We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything a Tuscan Holiday should be & more” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Az. Agr. La Ripa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Az. Agr. La Ripa
Sydney
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Everything a Tuscan Holiday should be & more”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014

We booked La Ripa for 3 families (all with children from 8 - 16) to stay for 1 week and celebrate my 50th Birthday with a party in San Gimigniano. We had the 2 story I Ghiri apartment which was so tastefully and artistically decorated our kitchen and bedroom windows had a direct view onto San Gimiginiano. The pool area, olive groves and gardens are superb and tended with love. The owners have 2 dogs that roam and mix freely with the guests. The ambience in the Villa is superb. Finding the place is very difficult and it starts because when you enter Loc Santa Maria 70 it takes you 6 km in the opposite direction. We had to ring the owner twice to get better directions. The villa is actually in Ugliani and not San Gimigiano. As others have said you go 5 mins down the road to Poggibonsi for supplies at PAMs (the local supermarket). The villa is close to the main road for easy access to Sienna, Florence and Pisa. We loved our stay and would recommend to anyone looking for a well equipped Tuscan Villa with ambience. The villa is a 7 km drive from San Gimigiano itself. The owners are very friendly and helpful. Our villa was fully stocked with all the utensils you need for cooking and entertaining. Our other friends ahd the larger villa with the covered terrace and we spent every afternoon and evening sitting & drinking out there. With the sun setting at 10pm you can still enjoy the villa even when you return from sightseeing late in the afternoon. Only area for improvement would be ceiling fans or fans in the rooms as when it is very hot you need to keep you window open for any breeze.

Room Tip: We chose the larger 2 storey apartment with fantastic views (I Ghiri) 1 double bed and 2 singles but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
55
22
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

We are a family of 4 ( 22 months boy and 4 years girl) who spent a wonderful week at La Ripa back early June 2014. We have experienced 0 downside for the entire week. A picture is worth 1000 words, but honestly, you have to see it to believe it, as it was even better. From the owner reception and advises, to the apartment (huge, very comfortable, well equipped), view and scenery, terasse and the pool (key when weather is at 35C !), everything was perfect from start to finish. 360 degrees view on the country and San Gimignano, running through the vineyards and property will remain in our memories for long time. Great location close to Firenze, Siena and San Gimignano. Everything you need is 10 minutes away by car in Pongibonsi. Perfect for a family stay. Thanks again La RIpa for making our trip one to remember.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alx_Beaulieu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Gatos, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed at La Ripa with another couple the 1st week in May-what a fabulous base to explore Tuscany from. You stay in a beautifully restored villa in the middle of vine yards and olive orchards with a view across the hills to the towers of San Gimignano. You are truly in the Tuscan countryside-quiet,warm breezes, views of the hills -and still you are convenient to all the Tuscan sites. Our 2 BR apartment was well equipped-very modern kitchen and bathrooms, gas fire places and original art work on the walls. Our favorite part of the stay was sitting out on the large stone porch at the end of the day, soaking in the views of surrounding gardens and vineyards. A supermarket is a bout a 10 minute drive, and small bakery and market are just a few minutes drive. You definitely need a car to get here -and to enjoy the sites-Thank you Alex,your lovely wife Margarite ,( and your 2 sweet dogs ) for a wonderful week in Tuscany

Room Tip: very private and quiet 2 BR apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BandHLosGatos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

We had a fantastic week at La Ripa, staying in the Il Padronale apartment. The apartment has plenty of space, clean and great cooking facilities. The owner, Duccio, is always on hand if you need any help.

The location of the Villa is central to many of the picturesque Tuscany cities and about a 10 minutes drive to a large supermarket. I would definitely recommend La Ripa if you are looking for a relaxing retreat.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NickC_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haarlem, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

The farmhouse is beautiful inside and out, we immediately felt at home. Our small children had the best of times here, playing in the gardens or splashing in the pool. It's a quiet and peaceful place, you hardly notice there are other visitors staying in the farmhouse. We had the pool to ourselves a lot of the time. Location is just perfect for exploring Tuscany with S.Gimignano at just a few kms distance and Siena at half an hour drive. Lots of pretty villages just around the corner and wherever you look the views are simply stunning. The service was excellent, thanks to our host Duccio who was always there to help or advise. We had a memorable stay at La Ripa and will surely come back!

Room Tip: Il Padronale is a large appartment on the ground floor with a huge patio and lovely garden full of f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WaletS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

We have just returned home after a week's stay at the beautiful La Ripa. So much to say about this wonderful villa. We arrived on 05/07/13 along with our 2 children ages 8 and 13, and were greeted warmly by Duccio. Our villa was just beautiful and suited our needs and more to make our holiday in Tuscany comfortable, relaxing and very enjoyable. Our children loved the pool as did my husband and I. The villa is set in some of the most beautiful gardens I have ever seen, so we took plenty of pictures and plan to put one on a canvas. It really was a great base to explore Tuscany and very serene. We used the very reliable train service in Poggibonsi, about 5 miles from La Ripa, to visit Pisa and Florence (train also available to Venice) If we ever return to Tuscany we would not dream of staying anywhere but La Ripa. Thank you Duccio for the wonderful oil and wine tour which we all loved.

Room Tip: We stayed in the la Fenile, a 1st floor 2 bedroom apartment which was perfect for 2 adults and 2 chi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alison f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

We found La Ripa not by looking for a suitable establishment in the village/city we wanted to stay in, but by looking at the highest-scoring agriturismos in Tuscany. Sorting by highest scores first, La Ripa was the first we found that had an apartment with two bedrooms and was available during our holiday period, i.e. the first half of June 2013.
The only apartement available was Padronale, also the one with the highest price. We read on the website of La Ripa that it was also the biggest apartment, hence the higher price. On a weekday night I phoned La Ripa and was directed to Duccio, the son of the owners who spoke better English and could help us further. A reservation was quickly arranged and awaited our arrival.
At our initial arrival, we had some difficulty finding the agriturismo, which more visitors experienced as can be read. The trick is finding the entrance to the road up the hill in Ulignano, at the start of the final bend just before leaving the village again, when northbound.
The gravel road up the hill was not difficult as we read earlier, at least for us. The final part is a bit steep, but has tarmac.
The arrival proved to set the standard for our stay at La Ripa. The estate is stunningly beautiful, with a nice garden and swimming pool outside of the "main garden". We were welcomed most friendly, and Duccio gave us a tour of our appartment. The Padronale apartment is located on the ground floor, and has a private patio overlooking the garden. This alone justifies the higher price, let alone the larger rooms and 2 (!) bathrooms.
Usually pictures of the establishment look better than reality, but in this case reality is much better. We only spent one lazy evening in the living room with the TV on (it was raining outside), the rest was spent under the roofed comfort of the private patio. The kitchen is large by any standard, and contained all the luxuries you can think of including washing machine.
The main garden is privately located and closed with small doors, due to the two sweet dogs Didi and Pimpa. Our 3 year old daughter loved them, and due to the small doors our daughter could play freely in the garden as well. The swimming pool is located outside the main garden, privately located on the slope with a few steps to take. The pool is larger than we thought compared to the pictures, and we usually had the pool to ourselves. Having a small girl around playing, she couldn't bother anyone else which eased our parenting duties a bit.
La Ripa is located just fine; San Gimignano (albeit a bit too touristic for our tastes) is 7km away and can be seen from La Ripa, and groceries can be done in various stores in Poggibonsi, also around 7km away. Florence and Siena can be reached just fine as well (45 minutes each) en Pisa is a 1.5 hour drive. We planned to visit Florence, Siena and Pisa, but were so relaxed at La Ripa that most of our drives were short to restaurants in the area.
Our daughter enjoyed the stay incredibly much, with the pool, dogs and most friendly owners.
The owners Alessandro and Margherita deserve praise, we felt most welcome. They are truly nice people. Their son Duccio deserves special mention. He did even more to make us feel welcome, by helping us around, making recommendations for restaurants and activities and the occasional chat. He also organized a wine tasting tour, where we looked around the vineyards as well and bought too many bottles of delicous wine, olive oil and even honey.
Eventhough were normally not the "staying around" type of traveller, and we certainly never visit the same place twice... We are 99% sure we will visit La Ripa again next year.

Room Tip: The only reason I can think of NOT to recommend the Padronale apartment, is that you would book prio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Serge R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
0.8 mi away
Il Coltro
Il Coltro
#39 of 111 in San Gimignano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
3.0 mi away
Il Borghetto di San Gimignano Agriturismo
1.3 mi away
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
#1 of 1 in Ulignano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#5 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#3 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Le Renaie
Hotel Le Renaie
#1 of 1 in Pancole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Az. Agr. La Ripa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Az. Agr. La Ripa

Property: Az. Agr. La Ripa
Address: Via Santa Maria 70, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 111 Speciality Lodging in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Ripa is a farmhouse with an old fashioned taste. Four apartments that look like they grew up one on the other along the centuries without a precise project, they have given birth to an interesting and unique structure.To embellish the whole structure, a deep green, scented crown: our garden. And a shining blue pearl: our swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Az. Agr. La Ripa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Az. Agr. La Ripa San Gimignano, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing