-Gimignano, Volterra and Siena, and almost unknown but still charming Colle di Val d'Elsa. The apartments are spacious, airy and comfortable. I'm dreaming now of staying there again!

Room Tip: Our apartment was N.7: two spacious rooms, two bathrooms, kitchen corner with all necessary equipmen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vera R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatteoFirenze, Direttore at Podere il Pino, responded to this review, 9 November 2012
Hello Vera!
Thank you very much for your review!

We are very happy that you liked our place!
We hope to see you again in "Podere il Pino"!

Thank you!!!!!
Ciao!

Matteo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

Based on top of a hill, this podere has amazing views of the Tuscan hills and, on a distance, San Gimignano. Very tranquil, very quiet, and very nice apartments!
We were staying in a 4p apartment with only the 2 of us, so we had loads of space. The apartments had everything we needed; two nice bed and bath rooms (one with a bath, one with a shower), a relatively new kitchen with oven and stove (with all the equipment, pots/pans and plates/cups you'd need), a nice marble dinner table for 6, and a living room with a couch and tv. As it was on the second floor, again we had beautiful views of the hills in all directions! No balcony tho.
The pool was quite large (I think 8 x 18 meters) with enough beds and chairs, overlooking the valley. I think it rained quite a lot the weeks before we arrived, cause the water was a bit chilly.
The apartment was very clean when we arrived. Plus they have a washing machine you can use for €3.
The PAM in Poggibonsi had everything we needed, and there's also a Coop in San Gimignano (bit smaller, but a lot cheaper tho). However, Il Pino is on top of a hill so the 'white' road will take you 10 minutes extra. Not a difficult road, but it ís an uphill dirt road, so my red car was grey after a week!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank T_Heavenly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatteoFirenze, Direttore at Podere il Pino, responded to this review, 9 November 2012
Hello!
Thank you very much for your review!

We are happy that you liked our place!
We hope to see you again in "Podere il Pino"!

Thank you!!!!!
Ciao!

Matteo

P.S.= Just to let you know, next year, one of the 3 roads to arrive in "Podere il Pino" it will be paved! So, sorry for your car.... hihihihihihi!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
4.1 mi away
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
#9 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
4.9 mi away
Agriturismo Poggio ai Cieli
Agriturismo Poggio ai Cieli
#21 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#3 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#5 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
6.6 mi away
Poderi Arcangelo Agriturismo Farmhouse
3.4 mi away
B&B Ponte a Nappo
B&B Ponte a Nappo
#23 of 65 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Podere il Pino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Podere il Pino

Property: Podere il Pino
Address: Loc. Il Pino n. 5 | Casella Postale 304, 53036, San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 111 Speciality Lodging in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PODERE IL PINO... THE RIGHT PLACE FOR THE RIGHT HOLIDAY!!!!Podere il Pino is the perfect place for a relax vacation in the green Tuscany country, surrounded by vineyards and olive groves in the gentle Chianti hills. From its privileged position it offers a spectacular view of the marvellous medieval village of San Gimignano (very famous for the 7 medieval towers and museums) and the whole Val d´Elsa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your Podere il Pino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Podere Il Pino San Gimignano, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing