We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit in September 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in San Gimignano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We stayed at this hotel in early September for 3 nights. It is very clean, beautiful location and within walking distance from the medieval town. Lovely view. Breakfast is very good, lots of choices. Yes the parking at the hotel is limited, but there is parking on the street a short distance away...that was not a problem for us. I would have appreciated more help from the front desk staff in planning our tour of wine country, they basically just hand you a brochure from a tour company and tell you to phone the wineries to make appointments if you are visiting them on your own. Also the wireless internet was not working for one of the days we were there....which made it difficult to plan our day trips on line. However when we visited the tourist information center at Greve in Chianti, the staff were most helpful in assisting us in touring wineries and even made the appointments for us.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annemaried45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Relais S, Responsabile reception at Relais Santa Chiara Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

We thank you so much for your kind comments about our hotel.
Regarding the wine tours, we are very sorry you were not satisfied with our suggestions. Not to make excuses, but is can be very difficult to suggest wineries because there are literally thousands of them, and there are so many factors that go into making a choice. The brochure we gave you is from a tour company that runs a very popular wine tour. Through our hotel association the price is discounted 10%. We are happy to make the appointment for you. That is how you receive the discount! Also, our hotel has a special offer for free wine tasting at a local winery when you book a room through our website - www.rsc.it.
And we apologise about the wi-fi not working sometimes. It often depends on the device you have and when you roam around the hotel changing from one access point to another. We are working to correct this conflict between access points.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (661)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

216 - 222 of 661 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2013

The hotel is very well located, it has it´s own parking lot, the room and bathroom are clean. The room terrace has a lovely view. I don´t think it´s four star, because of the size of the room, wifi is with cost and breakfast is very plain.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laila A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Relais S, Direttore at Relais Santa Chiara Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Thank you for your input which is very much appreciated. We value all comments are use them to improve wherever possible. Really, we don't try to be a 3, 4 or 5 star hotel. We just try to provide the most comfortable place to stay with good personal service, using the facility we have to work with. Apparently, you had one of our small rooms, that although they are small, they have big balconies and half have wonderful views over the countryside. Then we have 3 other room categories that are larger and more spacious. Next time, we'll give you one of those. As for the wi-fi, ok, it is not yet free, but the cost is only € 3 and is valid for 24 hours of connection time, which should be plenty for even a stay of 1 week. Thanks again and best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We once again had a lovely stay at this hotel. The hotel is small and perfectly located to the town which is only five minutes walk.
The rooms are well furnished and spotlessly clean. Well worth the additional cost to have a room looking over the fantastic countryside.
Breakfast is plentiful with lots of choice.
The staff are friendly and willing to assist with any request.

Room Tip: Woth having a room with a view over the Tuscan countryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank judyormond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Relais S, Direttore at Relais Santa Chiara Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

You are so nice! Thank you for your kind words. We try to do our best for everyone, but it is people like you that keep us going and encourage us to do more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We have stayed at this hotel several times over the last 20 years. The continuity of the staff, the high level of cleanliness, the great location just outside of the city walls and the friendly reception from the owners and their staff - all make this one of favourite holiday locations. There are always enough sun loungers around the pool and on the lawn, lots of clean towels by the pool, and ever helpful staff when you ask for refreshments.

Erika and her team have performed consistently over the years and we have recommended this hotel to lots of friends and family, many of whom have also enjoyed staying here.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool have the best view of the countryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DennisWestSussex_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Relais S, Responsabile reception at Relais Santa Chiara Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

That is so nice to hear. Nothing makes me feel better about my work. We have many repeat guests and we always love to see them again as we have developed real friendships over the years. Thanks for your recommendations! A big hug to you from all of us.
Erika

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

The hotel was very good. Comfortable room with balcony overlooking the countryside. Outside area excellent. Pool small, but adequate with towels provided. Sunbeds good and sufficient availability. Breakfast was good, with a wide selection of food. However, hot food was limited in its range. Bar during the day was well served, but often closed early. There was a bell but the only staff seemed to on the desk. Well placed to visit the town and signposted to get to other locations. Lots of restaurants in walking distance, but worth doing homework because menus and prices similar, but disguising a wide range of qualities. Parking was always a problem, as limited free spaces. Larger vehicles would add to this as the spaces are tight in size with added complication of narrow street and large trees.

Room Tip: Request room with view. Basic room may disappoint.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Relais S, Responsabile reception at Relais Santa Chiara Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

We appreciate your comments, especially those of substance that can help us and future guests. We will evaluate serving more and different hot foods for breakfast. Our barman finishes his shift at 8pm, but the bar remains open until midnight. As for local restaurants, we agree. There are now many, and some more consistent than others. For this, check with us! We have a list of our 10 favorites, plus others that we receive comments about. We always monitor what our guests say about local restaurants in order to give the best recommendations. Regarding the parking, being so close to town, it will never be as easy as being out in the wood. But, when all our free spaces are taken, remember that our residential area has free spaces no more than 100 mt. from us. And, the public lot right next to us has loads of parking for only €5 for 24 hours! That's a very fair price.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

This motel is excellent. The staff are very helpful and friendly. There is ample parking and the pool is very nice too. It is located about 10-15 minutes down the hill from the town which is an easy walk and keeps you fit. There is no night time restaurant but the bar stays open until midnight and it serves a wide variety of drinks at affordable prices. Good breakfast too. Wi-Fi is very affordable.

We stayed 6 days and really loved it. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We booked a room with a balcony which was very good for seeing the stars at night and very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Relais S, Direttore at Relais Santa Chiara Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write and for your lovely compliments. It is funny how someone can write "not a four star", then another writes "luxury". Which is it? The only way to discover is to come and find out. We are all different, which makes the world so interesting. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

The most average place we stayed on our trip around Tuscany.
Not up to its four star standard. It's a good job it's situated in walking distance to beautiful San Gimignano, this is the best thing about the hotel. It's the most expensive hotel we stayed in 119euro a night for their cheapest room, not worth the expensive price you pay per night. Wound not return if its still that pricey.

The good: -it's close to town only a 10 min stroll, into the main square.
-It's quiet and peaceful surroundings.
-Always free sun beds and nice clean pool.
- the rooms are clean and bedding is nice.
The bad: -Parking is limited. Either 13euros a night for parking in the hotel grounds, the are 7-8 free car park spaces outside
the hotel but it can difficult getting a space as everyone else has driven to get to the hotel. Other than that you
have to park on the street which is also very busy as residents park there. It's not want you want when trying to
relax on your holidays.
- the rooms are tiny. About 3 meters long box. I did not have anywhere to put my two large suitcases. Also only
has a double bed not a large kingsize like all the other Tuscany hotel stays. The
bathroom was so small, when having a wash one step back and I would be sat on the loo. You could not fit two
people in the bathroom. The shampoo and body wash provided is cheap and not four star.
- breakfast is ok, simple not Four star. Limited choice, and not well stocked up. Once food has gone it takes half an
hour for it to be replenished, also never had any plates out, had to ask.
- No atmosphere in the hotel. Not little extra touches, rubbish plastic flowers on main table instead of lovely fresh
flowers.
- we were offered a upgrade for 40euro extra a night for a room with a view. This is a lot of money when staying for
a few nights and if those lovely rooms were free would the hotel not give their guests a free upgrade or cheaper
upgrade instead of waisting the room. The 160euro room was not bigger in size but had a balcony with a view.
Why would the hotel waste these rooms instead of giving their guests a great experience instead of an average
one.
- reception service poor, when we arrive no towels in our room, we reported this to reception but nothing was done
it took another call to reception after our meal out at 11pm to get some towels. Again not four star service.
- no key safe in our room. Had to place belonging in back office, very annoying and not convenient.
Overall just an average stay. Rooms are extremely small. Breakfast is average, nothing special, Only hot option was scrambled eggs. Car parking is minimal ( website would have you think different). It seams that the hotel charges extra for everything, wifi was 5euro a day, a hotel in Siena we stayed at it was 5euro for the week not a day.
The main good point was that the hotel was so close to town and it had a pool. Would not return.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank GKNev81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Relais S, Direttore at Relais Santa Chiara Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

This review really caught our attention and made us feel very sad and inadequate. We also remember the guests, who had a lot of inner tension like something was wrong from the beginning. When this happens, we notice trends. The first is to complain about the price. For San Gimignano, €119 is not expensive at all, regardless of the category of hotel. Our rates go to €270 in high season, and for the room types that sell the best. The car parking situation is explained very clearly on our website. We always can find a solution for you when it is busy. We will even park your car for you, if needed. Our small rooms are small, which is why they are called small. This is also why they are the least expensive rooms. It's not clear why you want to have 2 people in the bathroom together, unless.... Oh well, you can't have everything. We can promise that when a breakfast item has finished, it will be replaced in much, much less time than half hour. We will most definitely get rid of the plastic flowers on the main table. Our offer to upgrade to a room with a view was for €20, not €40 as claimed. In fairness to everyone, we try to keep all prices equal for the various room categories. In any case, the best rates are when you book direct with the hotel. It's not fair to give something free when another guest is paying for it. If that costs us a bad review, so be it. We are sorry the towels. Both the room attendant and the reception clerk forgot the towels. A big mistake on our part and we apologize. Our wi-fi is €3, not €5 as claimed. And it is not per day but valid for 24 hours of connection time, which should last even you you stay 1 week.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
2.3 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#2 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,341 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#5 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,274 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel le Volpaie
Hotel le Volpaie
#15 of 29 in San Gimignano
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
#4 of 29 in San Gimignano
796 reviews
1.3 mi away
Relais Cappuccina
Relais Cappuccina
#20 of 29 in San Gimignano
522 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Cisterna Hotel
La Cisterna Hotel
#8 of 29 in San Gimignano
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Santa Chiara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Santa Chiara Hotel

Address: Via Giacomo Matteotti 15, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Gimignano
#4 Family Hotel in San Gimignano
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Gimignano
Price Range: £92 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Santa Chiara Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Relais Santa Chiara is a charming and elegant hotel located in the heart of the rolling hills of Tuscany, between Florence and Sienna. The hotel looks over the splendid, peaceful countryside towards Volterra and is situated just 400 mt. below the city walls of San Gimignano, a town of fairy tales with its 14 medieval towers that testify to a fascinating past. In addition, the strategic location allows one to make day trips to all the major cultural and artistic sites of the surrounding area. The hotel offers 40 rooms, made up of 4 different room types either facing the rear garden or facing the splendid Tuscan countryside. Many rooms have beautiful balconies and our superior rooms have bath with hydromassage. All rooms have air-conditioning, digital TV with international channels, hair dryers and mini-bar. Other services include private parking, a meeting room with a capacity up to 60 persons, Mediterranean garden filled with olive and cypress trees that encompass the swimming pool, which includes a separate, heated mini pool with hydro massage and an inviting and well stocked bar serving an array of beverages and a variety of snacks and light meals. The breakfast is a complete buffet that will certainly satisfy the biggest morning appetite. In the summer breakfast and bar service are available outside on the terrace. Particular attention has been given to the hotel’s furnishings. Some of the most prestige materials make up the guest rooms, such as brier wood and national oak. The public areas breath an atmosphere that’s classic Tuscany. Florentine terracotta covers the lobby which is integrated with a colorful pastel marble mosaic. The famous Serena gray stone is another dominate element found throughout the hotel, like the reception desk and the grand fireplace. Activities available nearby are: walking itineraries departing from the hotel, guided tours of the historic centre, scooter rental, wine tasting (come with light lunch), cooking classes, tennis, horse riding and a 27 hole golf course 18 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Relais Santa Chiara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Relais Santa Chiara
Relais Santa Chiara San Gimignano
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel San Gimignano, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing