We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Restaurant in town! Super atmosphere and excellent food!”

Ristorante La Griglia
Ranked #108 of 130 Restaurants in San Gimignano
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Restaurant in town! Super atmosphere and excellent food!”
Reviewed 26 July 2013 via mobile

Very good restaurant, typical local food, with excellent taste and great service!

Well placed in the old town, it offers different options, from nice pizzas to great Tuscan typical plates, with great view over the country side!

We have been there several times during our stay in San Gimigniano!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Erosac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    104
    69
    67
    116
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
278 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Nothing but to agree on the bad food here”
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Unfortunately, I have to agree with all the previous commenters about this restaurant and its lack of quality for food.

While the restaurants setting is one of the best in this town, the food and the service is simply poor. There is nothing else to say then "avoid this place"!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thenitai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Worst place we have been to in years”
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Unfortunately the restaurant options we had planned to visit were either closed for the day or lunch service had just finished. We stumbled across this restaurant and thought maybe it would be okay as it wasn't on the main square. How wrong were we! We sat upstairs, the setting for the restaurant is not bad. That is where the good points end. Our waiter was rather unfriendly to say the least. We ordered starters and main course. Within a few minutes the soup appeared. There wasn't even time for them to bring out any bread. Then whilst I was only part way through the soup, the main course of veal arrived! I haven't experienced this before in any restaurants, besides tapas bars! The food was very poor and overpriced for the quality.
Unfortunately we did not have wifi access therefore only read the previous comments after our visit. Don't make the same mistake, if the restaurants that you would like to visit are closed. Go to a coffee shop that has free wifi and do a search on he restaurants to ensure a happier experience. San gimingnano is a beautiful place to visit, but there are plenty of ordinary restaurants.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SG1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laval, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Don't go There”
Reviewed 2 January 2013

The only memorable thing about this restaurant was the cold staff and the worse food I had in Italy. Even a rest stop restaurant was better than this place. I love Italian food and this place was awful. I guess because it's in a touristy area. We found local restaurant thats were excellent and inexpensive. The place was EMPTY so we put our bags on the chair of the empty table next to us. They did not like that....one of them made it very clear when she put one of bags on the floor.
We ordered bread but never got it, and they charged us for it.
And the staff was COLD! This place did not deserve the tip that was already included in the price

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice environment, but bad food.”
Reviewed 6 November 2012

During our trip in Toscany we visited this marvelous village San Gimignano and we decided to have a quick meal before we continued our day in Sienna. Deceived by the appealing outside we chose this restaurant. Unfortunately, the food that they served had nothing to do with the nice surrounding. It was rather precooked or frozen?? Disgusting brouskettas ( the tomatoes were actually a sauce!) a mushroom-prosciutto pizza, without mushrooms and with cubes of canned ham instead of prosciutto! Awful! Plus the unfriendly staff : we asked for a glass of tap water and they told us that they don't serve.
I strongly recommend to avoid this restaurant!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ristorante La Griglia also viewed

Castel San Gimignano, San Gimignano
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 

Been to Ristorante La Griglia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing