We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Stop in San Gimignano”

Enoteca Gustavo Mescita Vini
Ranked #18 of 130 Restaurants in San Gimignano
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours
Chester, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The Perfect Stop in San Gimignano”
Reviewed 27 June 2013

San Gimignano is one of our favorite towns in the region, and we have stayed and day tripped countless times. I am embarrassed to say that this recent visit was the first time that we stumbled across Gustavo Mescita Vini, but I promise you that we will return soon.

Unfortunately, we had already had a lovely lunch somewhere else and could only admire the magnificent delights that Giuseppe's mother was making from all of the fresh ingredients that were within arms reach, but that did not prevent us from being drawn into the excitement that comes from being surrounded by local Italians during lunch hour. Giuseppe speaks excellent English, and also displays his talents in making an equally excellent Spritz.

After the initial rush of orders for bruschetta and panini's were fulfilled, Giuseppe shared with us the long history of this multi-generational Enoteca. This history can be seen in the charming surroundings, and should be enjoyed over lunch, or a glass of wine. Much like everything else in Italy, just be sure to relax and let your surroundings reward all of your senses.

I promise that next time we will be having lunch at Gustavo Mescita Vini, and enjoying an assortment of Giuseppe's mother's creations.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    150
    24
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best And Most Intimate Stop for great Wines and small bites of delicious Italian Foods!!!”
Reviewed 18 May 2013 via mobile

Fast Food with Style-Enoteca Gustavo is like stepping into the past and feeling totally welcome there! Salvatore takes great care of us everytime we drop in! He has great wines and always manages to create some wonderful plate of delicious snacks. There is no menu, but prices and plates are described on boards that hang from the walls. Just go there look at the fresh meats cheeses and vegetables meticulously laid on display in the glass refrigerator & trust Salvatore to create a plate for you. Grab one of the wooden benches outside to snack, pause, and enjoy fantastic people watching! Must Go!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RedVelvetVoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A Must Stop in San Gimignano”
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Charming, wonderful, tasty, good value... what else can I say? Just go there and have a bite to eat and a glass of wine while you watch the world go by at a different pace in this cute little town. I had a prosciutto and mozzarella panini here for lunch and it was the best little sandwich I had during my travels in Italy. SO GOOD! It was so amazingly simple and tasty that I've sent several of my friends here in the past two weeks.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ScottBOrlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Great Wines, Terrific Bruschette!”
Reviewed 23 January 2013

If you are in San Gimignano and decide to take a "wine break", this is the place to go to! Situated right on the main street (nearer to the north "exit" of the city), Enoteca Gustavo has a very good selection on tuscan wines and delicious things to chew on while sipping them. Their bruschette are remarkable. To cap things off, try their vin santo with some cantucci or panforte!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank migliaribasso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nussdorf am Inn, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best bar of the world”
Reviewed 8 January 2013

We staid nearly every day in this bar. Salvatore and his Familiy are very nice and friendly. The bruschettas, piattta misto, ham,salami, cheese etc. and also the different wines are the best we have ever had. It is a must in San Gimignano to visit this bar!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Wieser P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Enoteca Gustavo Mescita Vini also viewed

San Gimignano, Province of Siena
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 

Been to Enoteca Gustavo Mescita Vini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing