We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The queue at this ice cream parlor is fully justified” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gelateria Dondoli

Gelateria Dondoli
Ranked #1 of 6 Dessert in San Gimignano
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$5
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Drinks, After-hours, Cash Only, Takeout
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
736 reviews
342 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 468 helpful votes
“The queue at this ice cream parlor is fully justified”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

I was directed to this ice cream parlor by friends based, on their previous experiences. A sunday afternoon in spring, in the most central San Gimignano's square, "you will not be alone"; therefore the queue formed by the customers at this parlor came largely on the square. But thanks to four people who prepared the ice cream (and who were very efficient in general) the service was however fast. My ice cream (mango and eggnog) was pure enjoyment; but also the tastes of my mates (including eg pistachio, hazelnut...) were at a high level.
The queue at the parlor is fully justified in my opinion!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brun066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,652 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,526
    799
    259
    42
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best possible ice cream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Plenty of tastes, not big prices, natural flavour, location in the very heart of San Gimignano - there is nothing more to be wanted from gelateria :) Try the taste of ricotta and blueberry or something more traditional - it's absolutely wonderful.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ivan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best in the World”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

They say they make the best ice cream in the world - I would agree. Set in a beautiful square. A plethora of unusual and natural flavours. Wow!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
70 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Hands down best gelato EVER”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

I have eaten a LOT of gelato; from everywhere in Italy. I have NEVER tasted anything as tasty as this. It is so smooth and it just melts on your tongue. I had lemon and rosemary baby and was very sad when my cup was empty. You have to stop by if you are in the area.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DofDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
179 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great Gelato”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Nice Gelato shop with a very wide selection. We all enjoyed everything we had. There is a flavor here for every palate.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank zaz04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gelateria Dondoli also viewed

San Gimignano, Province of Siena
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 

Been to Gelateria Dondoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing