We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Resort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel La Collegiata

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel La Collegiata
Ranked #13 of 31 Hotels in San Gimignano
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

I read somewhere that “if money is no problem then this is the place”. Agreed. A converted Franciscan convent, built in 1587, with a ton of history and personality. A 5 star resort with gardens, pool, small spa area, and personal staff nestled in the Tuscan Hills with a beautiful view of San Gimignano. Extremely professional staff top to bottom. Will arrange anything you want or need - tours or most any other request. Expensive but you do get what you would expect for the price. Everybody should be treated like this at least once in their life!

Room Tip: Request a room with a view of the front gardens and the town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jw c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    37
    13
    7
    2
See reviews for
21
101
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peschiera Borromeo, Italy
Level Contributor
150 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

Great hotel. I suggest the suite with fabulous views from an hot tub. VERY IMPORTANT:If you use a car ask for the right address to write on the gps because the one on the web is wrong and it is in a field without a paved road and can be dangerous.
Service is good. Breakfast is ok but not the best of my life, also if you have a good choice of home made cakes.
The hotel is outside San Giminiano and you need a car to get there, probably is the best hotel you can have there.

Room Tip: ask for the suit with 360 degrees view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zazzo67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

This hotel is a Relais & Chateux establishment. As such it sets a very high standard of room, service and overall quality. It was formerly a convent so is set in tranquil grounds with a charming garden. It has a large pool. If there is one disadvantage, it is the hotel's distance from San Gimigliano. Overall, the setting was amazing and we enjoyed a very relaxing and romantic stay.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Labrador26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2011

We stayed here July 2011. The grounds are lovely. The pool is beautiful and clean. We have stayed at dozens of Relais and Chateaux properties on several continents so have a pretty good idea as to what to expect. We stayed here with our children. When booking we had asked for a room / suite large enough to accommodate the four of us but were told that the only option was to book two rooms. At between 250 euro and 400 euro per night per room, this obviously added cost but we were fine with that and booked only to discover that the two rooms were not only not adjoining, but not next to one another. No complimentary drinking water offered in the room. Most nicer properties include this automatically and I am always amazed when one does not. La Collegiata did not. In fact the cost of their bottled water was ridiculous. A small basket of chips and biscuits were offered in the room at very over priced prices. Chintzy for a property of this standard to 'nickle and dime' like this. Silly considering what the room prices were. The pool and pool area are quite lovely. We anticipated a terrific meal at La Collegiata but were very disappointed. Notwithstanding the service which was professional and quite acceptable, the food was very disappointing. The plating was amateurish and the food was extremely disappointing. A bland and uninspired piece of chicken sliced on the plate for 28 euro. A bland barley salad for 15 euro, that when mentioned to the waiter that my daughter was disappointed as it had no flavor, no attempt was made to remove it and replace it was an edible substitution. The wild boar was tough and chewy and by contrast we had one at a tiny cafe in the Chianti area that was a thousand times more delicious for a third the price made by the owner's grandma. The pasta dishes did not appear to be made from fresh pasta at all, but rather dried pasta. The dessert selection was substandard and very cliched with no creativity whatsoever regarding plating. In my opinion a new executive chef with a new menu and a new pastry chef would go a long way to improving the experience at La Collegiata. Wifi did not work in the rooms as promised.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NB64007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potomac, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2010

This past June, my husband and I traveled to Italy with friends for a two week trip. At the recommendation of my cousin who lives outside Venice we stayed for four days at the Hotel La Collegiata, a Relais and Chateaux property. It was beautiful! R and C properties are mostly guested by Europeans not Americans and so they are not as well known here in the U.S. The property itself is a small refurbished 15th century monastery with beautiful views of San Gimignano and the surrounding valley. The staff was extremely courteous and accomodating and the food was delicious. The rooms have an Old World feel and are spacious as are the bathrooms. There are gardens and an outdoor pool for relaxing after a day of touring Tuscan towns and vineyards. I would highly recommend this property and look forward to staying there again on another trip.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redsnapper38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne
Level Contributor
159 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2010

This is an ideal hotel for getting away from it all. Serenely located on the outskirts of San Gimignano, it combines the peace, quietness and setting of a monastic retreat with four star modern luxury living. The facility, parts of which date back to the 12th century, has been restored with great sensitvity and meticulous attention to detail (although not everything works quite as intended). Hotel service is courteous but restrained and our room was tidied differently each of the four nights we stayed. Good, though, were the two sets of fresh towels each day and the absence of a charge for our dog. The breakfast buffet is copious - with great dining offered in the surrounding area. Viator coloniae

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Viatorcoloniae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2008

We were rather disasponted with the hotel and would not stay there again. Although our room was 300 euros a night it was quite dark (but a reasonable size).

The breakfast was far inferior to those we had in other hotels during our trip and at the price for the room is it too much to expect freshly squeezed orange juice?

Whilst checking us in the receptionist took a lenghtly call from someone making a reservation and kept us waiting, again not what one would expect from a Relais & Chateaux hotel. On the plus side the same person very readily booked us a restaurent in town.

We did not eat dinner at the hotel but the menu was very expensive and the dishes may not be to the taste of everyone.

I accept that we we were only there one night and first impressions are not always accurate, but the hotel did not leave a good impression on us. (The next hotel we stayed at, Relais San Pietro near Polvano, was in our opinion, much nicer.)

  • Stayed May 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DRMEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
1.0 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#5 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
1.2 mi away
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
#9 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#2 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Sovestro
Hotel Sovestro
#4 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
#1 of 1 in Ulignano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
#6 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Collegiata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Collegiata

Property: Hotel La Collegiata
Address: Localita Strada, 27, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Collegiata 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Prestigia and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel La Collegiata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Collegiata Hotel
Hotel La Collegiata San Gimignano, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing