We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Viva La Griglia!”

Ristorante La Griglia
Ranked #105 of 126 Restaurants in San Gimignano
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Romantic, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
405 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Viva La Griglia!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

Nice food, pleasant service, a lovely setting - and a complimentary glass of limoncello at the end of our meal. We visited La Griglia with 2 friends for dinner at the end of a day exploring the town. Everyone ordered something different. Everyone was happy with their choice. Three types of pasta dish with different sauces: all very tasty. Three different grilled meat dishes: entrecôte, vitellino, and maiale, served with a mixed salad and fragility beans. Meat was tender, nicely cooked and full of flavour. The 'Monte Bianco' pudding was less successful. Just 'squirt cream' on top of marron glacé (chestnut purée). Not very imaginative and not worth the money. Coffee was strong and delicious. And the carafe of house red wine was excellent. Light and fruity, a perfect accompaniment to the meal. The salad was perhaps not as fresh as it could have been. And some American and Australian fellow diners were rather loud and inconsiderate. But this was not the restaurant's fault. Rather, the bad manners of tourists abroad! Staff were courteous and attentive. The complimentary limoncello afterwards was a lovely surprise. And the meal was not overpriced. San Gimignano is a tourist hotspot. You expect to pay for a decent meal. We were perfectly satisfied with our dining experience. And the views from the restaurant terrace are magical. Would not hesitate to go there again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    98
    64
    60
    106
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Miserable, unwelcoming and lifeless”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

Looks appealing from the outside. Downstairs has an English menu and is more casual, and upstairs is touted as a 'restaurant,.

We tried the upstairs, and perhaps should have been out off by the entrance to the 'smarter' bit having a dot matrix sign above it making it look like the entrance to an amusement arcade.

However the service and food was far from amusing. We did ask if there was a menu in English (appreciating that this is perhaps annoying to them and were it not for one on open display outside we would not have done so). The comprehensive and helpful response was 'no', at which point the waiter pushed off to presumably do something else more important. Not sure what that would have been as it was almost empty.

The food was actually OK, but overall the atmosphere was of a shop where the vacuum cleaners are out and the shutter half way down. Better off elsewhere and this is the worst place we went to in a week there.

Avoid.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Want_the_facts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A great experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

After a long day of visiting the beautiful villages of Tuscany, this restaurant was indeed a treat. It had a nice, cozy atmosphere and an amazing view of San Gimignano country side. There are many different wine and plates options, with good value for your money.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BrunoPimentel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Restaurant in town! Super atmosphere and excellent food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

Very good restaurant, typical local food, with excellent taste and great service!

Well placed in the old town, it offers different options, from nice pizzas to great Tuscan typical plates, with great view over the country side!

We have been there several times during our stay in San Gimigniano!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Erosac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Restaurant in town! Super atmosphere and excellent food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013 via mobile

Very good restaurant, typical local food, with excellent taste and great service!

Well placed in the old town, it offers different options, from nice pizzas to great Tuscan typical plates, with great view over the country side!

We have been there several times during our stay in San Gimigniano!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Erosac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ristorante La Griglia also viewed

Castel San Gimignano, San Gimignano
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 

Been to Ristorante La Griglia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing