We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the quality one would expect from a Relais & Chataeux hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel La Collegiata
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in San Gimignano
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
71 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Not the quality one would expect from a Relais & Chataeux hotel”
Reviewed 5 June 2008

We were rather disasponted with the hotel and would not stay there again. Although our room was 300 euros a night it was quite dark (but a reasonable size).

The breakfast was far inferior to those we had in other hotels during our trip and at the price for the room is it too much to expect freshly squeezed orange juice?

Whilst checking us in the receptionist took a lenghtly call from someone making a reservation and kept us waiting, again not what one would expect from a Relais & Chateaux hotel. On the plus side the same person very readily booked us a restaurent in town.

We did not eat dinner at the hotel but the menu was very expensive and the dishes may not be to the taste of everyone.

I accept that we we were only there one night and first impressions are not always accurate, but the hotel did not leave a good impression on us. (The next hotel we stayed at, Relais San Pietro near Polvano, was in our opinion, much nicer.)

  • Stayed May 2008
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DRMEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    37
    13
    7
    2
See reviews for
21
103
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2007

we arrived on June 28 and stayed for 10 days. We were desperate to unwind and did just that. Our room (no 1) on the ground floor, was very nice with french doors that opened onto a tiny patio area which was also accessible with the room next door(no view as hedge for privacy) a huge bathroom with window and walk in shower as well as jacuzzi bath. House keeping was excellent. Staff were helpful although not all seemed to know exactly what was going on and when. They kindly let us use the room until 5.30pm on the day of our departure. The Palio (horse race round town square) in Sienna is a must (it was on when we were there 2nd July) There was also a medieval festival in Monteriggioni a very small town which was excellent and not far away. Breakfast is outside in summer and had everything you would want (excellent pastries). We did not eat in the restaurant as it seemed expensive and as it was very quiet the first few days, we did not want to eat on our own with no atmosphere. Whilst we were there, it was very quiet. Around the pool we were by ourselves for the first few days until about 4pm when a few people appeared. The pool area is beautiful - very sereneand comfortable (good beds tables umbrellas) Snacks could be had but only at lunchtime which finished at 2.30 although they would make you a sandwich if you asked. Drinks were a little expensive 6euro for coke/coffee etc but what would you expect with the standard of the hotel. The hotel a beautiful historic building was immaculately maintained and everything was kept to a very high standard. San Gimignano is not easily walkable (along road without pavement and uphill on way there) but took only 5mins drive. There is a little supermarket on the way to town which was useful for water fruit etc. Beautfiul atmospheric town but again quiet at night. An excellent restaurant with the most perfect views was The Vecchia Mura (excellent food and reasonable) .. As a previous review mentioned, there were some American Cyclists (seemed to arrive twice while we were there but only seemed to stay for one or two nights. They were a little loud but as it was SO quiet we were almost pleased of the company! All in all I would recommend this hotel for a total rest and not expect too much socialising with other guests. Perhaps we were there just too early in the season. It goes without saying a car is a must to get the most out of this beautiful area. Our Sat Nav saved the usual marital map reading bust-ups.

  • Liked — Luxurious historic building, perfect pool area to relax, high standards.
  • Disliked — Restaurant not appealing, menu and price
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen&Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2007

This hotel is a short drive out of San Gimignano, and has much more space (ie. gardens and a pool) than you would get in a hotel in the town. The whole place feels very spacious and there a number of sitting rooms set around the courtyard, not to mention a great terrace with a perfect view of the town's towers. The decor is well done throughout, sympathetically complementing the original style of the original monastery.
We left it late to book and they only had rooms left in a 'block' oustide the main building. They explained that the windows were high up and I thought that this must just be a bad translation. When we arrived we were taken out to this block out the back. It must have been an old stables block that has had to be converted without changing any of the original external or internal walls. Our room had just one tiny window 8 foot off the ground that was obscured by foliage - consequently it was very dark in the room. Whilst the room was quite spacious, because of the planning the bathroom was through a maze of small coridors, doors and wasted space. Whilst the decor was of a high standard, the room was just too dark and we didn't feel like we could relax there. Also there was a power plant just behind this 'block' that buzzed all night.
We changed for our final night and got a room in the main building (set around a lovely cloister). It was much better with similiar decor, but with the advantage of a jacuzzi bath.
Staff were friendly. Breakfasts were good, it was a pity we were there during a cold spell otherwise we could have sat outside and enjoyed the view.
The restaurant had good service and food, but we found the dining room a bit too big and lacking in atmosphere. It seemed like it was just other guests and you could hear a pin drop.
Overall a good base to explore around San Gimignano.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank thejourneyman76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
222 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2006

The hotel has beautiful grounds (garden, pool), attractive architecture and a nice view to San Gimignano. We had a double deluxe corner room (room nr.4) with a small balcony, overlooking the restaurant and with some views over San Gimignano. The room and bathroom was of a good size with large windows. It was one of the best rooms in the hotel.

On the negative side, the hotel lacks of atmosphere and service. Everything is a bit old fashioned, waiters wearing jacket and tie, but let us waiting for 20 minutes for an order at the pool bar. At breakfast table, the waiter took our newspaper from our table away (while we were eating!) to give it to another guest. Service is not professional nor friendly. It is a pity for this hotel, because te hotel itself and the grounds are beautiful. The price ist to high for what you get. I will not return. There are much better hotels in Tuscany/Umbria, f.ex. Locanda dell'Amorosa or Villa di Piazzano.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank luxuryvoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2005

Fantastic hotel in great location. Very laid back approach to luxury and a real haven for relaxation. Rooms and bathrooms were amazing, but spent most of the time by the beautiful pool.

Staff were attentive and discreet, and whilst there may have been fewer than at other hotels they took real pride in their jobs.

Food was magnificent and would certainly recommend both the meat and the fish taster menus - they both had superb dishes with a mixture of amazing tastes you expect of Italian cooking. Breakfasts were also very good with an excellent buffet style spread.

An excellent example of what a relaxing small luxury hotel should be.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Frqunt_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2005

A very lovely hotel for peace and quiet . Spacious rooms with fabulous bathrooms, good restaurant, comfortable pool side loungers. Only 5 mins drive from San Gimignano centre.
The peace was spoilt by loud upmarket US cycle group tours who tended to arrive at about 4.00pm and shout at each other across the pool. Not the hotels fault - more of a national trait of the cyclists !

Helpful?
8 Thank Helen_&_Rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 13 September 2004

We have just returned from our honeymoon in Italy staying at the most beautiful hotels Cipriani, Le Sirenuse etc and we decided to stay at La Collegiata as a freind of ours recommended it. We were so glad we did. The highlight of our trip. Just driving into the gates is like entering your own private villa. The room was beautiful with breathtaking views, the pool was exquisite and so peaceful throughout the day with amazing food served at the little pool bar. We spent our days here sipping fabulous wine and enjoying being waited on. The restaurant in the evening was superb, such a romantic time for us. Our stay here was unforgettable and we can't wait to return.

Helpful?
12 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
1.0 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#4 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
1.2 mi away
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
#9 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Sovestro
Hotel Sovestro
#2 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#3 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,158 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
#1 of 1 in Ulignano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
#6 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Collegiata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Collegiata

Property: Hotel La Collegiata
Address: Localita Strada, 27, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Collegiata 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel La Collegiata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Collegiata Hotel
Hotel La Collegiata San Gimignano, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing