We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An incredible honeymoon in a fantastic hotel with brilliant staff.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Relais Santa Chiara Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in San Gimignano
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“An incredible honeymoon in a fantastic hotel with brilliant staff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

My wife and I had our honeymoon recently in Tuscany and stayed at this hotel for a week. The breakfast was perfect, the room was lovely and so clean and tidy and the location is stunning. The best aspect of the hotel however, was the staff. They all speak excellent English and are just completely professional, polite and helpful at all times. They all had such a nice manner about them and nothing was too much trouble.

I would definitely stay here again and I would strongly recommend this hotel to other people.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a country view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    180
    55
    16
    10
See reviews for
72
389
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cochrane, Canada
Level Contributor
365 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Located just outside the walls of the medieval city of San Gimignano, this was a magnificent hotel, with beautiful grounds, all within an easy walk of historical San Gimignano, and its restaurants and shops!

And the huge bonus was being upgraded to a honeymoon suite with a private balcony and an amazing view of the Tuscan countryside! The room was clean and comfortable, the service outstanding and the location is perfect. Highly recommmended!

Room Tip: Get a room with a terrace/balcony overlooking the Tuscan countryside - worth the extra $!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

went as 2 couples returning often, this time 1st week Sept.Hotel as ever very clean and balcony room overlooking pool totally adequate.They dont do evening meals here but with the choice in San Gimignano and the beautiful views and architecture in the town it is nice to dress up and promenade with the locals when the tourists have gone home.
The lunches at the Chiara are superb and with local wine,sun and wonderful pool,its a hard place to beat in Tuscany.Went to Florence for day on bus and train.very easy journey to make worth doing.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking pools a must,beautiful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John_P186424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed here for a week with our friends and it was so quiet you could hear a pin drop, not that that's a bad thing, but we like to chat to other holiday makers and nobody seemed interested in chatting think they just wanted to chill. It's a hotel where people mostly only stay a night or so and then travel on somewhere else. We had a very small room (which we knew about) with a balcony but no view. We tried to upgrade but there was nothing available other than a expensive room which would of cost us an extra £60 per night, however, the next day we overheard a conversation in English at reception where a couple had demanded a room change and had got one, we never challenged it felt it wasn't worth the hassle,the small room was very clean and to be honest actually never bothered us after the 2nd day. The staff were very polite and very helpful spoke very good English, we had lunch there twice and it was very nice, breakfast was nice lots of choice but same every day. Good location probably a good 10 minute walk to the town uphill. I would
definitely recommend this hotel to anyone. San gimignano is a beautiful place but dead at night which we did not expect' people come to visit in the day and then go back on the coaches late afternoon, we were a little out of season (beginning of September ) but we were told that it is always quiet in the evening.

Room Tip: The small rooms are indeed very small, so if you can afford it upgrade, we booked the last 2 rooms s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leyrox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

We stayed here in July of 2013, part of our biking adventure. The hotel was clean and the pool was lovely. The wifi was expensive and unreliable. Not worth getting. Walking distance to the grocery store or into town. Beautiful view on this hill top Tuscan town. We had a upper floor with a Terrace.

Room Tip: Get a terrace room facing the pool or looking out on the valley. Beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottish Highlands
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

We had a wonderful 3 nights here. Our room was on the 2nd floor and had the most fabulous view over the rolling Tuscan hills. Yes the room was small, but very well designed and very comfortable. I had to unpack my case and stow it on a shelf above the door to makes space, but it was fine. The hotel is immaculately presented and so clean. Breakfast was very good with a good choice of items and you can take it on the terrace with those fab views. We found the staff all friendly and willing to help. We travelled there by local bus and walking with cases to the hotel and to San Gimignano itself was not a problem. I would not hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank catlover77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

An excellent few days including talking a great two and a half hour walk south of San Gimignano.
The only issue being the blister on my wife's heel from wearing her new walking shoes. Nevertheless she got round and much enjoyed a relaxing bath afterwards. It's a great location and very convenient for the city and surrounding area. If we had any little gripe and as much having left around 06.15am to catch our plane (in a thunderstorm) would be to have some tea or coffee making facility available out of normal hours.

Room Tip: If you can afford it face the mountains.....we didn't so missed the incredible dynamics when a t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank t_cooperjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
2.0 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#3 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Sovestro
Hotel Sovestro
#2 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
2.2 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#5 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
#6 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Leon Bianco
Hotel Leon Bianco
#4 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
#1 of 1 in Ulignano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Santa Chiara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Santa Chiara Hotel

Property: Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Address: Via Giacomo Matteotti 15, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Gimignano
#4 Family Hotel in San Gimignano
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Santa Chiara Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Relais Santa Chiara is a charming and elegant hotel located in the heart of the rolling hills of Tuscany, between Florence and Sienna. The hotel looks over the splendid, peaceful countryside towards Volterra and is situated just 400 mt. below the city walls of San Gimignano, a town of fairy tales with its 14 medieval towers that testify to a fascinating past. In addition, the strategic location allows one to make day trips to all the major cultural and artistic sites of the surrounding area. The hotel offers 40 rooms, made up of 4 different room types either facing the rear garden or facing the splendid Tuscan countryside. Many rooms have beautiful balconies and our superior rooms have bath with hydromassage. All rooms have air-conditioning, digital TV with international channels, hair dryers and mini-bar. Other services include private parking, a meeting room with a capacity up to 60 persons, Mediterranean garden filled with olive and cypress trees that encompass the swimming pool, which includes a separate, heated mini pool with hydro massage and an inviting and well stocked bar serving an array of beverages and a variety of snacks and light meals. The breakfast is a complete buffet that will certainly satisfy the biggest morning appetite. In the summer breakfast and bar service are available outside on the terrace. Particular attention has been given to the hotel’s furnishings. Some of the most prestige materials make up the guest rooms, such as brier wood and national oak. The public areas breath an atmosphere that’s classic Tuscany. Florentine terracotta covers the lobby which is integrated with a colorful pastel marble mosaic. The famous Serena gray stone is another dominate element found throughout the hotel, like the reception desk and the grand fireplace. Activities available nearby are: walking itineraries departing from the hotel, guided tours of the historic centre, scooter rental, wine tasting (come with light lunch), cooking classes, tennis, horse riding and a 27 hole golf course 18 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Relais Santa Chiara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Relais Santa Chiara
Relais Santa Chiara San Gimignano
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel San Gimignano, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing