We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely perfect!”

Sovestro in Poggio vineyard
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Welcome in our house! Walking distance from San Gimignano, one of the most important towns of Tuscany, during the wine tour you'll discover a part of Tuscany that few people knows. You'll understand how is the countrylife in this part of the world. I won't say what our tour includes or not.....reviews speaks for us! We wait to welcome you, as private or group. Reservation required to tour the farm.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Stairs / lift
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We stopped by Sovestro Winery on our last day in San Gimignano! What a wonderful place with superb service! We did not have a reservation for the tour so we sat out on the patio and enjoyed the wine. I loved it so much I am having a case sent home! Stop by, you won't regret it!

Thank Cindy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fausto M, Proprietario at Sovestro in Poggio vineyard, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear "Cindy R",
it was a shame that was your last day in town. Anyway seems you had a very nice last day!
Thanks for your visit and purchase. If there will be another time, book the wine tour for the full experience or, even better, stay with us!

Grazie mille!
Fausto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (534)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

262 - 266 of 535 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Barbara was the best! It was the most informative wine tasting we have ever had and the prices were so good! We would definitely stay here if we ever come back to Tuscany! Thank you so much!!!

Thank Kimberly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fausto M, Proprietario at Sovestro in Poggio vineyard, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear "Kimberly S",
it's so nice for me to see that someone has mentioned also Barbara as wine tour host because she's also very good. Thanks!

Connecticut is not so close but if you'll come again, we'll be more than happy to have you with us in our agriturismo!

Regards for now!
Fausto & Susanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Had a great tour of the place with Fausto and a fantastic lunch. It is ideally located for a trip in to San Gimignano as well. Recommend it!

1  Thank abhijayjain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fausto M, Proprietario at Sovestro in Poggio vineyard, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear "abhijayjain",
thanks for your visit and review. We're very lucky for our unique location, central in Tuscany and very clsoe to San Gimignano that you can go for a visit even by walk.

If it happens that you'll come in he nearby someday, please stop by us for a glass of wine or to stay some nights with us.

Best regards,
Fausto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We found the winery after a morning visiting San Gimignano We chose the option of 3 tastings and a food for 13 euros each. The wines were explained to us beautifully and all were really lovely. The bread, cheese, tomatoes and olives were a perfect accompaniment. We watched a storm approach over the hills and we were accommodated inside as the rain descended. A lovely experience. A cooking course was on at the time which looked exciting and could very well be on our list of things to do next visit. Thank you.

Thank jlwnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fausto M, Proprietario at Sovestro in Poggio vineyard, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear "jlwnz",
you arrived just in time before the storm, and what a storm!
So, lucky you and lucky us to have found a nice customer who did a nice purchase and nice review :-)
Thanks a lot, really appreciate!

We did the cooking class in the winery because we had a little group of 10. Actually it is only for guests staying in our accomodation but probably will open it for everybody next year.

Thanks for your visit!
Fausto & Susanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Amazing wine tour, especially for the price! My family and I were visiting Siena and I was deadset on making a trip to the Tuscany countryside for a wine tasting and tour. After reaching out to a couple vineyards and looking on trip advisor, I came across Sovestro in Poggio Winery. We made a reservation for 4 with a tour, tasting & lunch the day before for only 25 euros / person!

It ended up being just us four on the tour and Fausto was extremely knowledgeable and answered all of our questions on wine- which we had a lot of!

The wine itself was excellent, my favorite being the Vernaccia di San Gimignano! Lunch was beautiful, we had an excellent Tuscan soup to start with a plate of cured meats, breads, & cheeses....there was a ton of food and full glasses of wine to follow each portion of lunch. We ended the meal with biscotti and a desert wine which was the perfect end to the afternoon.

The grounds of the vineyard are absolutely gorgeous and hard to capture with a photograph. You can see views of neighboring vineyards and San Gimignano from the grounds. The whole time we all talked about how we would love to go back to stay at their bed & breakfast because it was so beautify and romantic.

Great afternoon tour and would highly recommend to anyone looking for a Tuscan Wine Country experience!

1  Thank Sara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fausto M, Proprietario at Sovestro in Poggio vineyard, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear "Sara P",
pretty lucky to have a private wine tour this time of the year, probably you have a good karma :-)

The Vernaccia is also my favourite wine, but don't tell to anyone!

We are lucky for the outstanding views we have here and we also contribute to keep the landscape with our job.
I'm really thankful about this beautiful review! Many many thanks for that and for your visit.
Hope to see you again next year for the cooking class.

Regards,
Fausto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sovestro in Poggio vineyard also viewed

 
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 

Been to Sovestro in Poggio vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing