We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pasta”

La Taverna del Granducato
Ranked #52 of 126 Restaurants in San Gimignano
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great pasta”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

We visit San Gimignano every year and this Is one of our favourite restaurants . The pasta and pizzas are great ,good size portions too and the staff are very friendly .We highly recommend it .

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MOIRAJOHN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    90
    48
    21
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“excellent Fiorentina steak!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

here I got the real Fiorentina steak.
1.5 kg shared in 3 with an excellent nobile di montepulciano.
very good the quality/prices of the wine.

highly recommended!!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marcoaurelio4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

We visited this restaurant on our last day in Italy with our 9 month old baby
The food was beautiful my husband had the mixed grill which was really good I had tortellini with walnut sauce. We had a bottle of wine which only cost €6 !
The staff were really friendly we order spaghetti for our baby and they didn't charge us for this
Definately worth a visit

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Only the locals seem to know about it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

We always think it is a good sign when a restaurant in a tourist location is frequented by native speakers. The food was excellent, the menu was interesting, the service was acceptable (some room for improvement), and the price was very reasonable. It is does not have the same character as the restaurants in the historic centre but you will eat very well and your wallet will also be smiling. A great choice for families. Outdoor seating for a more intimate setting (suggest you reserve ahead for that). Indoor seating includes areas for small to medium sized groups.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank JMLT_NS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Taverna del Granducato also viewed

San Gimignano, Province of Siena
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 

Been to La Taverna del Granducato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing