We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A working farm in the heart of Tuscany”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Agriturismo Santa Croce
Reviewed 17 May 2013

This was our first experience of an agriturismo in Italy. We'll always remember the week we spent here with our hosts, Cristiano and Silvia, who made everything perfect for us. The old stone farmhouse is set amongst sweeping vineyards and olive groves, and has a number of rooms. Two other couples were staying there at the same time. We were greeted by Cristiano who offered us a glass of wine that he produces himself called vernacchia (the local wine of San Gimignano) and a tasting of his own olive oil. Each evening we sat out on the terrace with our Canadian friends taking in the sweeping 180 degree views over the Tuscan countryside - it was magic! The walled city is only a 10 minute walk up the hill (all downhill on the way back though!). Santa Croce is a great base from which to explore Tuscany and the Chianti region. Cristiano is the perfect host, and is always ready for a chat. He obviously loves what he does.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alibaba59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2013

Roman & Natasha - a couple from St.Petersburg, Russia.
I found this beautiful place in Tripadvisor,
searching for something not too xpencive, but nice and located the way to be a center point for discovering Tuscany by car.
We rented a nice Fiat Punto (I'm happy I had a chance to drive an Italian car! for the first time) at Florence airport and were here in about 55 min.
Christiano was meeting us with the bottle of his own wine as a compliment.
Well, (I'm trying to be objective and not too exited) - our stay at Agriturismo Sana Croce was one of the best experiences we have had in our journeys ever.
- Christiano is allways here to help and answer any question,
- Location is perfect to visit any town in Toscana by car,
- San Gimignano is just 15 minutes walking distance (up the hill),
- The Villa itself is a piece of art in a way - buildings, furniture, backyard,
terrase with a wiew of San Gimignano, Wineyards, Olive trees...
- Christiano produses his own wine - red & white, and olive oil,
- cheese & eggs added to traditional sweet Tuscany breakfast!

So, Dear friends, - recommended!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CocteauTwinsRoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Four ladies from the state of Oregon in America while traveling through Tuscany stumbled onto this lovely place. It was like being placed in the middle of a postcard. The host and hostess, Cristiano and Silvia made our stay perfect. Cristiano's favorite phrase I think, was "as you prefer." He is certainly accommodating of his guests. The rooms are old (the place was built in 1663) but modern enough. No A/C but if you leave the windows/shutters closed during the day and open them after the sun sets it is comfortable in the room with a fan (which Cristiano supplies). Breakfast is included and a variety of breads, cheeses, cereals, yogurts, fruit and espresso or American-style coffee is available. This is a working vineyard and olive orchard. We planned on staying only one night and ended up there three...and drank their wonderful wines (red and two whites) while we were there. We even got to watch the harvesting and crushing of the chardonnay grapes. A doctor was necessary one day and our hostess called to make arrangements with the "tourist doctor" (no charge) and our host drove us to the doctor's office. The walled city of San Gimignano is doable to walk (all uphill - but downhill on the return!) or if you go early you may drive and find a place to park. The city has a LOT of shopping available and is charming to explore and have lunch at one of the cafes. We met people there who had been coming for a couple of weeks every year for 15 years and staying at Ag Santa Croce. Another group of hikers that checked in the day before we checked out have been staying there every year for 10 years to hike the area. Cristiano, Silvia, their son, Francesco, and their dog, Luna, made our stay so comfortable we all want to return sooner than later!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Offtosomewhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JJ A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Víctor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Alberto B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank TomosAna2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
3 mi away
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
#1 of 1 in Ulignano
672 reviews
2 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#2 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,391 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Le Renaie
Hotel Le Renaie
#1 of 1 in Pancole
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Locanda dell' Artista
Locanda dell' Artista
#1 of 68 in San Gimignano
390 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
#3 of 29 in San Gimignano
826 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Sovestro
Hotel Sovestro
#6 of 29 in San Gimignano
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Santa Croce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Santa Croce

Address: San Gimignano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 109 Speciality Lodging in San Gimignano
Price Range: £67 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Agriturismo Santa Croce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agriturismo Santa Croce San Gimignano, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing