We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Cisterna Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Leon Bianco(San Gimignano)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Le Vecchie Mura(San Gimignano)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
Hotel Bel Soggiorno(San Gimignano)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo(San Gimignano)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Il Pino(San Gimignano)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Villa Belvedere(San Gimignano)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Colline(San Gimignano)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (791)
Filter reviews
791 results
Traveller rating
289
352
110
32
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
289
352
110
32
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main squarevalley view roomshared balconytuscan countrysidebreakfast roomtourists leavehotel is locatedsingle roomexcellent locationwalking tourglass of winehordes of touristspiazza dellaquiet roomsmall balconynarrow streetscoffee machine
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
215 - 220 of 791 reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2014

La Cisterna is located on the central plaza in the middle of the city. From here you can reach almost any place of interest on foot in a reasonably short time. The room was average, but with a superb view of the local hillside that changed every few minutes as the clouds moved. Breakfast was good and the outdoor restaurant, next to the front door was a great place for a glass of wine, a snack, and a break from touring. Definitely recommended if you are visiting San Gimignano.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back of the hotel look out over the hills that extend for miles.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank McChief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We were very surprised when we checked in that we had been given a free upgrade to Room 60, which overlooks the countryside and is just above the "punta panaramico" (scenic spot). The room is very large and well decorated. A local musician serenaded us (and the numerous visitors) while an artist created signature pieces at reasonable prices. Waking every morning to the fantastic vista, including phenomenal sunrises and sunsets, as well a hot air balloon floating by was surrealistic. The breakfast was adequate and you need to get there when it opens to get a table with a view. The internet station is a phone booth sized room, but the connection was satisfactory and allowed us to keep up with our remaining trip reservations. We spent afternoons enjoying a bottle of local wine or lemoncello while looking out on the scenery. The location was central to the various attractions within the town so that walking around was very convenient.

Room Tip: I don't think this hotel has a better room than #60.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlowersBurke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Any hotel inside the walls of San Gimignano is not easy to get to by car. You have to park outside the city walls and wither walk in, or get a shuttle bus. We opted to walk in with our cases which is fine – it’s not a long walk through the main street but there is a little incline at the end before you get to the central piazza. We parked one of the closer car parks which charges 20 Euros per 24 hours.

The hotel is in a good location on the main square. We had a lovely room with a large shared terrace overlooking the town and the countryside. The furniture was antique and the bathroom was a good standard. As many other reviewers have mentioned – San Gimignano is best in the early morning and evening after the hordes of tourist buses have departed. The town takes on a different vibe and is well worth exploring then.

We were pleasantly surprised to find out that ‘Tea With Mussolini’ was partially filmed in the hotel – including the terrace attached to our room! The building has tons of character and feels very authentic.

Breakfast was good – with a wide selection and good quality. The staff were all pleasant and helpful.

I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Horizonx30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Similar to previous reviews this place is all about the location in the Piazza Cisterna.
Room was basic and breakfast was good.
Restaurant has great views over the countryside.

We tried Vernaccia wine (white) from the San Gimignano area during our visit to Tuscany and every bottle was good.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CiaranHughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We were very lucky to have a room right in the center of town. We arrived on our bicycles after 63 miles and we're very tired. The townwas full of people due to the fact that April 25th is a holiday. We didn't have a reservation and we thought we might have to continue riding, but the Cisterns had a room for us! The last one. What a great location with fabulous views of the Valley and depending on what side of the hotel, could be the town Square.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chantal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews