We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another fabulous stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel La Collegiata

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel La Collegiata
Ranked #13 of 31 Hotels in San Gimignano
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Another fabulous stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

It has been a year since we were here last and the hotel is still as fabulous. It is traditional Tuscan villa style and really nicely done with great views and lovely grounds. it was busier than the other times we have stayed, but it was still peaceful, the staff were still as helpful as ever and the food was exceptional.
This is the only hotel we have ever been back to and we'll be back :)

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RachelandNeil213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    37
    13
    7
    2
See reviews for
21
101
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a few nights while we were visiting the town for a wedding and were really quite disappointed. The building and grounds are really rather lovely, but while we were there it felt like the hotel was closed. Although we stayed outside of peak season, there were a number of other people staying, but it felt as though the place had been mothballed.

The rooms, and in particular the bathrooms, are dated. We did not find the reception desk particularly helpful. The hotel is outside San G. On our first night we wanted to dine in the town, but were told that taxis were unlikely to come out because the fare would not be enough to justify the trip. Wanting to drink, instead of driving, we asked if it was an easy walk and were told it was a very quick and easy walk. It certainly wasn't. After walking for 45 minutes beside a road with no street lamps, no sidewalk and very fast cars, we felt we were in danger and turned round and walked back to the hotel. There the hotel reluctantly accommodated us in their soulless restaurant, where the food was bland and overpriced. We tried to have a drink in the bar after our dinner but could not find anyone to serve us.

Breakfast was rather uninspiring, with disappointingly poor quality produce.

Overall, this has the ingredients for a solid hotel, but at the time we visited it felt like they were trying to operate on a skeleton staff and service suffered as a result.

I would not stay here again.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Jimboblondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

Two couples stayed for three nights in late September and then went on to Florence for four nights....definitely the wrong way round! Our stay here had been very chilled and the hotel and particularly the staff very welcoming.
The hotel did feel a bit like Fawlty Towers, with what seemed like a few staff filling a lot of roles, but to our minds, that only added to its charm. It also meant that you built up a slight relationship with them and consequently received some reviews for places to go and things to do..

As the previous reviews say, the hotel is a little dated but all the pros far outweigh that con.

Our room was lovely, at the back on the ground floor with patio doors looking onto the swimming pool. The room was very quiet, good size with a great sized bathroom. Breakfasts were great, continental with a very wide choice. We only had one evening meal which was very good but not cheap.

The other evenings, we drove into San Gimignano - no trouble parking and a very pleasant walk around with little or no crowds...bliss!!

If you like a sterile modern holiday, this is not the place for you; if, however, you like an hotel with charm and character...give it a go, you won't be disappointed!!

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Trish S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

This is a monestary which has been converted to a very high standard. It is about 20 minutes walk from San Gimignano. The rooms are spacious and are very comfortable. The staff are wonderful and responses are very quick. Breakfast is a cold buffet, but of exceptional standard. There is a lovely pool and the grounds are beautiful. Plenty of free parking. Dinner is of a high standard, but is at the top end of prices in San Gimignano. The TV, like most we came across in Italy only has English news startions. We had a 7 night stay there and explored a great deal of Tuscany and loved every moment. Thoroughly recommended

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkB186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

La Collegiata is a lovely hotel near San Gimignano. Beautiful views and surrounded by hills, vineyards and villas. Very friendly staff, great breakfast buffet with very clean and comfortable rooms. Highly recommend this hotel for a relaxing and romantic stay.

Room Tip: Our room faced the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cudafamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balingen, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

and very good located to San Gimignano. Only 20 minutes away by foot. It lies very central to visit Siena , Florence ,Volterra and Greve. Our room was big and clean. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The site and the pool was in a good shape. It is a very special place with more potential though. We stayed there for 12 nights, thus having the same breakfast every day was a bit poor. The price performance ratio of the restaurant could also be improved.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roland und Beat... K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hasselt
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

Pro: location ( only 5 min from town center and great view), big and clean rooms, helpful service! Big pool, private parking.

Contra: beds are not comfortable, swimming pool area doesn't look cosy, with some little effort this would be better.

Conclsion: Nice hotel with perfect location to visit Florence and Siena. Nice view. Lovely service. I think prices are just that high in this area. Little improvements would make this hotel great!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexi_Vangerven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
1.0 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#5 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
1.2 mi away
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
#9 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#3 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Sovestro
Hotel Sovestro
#2 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
#1 of 1 in Ulignano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
#6 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Collegiata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Collegiata

Property: Hotel La Collegiata
Address: Localita Strada, 27, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Collegiata 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Prestigia so you can book your Hotel La Collegiata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Collegiata Hotel
Hotel La Collegiata San Gimignano, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing