We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in San Gimignano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We stayed here in July of 2013, part of our biking adventure. The hotel was clean and the pool was lovely. The wifi was expensive and unreliable. Not worth getting. Walking distance to the grocery store or into town. Beautiful view on this hill top Tuscan town. We had a upper floor with a Terrace.

Room Tip: Get a terrace room facing the pool or looking out on the valley. Beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (659)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

210 - 216 of 659 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2013

We had a wonderful 3 nights here. Our room was on the 2nd floor and had the most fabulous view over the rolling Tuscan hills. Yes the room was small, but very well designed and very comfortable. I had to unpack my case and stow it on a shelf above the door to makes space, but it was fine. The hotel is immaculately presented and so clean. Breakfast was very good with a good choice of items and you can take it on the terrace with those fab views. We found the staff all friendly and willing to help. We travelled there by local bus and walking with cases to the hotel and to San Gimignano itself was not a problem. I would not hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catlover77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

An excellent few days including talking a great two and a half hour walk south of San Gimignano.
The only issue being the blister on my wife's heel from wearing her new walking shoes. Nevertheless she got round and much enjoyed a relaxing bath afterwards. It's a great location and very convenient for the city and surrounding area. If we had any little gripe and as much having left around 06.15am to catch our plane (in a thunderstorm) would be to have some tea or coffee making facility available out of normal hours.

Room Tip: If you can afford it face the mountains.....we didn't so missed the incredible dynamics when a t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank t_cooperjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Nice location with a great view of an Tuscan valley and the Tuscan hills. The hotel is located on a quiet side street. Short 10 minute walk (up hill) to San Gimignano. Hotel has a very nice swimming pool. Wi-Fi is not free but only cost 3 Euro for 24 hours on-line use. Nice breakfast is served but no restaurants for the evening. There are, however, several nice restaurants in town. Parking is limited. The rooms are small and basic but clean.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dale L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Relais S, Front Office Manager at Relais Santa Chiara Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

We thank you for your comments and wea ppreciate your review of our hotel, we hope we can afford you a bigger room nesxt time, we have four rooms category and probably your stay was in the small one. From the Relais Santa Chiara you can reach the historic center of San Gimignano in a 5 minutes walk, its 400 metres distance.
We look forward to host you and your friends again and offer you our carefull service, doing our best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

I was treated to a holiday here for my birthday by my son so I can't comment on value for money. I did however have a lovely room and enjoyed a wonderful breakfast each morning on the terrace. The garden and swimming pool were beautiful, very tidy and clean, the views were spectacular, some rooms have views partly not totally obscured by trees close to balcony, probably most welcome in very hot weather. we had cocktails or tea each afternoon after a lovely lazy time in the garden.A short walk up to San Gimignano which was every thing I had hoped it would be, I was on the trail of the scenes from ' Tea with Mussolini', one of my favourite films. The hotel is pretty and clean, small enough to be welcoming and not overpowering. The staff were all most helpful and friendly. My son, daughter in law and me each agreed we had had a magical time.

Room Tip: I was in room 107 overlooking the garden and swimming pool. Tree outside balcony but views of countr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We stayed at this hotel in early September for 3 nights. It is very clean, beautiful location and within walking distance from the medieval town. Lovely view. Breakfast is very good, lots of choices. Yes the parking at the hotel is limited, but there is parking on the street a short distance away...that was not a problem for us. I would have appreciated more help from the front desk staff in planning our tour of wine country, they basically just hand you a brochure from a tour company and tell you to phone the wineries to make appointments if you are visiting them on your own. Also the wireless internet was not working for one of the days we were there....which made it difficult to plan our day trips on line. However when we visited the tourist information center at Greve in Chianti, the staff were most helpful in assisting us in touring wineries and even made the appointments for us.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annemaried45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Relais S, Responsabile reception at Relais Santa Chiara Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

We thank you so much for your kind comments about our hotel.
Regarding the wine tours, we are very sorry you were not satisfied with our suggestions. Not to make excuses, but is can be very difficult to suggest wineries because there are literally thousands of them, and there are so many factors that go into making a choice. The brochure we gave you is from a tour company that runs a very popular wine tour. Through our hotel association the price is discounted 10%. We are happy to make the appointment for you. That is how you receive the discount! Also, our hotel has a special offer for free wine tasting at a local winery when you book a room through our website - www.rsc.it.
And we apologise about the wi-fi not working sometimes. It often depends on the device you have and when you roam around the hotel changing from one access point to another. We are working to correct this conflict between access points.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

The hotel is very well located, it has it´s own parking lot, the room and bathroom are clean. The room terrace has a lovely view. I don´t think it´s four star, because of the size of the room, wifi is with cost and breakfast is very plain.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laila A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Relais S, Direttore at Relais Santa Chiara Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Thank you for your input which is very much appreciated. We value all comments are use them to improve wherever possible. Really, we don't try to be a 3, 4 or 5 star hotel. We just try to provide the most comfortable place to stay with good personal service, using the facility we have to work with. Apparently, you had one of our small rooms, that although they are small, they have big balconies and half have wonderful views over the countryside. Then we have 3 other room categories that are larger and more spacious. Next time, we'll give you one of those. As for the wi-fi, ok, it is not yet free, but the cost is only € 3 and is valid for 24 hours of connection time, which should be plenty for even a stay of 1 week. Thanks again and best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
2.3 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#2 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,323 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#4 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,261 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel le Volpaie
Hotel le Volpaie
#13 of 29 in San Gimignano
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Relais Cappuccina
Relais Cappuccina
#20 of 29 in San Gimignano
512 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
#3 of 29 in San Gimignano
780 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Sovestro
Hotel Sovestro
#5 of 29 in San Gimignano
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Santa Chiara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Santa Chiara Hotel

Address: Via Giacomo Matteotti 15, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Gimignano
#4 Family Hotel in San Gimignano
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Gimignano
Price Range: £88 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Santa Chiara Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Relais Santa Chiara is a charming and elegant hotel located in the heart of the rolling hills of Tuscany, between Florence and Sienna. The hotel looks over the splendid, peaceful countryside towards Volterra and is situated just 400 mt. below the city walls of San Gimignano, a town of fairy tales with its 14 medieval towers that testify to a fascinating past. In addition, the strategic location allows one to make day trips to all the major cultural and artistic sites of the surrounding area. The hotel offers 40 rooms, made up of 4 different room types either facing the rear garden or facing the splendid Tuscan countryside. Many rooms have beautiful balconies and our superior rooms have bath with hydromassage. All rooms have air-conditioning, digital TV with international channels, hair dryers and mini-bar. Other services include private parking, a meeting room with a capacity up to 60 persons, Mediterranean garden filled with olive and cypress trees that encompass the swimming pool, which includes a separate, heated mini pool with hydro massage and an inviting and well stocked bar serving an array of beverages and a variety of snacks and light meals. The breakfast is a complete buffet that will certainly satisfy the biggest morning appetite. In the summer breakfast and bar service are available outside on the terrace. Particular attention has been given to the hotel’s furnishings. Some of the most prestige materials make up the guest rooms, such as brier wood and national oak. The public areas breath an atmosphere that’s classic Tuscany. Florentine terracotta covers the lobby which is integrated with a colorful pastel marble mosaic. The famous Serena gray stone is another dominate element found throughout the hotel, like the reception desk and the grand fireplace. Activities available nearby are: walking itineraries departing from the hotel, guided tours of the historic centre, scooter rental, wine tasting (come with light lunch), cooking classes, tennis, horse riding and a 27 hole golf course 18 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Relais Santa Chiara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Relais Santa Chiara
Relais Santa Chiara San Gimignano
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel San Gimignano, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing