We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel for San Gimignano” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Relais Santa Chiara Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in San Gimignano
Certificate of Excellence
Aiken, South Carolina
Level Contributor
343 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Nice hotel for San Gimignano”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

Nice location with a great view of an Tuscan valley and the Tuscan hills. The hotel is located on a quiet side street. Short 10 minute walk (up hill) to San Gimignano. Hotel has a very nice swimming pool. Wi-Fi is not free but only cost 3 Euro for 24 hours on-line use. Nice breakfast is served but no restaurants for the evening. There are, however, several nice restaurants in town. Parking is limited. The rooms are small and basic but clean.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dale L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Relais S, Front Office Manager at Relais Santa Chiara Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
We thank you for your comments and wea ppreciate your review of our hotel, we hope we can afford you a bigger room nesxt time, we have four rooms category and probably your stay was in the small one. From the Relais Santa Chiara you can reach the historic center of San Gimignano in a 5 minutes walk, its 400 metres distance.
We look forward to host you and your friends again and offer you our carefull service, doing our best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    180
    55
    16
    10
See reviews for
72
389
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

I was treated to a holiday here for my birthday by my son so I can't comment on value for money. I did however have a lovely room and enjoyed a wonderful breakfast each morning on the terrace. The garden and swimming pool were beautiful, very tidy and clean, the views were spectacular, some rooms have views partly not totally obscured by trees close to balcony, probably most welcome in very hot weather. we had cocktails or tea each afternoon after a lovely lazy time in the garden.A short walk up to San Gimignano which was every thing I had hoped it would be, I was on the trail of the scenes from ' Tea with Mussolini', one of my favourite films. The hotel is pretty and clean, small enough to be welcoming and not overpowering. The staff were all most helpful and friendly. My son, daughter in law and me each agreed we had had a magical time.

Room Tip: I was in room 107 overlooking the garden and swimming pool. Tree outside balcony but views of countr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

We stayed at this hotel in early September for 3 nights. It is very clean, beautiful location and within walking distance from the medieval town. Lovely view. Breakfast is very good, lots of choices. Yes the parking at the hotel is limited, but there is parking on the street a short distance away...that was not a problem for us. I would have appreciated more help from the front desk staff in planning our tour of wine country, they basically just hand you a brochure from a tour company and tell you to phone the wineries to make appointments if you are visiting them on your own. Also the wireless internet was not working for one of the days we were there....which made it difficult to plan our day trips on line. However when we visited the tourist information center at Greve in Chianti, the staff were most helpful in assisting us in touring wineries and even made the appointments for us.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annemaried45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Relais S, Responsabile reception at Relais Santa Chiara Hotel, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
We thank you so much for your kind comments about our hotel.
Regarding the wine tours, we are very sorry you were not satisfied with our suggestions. Not to make excuses, but is can be very difficult to suggest wineries because there are literally thousands of them, and there are so many factors that go into making a choice. The brochure we gave you is from a tour company that runs a very popular wine tour. Through our hotel association the price is discounted 10%. We are happy to make the appointment for you. That is how you receive the discount! Also, our hotel has a special offer for free wine tasting at a local winery when you book a room through our website - www.rsc.it.
And we apologise about the wi-fi not working sometimes. It often depends on the device you have and when you roam around the hotel changing from one access point to another. We are working to correct this conflict between access points.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

The hotel is very well located, it has it´s own parking lot, the room and bathroom are clean. The room terrace has a lovely view. I don´t think it´s four star, because of the size of the room, wifi is with cost and breakfast is very plain.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laila A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Relais S, Direttore at Relais Santa Chiara Hotel, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Thank you for your input which is very much appreciated. We value all comments are use them to improve wherever possible. Really, we don't try to be a 3, 4 or 5 star hotel. We just try to provide the most comfortable place to stay with good personal service, using the facility we have to work with. Apparently, you had one of our small rooms, that although they are small, they have big balconies and half have wonderful views over the countryside. Then we have 3 other room categories that are larger and more spacious. Next time, we'll give you one of those. As for the wi-fi, ok, it is not yet free, but the cost is only € 3 and is valid for 24 hours of connection time, which should be plenty for even a stay of 1 week. Thanks again and best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmacolm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

We once again had a lovely stay at this hotel. The hotel is small and perfectly located to the town which is only five minutes walk.
The rooms are well furnished and spotlessly clean. Well worth the additional cost to have a room looking over the fantastic countryside.
Breakfast is plentiful with lots of choice.
The staff are friendly and willing to assist with any request.

Room Tip: Woth having a room with a view over the Tuscan countryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judyormond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Relais S, Direttore at Relais Santa Chiara Hotel, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
You are so nice! Thank you for your kind words. We try to do our best for everyone, but it is people like you that keep us going and encourage us to do more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex, UK
Level Contributor
209 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

We have stayed at this hotel several times over the last 20 years. The continuity of the staff, the high level of cleanliness, the great location just outside of the city walls and the friendly reception from the owners and their staff - all make this one of favourite holiday locations. There are always enough sun loungers around the pool and on the lawn, lots of clean towels by the pool, and ever helpful staff when you ask for refreshments.

Erika and her team have performed consistently over the years and we have recommended this hotel to lots of friends and family, many of whom have also enjoyed staying here.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool have the best view of the countryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DennisWestSussex_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Relais S, Responsabile reception at Relais Santa Chiara Hotel, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
That is so nice to hear. Nothing makes me feel better about my work. We have many repeat guests and we always love to see them again as we have developed real friendships over the years. Thanks for your recommendations! A big hug to you from all of us.
Erika
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

The hotel was very good. Comfortable room with balcony overlooking the countryside. Outside area excellent. Pool small, but adequate with towels provided. Sunbeds good and sufficient availability. Breakfast was good, with a wide selection of food. However, hot food was limited in its range. Bar during the day was well served, but often closed early. There was a bell but the only staff seemed to on the desk. Well placed to visit the town and signposted to get to other locations. Lots of restaurants in walking distance, but worth doing homework because menus and prices similar, but disguising a wide range of qualities. Parking was always a problem, as limited free spaces. Larger vehicles would add to this as the spaces are tight in size with added complication of narrow street and large trees.

Room Tip: Request room with view. Basic room may disappoint.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Relais S, Responsabile reception at Relais Santa Chiara Hotel, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
We appreciate your comments, especially those of substance that can help us and future guests. We will evaluate serving more and different hot foods for breakfast. Our barman finishes his shift at 8pm, but the bar remains open until midnight. As for local restaurants, we agree. There are now many, and some more consistent than others. For this, check with us! We have a list of our 10 favorites, plus others that we receive comments about. We always monitor what our guests say about local restaurants in order to give the best recommendations. Regarding the parking, being so close to town, it will never be as easy as being out in the wood. But, when all our free spaces are taken, remember that our residential area has free spaces no more than 100 mt. from us. And, the public lot right next to us has loads of parking for only €5 for 24 hours! That's a very fair price.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
2.0 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#2 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Sovestro
Hotel Sovestro
#4 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
2.2 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#5 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Leon Bianco
Hotel Leon Bianco
#3 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
#6 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
#1 of 1 in Ulignano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Santa Chiara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Santa Chiara Hotel

Property: Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Address: Via Giacomo Matteotti 15, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Gimignano
#4 Family Hotel in San Gimignano
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Santa Chiara Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Relais Santa Chiara is a charming and elegant hotel located in the heart of the rolling hills of Tuscany, between Florence and Sienna. The hotel looks over the splendid, peaceful countryside towards Volterra and is situated just 400 mt. below the city walls of San Gimignano, a town of fairy tales with its 14 medieval towers that testify to a fascinating past. In addition, the strategic location allows one to make day trips to all the major cultural and artistic sites of the surrounding area. The hotel offers 40 rooms, made up of 4 different room types either facing the rear garden or facing the splendid Tuscan countryside. Many rooms have beautiful balconies and our superior rooms have bath with hydromassage. All rooms have air-conditioning, digital TV with international channels, hair dryers and mini-bar. Other services include private parking, a meeting room with a capacity up to 60 persons, Mediterranean garden filled with olive and cypress trees that encompass the swimming pool, which includes a separate, heated mini pool with hydro massage and an inviting and well stocked bar serving an array of beverages and a variety of snacks and light meals. The breakfast is a complete buffet that will certainly satisfy the biggest morning appetite. In the summer breakfast and bar service are available outside on the terrace. Particular attention has been given to the hotel’s furnishings. Some of the most prestige materials make up the guest rooms, such as brier wood and national oak. The public areas breath an atmosphere that’s classic Tuscany. Florentine terracotta covers the lobby which is integrated with a colorful pastel marble mosaic. The famous Serena gray stone is another dominate element found throughout the hotel, like the reception desk and the grand fireplace. Activities available nearby are: walking itineraries departing from the hotel, guided tours of the historic centre, scooter rental, wine tasting (come with light lunch), cooking classes, tennis, horse riding and a 27 hole golf course 18 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, ACCOR and Odigeo so you can book your Relais Santa Chiara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Relais Santa Chiara
Relais Santa Chiara San Gimignano
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel San Gimignano, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing