We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved Tuscany and our lovely villa sure helped!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Borgo Tollena

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Gimignano
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Borgo Tollena
barrie
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Loved Tuscany and our lovely villa sure helped!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

From the moment we arrived at Tollena we felt welcomed. Life is not perfect and there were a few snags but everything was looked after effeciantly. I would love to return one day. Barbara thank you for your hospitaliy

Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank linda p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    5
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
28
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

My husband and I went to Tuscany for our honeymoon for 10 days in June. We thought the hill town of San Gimignano was a perfect spot to stay for exploring Tuscany. It’s a medium-sized hill town (big enough for variety, but smaller than a city), and its centrally located enough to easily do day trips to places like Pisa, Florence, Siena, Montepulciano, Vada…

Borgo Tollena’s reviews were by far the best for any Tuscan villa, so we decided to take a leap of faith and booked it. We stayed in Lunario. We were a bit nervous leading up to our trip…we wondered if the reviews and photos online were accurate representations of what we would see when we arrived. The minute we pulled off the main road toward the property, we knew we had made a great choice. The photos online do not do justice to this gorgeous property.

Borgo Tollena is set a ways back from the road, a few miles from town. It is incredibly peaceful, quiet, hardly any noise from traffic or tourists. The property is very well kept. The pool is clean, with gorgeous views. Barbara, the owner, is accessible and incredibly sweet and helpful. The apartments are very clean, comfortable, nicely decorated, and well-appointed. Each apartment has its own picnic table with umbrella and chairs. The villa is on a hill, and the views of its vineyards and the nearby properties are phenomenal, especially at sunset…perhaps some of the best we saw while in Italy. We enjoyed several relaxing breakfasts and dinners at our picnic table soaking up the breathtaking scenery. Absolutely amazing. We have already recommended Borgo Tollena to friends, and we hope to return ourselves for an anniversary some day!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

This is already the 2nd time that we visit Borgo Tollena. Again we had a really relaxing holiday, with nice view, good food and friendly people. The kids are really missing the place already and are asking if we can book it for next year, to see Barbara, Hetty, the swimming pool and the good wine and the good food.
We arrived very late at the apartment but had a warm welcome, because the fridge was filled with nice "Tollena" wine. That was really a nice surprise. Actually we don't want recommend this place (most beautiful view of Tuscany) because every one else will go then.......

See you next year Barbara!

Sherida, Gerard & kids

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherida1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

We stayed at Borgo Tollena for 2 weeks in May 2012. It was beautiful, the view is stunning from every direction. We had 4 adults and 2 children (aged 3 and 1) and stayed in appartment La Stellata which had plenty of space. The accomodation is spotlessly clean. The outdoor setting was fabulous and we spent many evenings drinking red wine and eating prosciutto outside after the kids went to sleep. The pool area was lovely but too cold for swimming when we were there and not fenced which is always a worry with young children. There is also a swing set on the property which our children loved. The property is an easy 5 min drive from the town of San Gimignano. We had a very relaxing holiday and would highly recommend Borgo Tollena. Barbara, the owner, is lovely.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gabrielle79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staunton, Illinois
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

Just returning from a vacation of a lifetime. If ten Stars were available, that is what I would give.

As one of a group of seven, and a seven month old infant, from the USA, we could not have been happier. This was just what one would think a Villa in Tuscany should/could be. We arrived late in the eve and a most beautiful Italian women guided us to her property (thank you Barbara) to begin our dream of staying in the Italian Countryside. Perfect beyond belief. The accomodations were top notch, extremely clean and very comfortable. We were so lucky with the weather, we even enjoyed the gorgeous swimming pool. The views from my bedroom window were breathtaking, and a Special evening around the table to share in some delicious wine and food, prepared especially for us, was well worth the money. The wine flowed freely and we loved the homemade meal. I am hoping that someday I will be lucky enough to return to Borgo Tollena for a return performance.

Thank You Barbara et. al.
Grateful,
M. Sue Stiegemeier

Room Tip: If you need room for a larger Family their largest accomodation is perfect. says it sleeps 7 but wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisse, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
262 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

Not worth the 5 stars. Service is terrible, everything you ask will cost money. Cleaning only once a week. Towels only once a week. Ok, location is perfect but the appartment is not even 3 stars. No watercooker, no toaster, few glasses. No, we won't be back.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tippie21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borgotollena, Proprietario at Borgo Tollena, responded to this review, 27 October 2011
Kind Guest,

I am really sorry that our facility did not come up to your expectations.

With regard to the services, our website and all agencies working with us clearly indicate which services are included and which are not.

Service Included for our guests are:

• Parking
• Outdoor swimming pool from April to October
• Electricity and water
• Air conditioning from June to September
• Weekly change of linen
• Barbeque area
• Sky digital platform in the apartment

and Service on request non included are:

• Heating from November to April
• Wi-fi connection
• Final cleaning
• Midweek change of linen or cleaning (info at check in)
• Children's cot (15 € per week)
• Pool towels (12,00 € per person per week)
• Bicycles

Starting from 2012 Wi-fi connection and Eating from November to April will be included too.

Instead of watercooker and toaster our apartments are provided with microwave/grill, but as you suggest, we've bought also watercookers and toasters that will be available on request for free.

Unlike the stay in a hotel, the agritourism offers you a different kind of holiday, just because you can establish an easy and humane relationship with the owner. If you want more glasses, simply ask for them.

It's better do not wait you're back home to underline our lacks, just do it during your stay: this may help us make your holiday satisfactory at best.


Anyway, it would be really very lucky to please everyone, but perhaps it would not even be right: constructive criticism is useful just because allows improving.


So if you'll give us another chance, we will be glad to meet your requests (as much that we can).

Warm Regards

Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2011

We stayed there for 2 weeks with children. Liked it very much! We definately will come back. The rooms are nice, clean and fully equipped. The pool and the territory are clean. The personnel is very very friendly. The athmosphere is great. The only thing we missed - the playgroung for the kids with the sandbox. But anyway - everything was sooo great!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElenaLapko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
3.7 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#3 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
2.8 mi away
Agriturismo Il Casolare di Bucciano
Agriturismo Il Casolare di Bucci...
#12 of 111 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
3.0 mi away
Il Borghetto di San Gimignano Agriturismo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Podere La Marronaia Agriturismo
Podere La Marronaia Agriturismo
#34 of 111 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
2.0 mi away
Poderi Arcangelo Agriturismo Farmhouse
1.0 mi away
Villa Ducci
Villa Ducci
#17 of 111 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borgo Tollena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo Tollena

Property: Borgo Tollena
Address: Localita Tollena - SP1, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 111 Speciality Lodging in San Gimignano
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Borgo Tollena San Gimignano, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing