We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent, relaxing time”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living room Dining area with extending dining table that seats six
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
Living room
Dining area with extending dining table that seats six
Fully furnished kitchen
Master Bedroom
Master bedroom with door to the garden
Bedroom with two single beds and door to the garden
Upstairs bedroom
Bathroom #1 with large shower
Covered patio with table for six
Front patio
Panoramic view from front patio
View from garden and sun lounging area
Sunset at Azzurra
View from swimming pool with covered patio area, looking out toward Pisa
View from swimming pool, looking out towards Volterra
San Gimignano only 20 minutes drive
Volterra only 20 minutes drive
Siena only 50 minutes drive
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
San Gimignano, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
phdumfart...
Linz, Austria
1 review
“Excellent, relaxing time”
Reviewed 26 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We spent one fabulous week in the house! The house is situated in the center of Tuscany and offered all that we needed: Great infrastructure (especially a perfect pool), calm surroundings and a beautiful landscape and view. The housekeeper was very kind and the owner's help was simply perfect. We will be very happy to return as soon as possible!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gill A
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to stay in a fantastic setting”
Reviewed 26 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed in this apartment for 3 weeks and to be honest, we could have stayed for 3 months and still not want to come back. It is a lovely place with stunning views across rolling countryside. It is off the beaten track but is handily placed for San Gimignano, Volterra and Siena among others. The apartment has all the comforts of home and more and is very clean and tidy. The pool is excellent. We must mention the owner, Mary Ann Alcon. She was so helpful with directions and information which made the journey very easy. A car is necessary.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Chris T
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A delightful place to soak up the beauty of the Tuscan countryside.”
Reviewed 10 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a really wonderful stay at Azzurra, which beautifully showcases the stunning Tuscan country-side. The house was so well-equipped with all those little bits and pieces which elevate one’s stay from basic to luxurious. Being a mid-summer stay, we spent many happy hours outside, lapping up the sunshine and never-ending views. We could hardly stop taking photos of the gardens, the sunsets, the rolling hills…it was really rather magical.

Our personal welcome to the property by Chiarra was delightful and really helpful, as was all the info we received from you in advance.

The very large swimming pool –with its own views and network of shaded sunloungers- was a huge hit with the children and adults alike and was a welcome and refreshing end to the 7 days spent exploring the villages and other towns in Tuscany.

We actually visited Torrichi (of which Azzurra is part) with 3 other families who stayed separately in other villas on the property. All of the villas were beautiful, but ours seemed to be the one to which most were attracted, particularly because of the amazing terrace. We spent most evenings gathered on Azzurra’s terrace snacking on local cheeses, prosciuttos and fruit that we’d discovered on our daytime outings. The collection of outdoor furniture available at Azzurra enabled this to occur with ease.

Azzurra’s location enabled plenty of easy daytrips to the charming towns of San Gigimano, Florence, Sienna, Volterra and others. We felt very reliant on our hire-car, but this had been an informed choice that we made as we were intent and pleased to be in the heart of Tuscany’s picturesque country-side.

The interior of the villa was great, with all mod cons dressed in Tuscan styling. The internal temperature was delightful and easy to control with combinations of shades, shutters, windows and airconditioning.

The inside living space is cosy and not overly spacious but this was unimportant for us, given that so much of our living was done outside.

All up, the property offered us a very pleasurable holiday, with great support from the owner.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The outside terrace
Liked least: The lack of internal living space.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Most Amazing Views”
Reviewed 5 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

What a lovely way to visit Tuscany. Azzurra is the most charming of farm houses. It is tucked away on a hill top a few miles between San Gimignano and Volterra offering the most amazing views. The sunsets were stunning!
The house and all of its accommodations were the best of all the places we stayed in Italy. The beds were comfortable, the kitchen was spacious, and the owner provided all the amenities a family of five would need. On the owners recommendation we hired a personal chef to prepare a meal at Azzurra. It was an exceptional experience.
The owner was most accommodating. She provided us with page after page of information on the property including driving directions and called us at home to make sure we had everything we needed for a successful trip. We could not have been happier.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The terrace and the stunning views.
Liked least: I cannot think of a thing!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle...
Wexford, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Prefect Tuscany rental for our dream vacation”
Reviewed 14 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Four friends traveling throughout Italy for three weeks landed at Azzurra for our last week. We landed in a piece of heaven. There are so many reasons why this is a wonderful rental. First, the views. They are awe-inspiring. Second, the beds. We stayed in 4 and 5 star hotels previous to landing at Azzurra and the beds at Azzurra were the most comfortable; hands down. Third, the house is very clean and cozy. It had everything we needed: three large bedrooms, two bathrooms, washer/dryer and internet. The kitchen has everything we needed to cook for ourselves. And, the owner provided a wonderful packet of information that included directions with pictures, directions to restaurants and grocery stores, train schedules and even a chef to come in to cook for us, if wanted. This place was perfecto! When we come back to Italy, we will come back to Azzurra.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views! And the beds.
Liked least: The entrance road is a little rough, but manageable.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TopCatofV...
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Long peaceful views, relaxing well equipped villa far enough away but close enough to town.”
Reviewed 29 September 2015 for a stay in October 2014

We had one of our best vacations here at the Azzurra Villa. Mary Ann is wonderful and her instructions impeccable. Had a great Italian gourmet dinner at the villa one night cooked by Chef Laura. This is not the U.S. so there are a few quirky things you will need to adjust to when you are here such as the washer and the offsite trash area. But all in all it was fantastic. I highly recommend the use of a GPS that you can input coordinates for finding your way in Tuscany. We rented a SUV and had no trouble with the unpaved country road to the villa. I would not hesitate in the least to recommend this wonderful villa to anyone! We want to go back!!

For a once in a life time foodie experience go to Villa Pignano. Great food and wonderful views. Again get those GPS coordinates!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Propety condition
Liked least: Long drive to the villa
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;