We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a find”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in San Gimignano
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“What a find”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I have been to many hotels around the world and this was definitely one of the best in terms of cleanliness, helpful staff and stunning views. I stayed for 5nts and thought our room was of a reasonable size, the balcony was quite small but the view was amazing! Their are well kept gardens and pool which are great to relax by. The staff were always happy to help with planning trips and local info. Breakfast had a good choice. The location is great to walk into town in the evening for dinner where you have a fantastic selection of restaurants to suit everyone's tastes and budget. I can see why the hotel has so many repeat guests, I hope to return 1 day to explore the Tuscan countryside further :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TEB72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Relais S, Responsabile reception at Relais Santa Chiara Hotel, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Guest,
We really thank you for your kind remarks which make us feel good and proud of our service and location. The breathtaking views from some of the rooms and the communal areas give a taste of the natural beauty of Tuscany. We keep our gardens and pool as much as possible in tune with the surrounding!
We have many repeat guests that love to immerse themselves in our peaceful atmosphere and we always love to see them time after time, as we have developed a real friendships over the years. We look forward to welcoming you again to enjoy San Gimignano, a relaxing and lovely location with all the modern comforts and services of our Hotel.
Warm regards
Dania and all the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    316
    191
    55
    16
    10
See reviews for
76
398
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pontypridd Wales
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Another stay at the Relais Santa Chiara, San Gimignano, Tuscany. As wonderful as ever.
The situation is perfect, just a three minute walk to the old town itself but in a peaceful locality. Views across the Tuscan valley just perfect.
The staff are extremely friendly, efficient and knowledeable. Erika, on the front desk is exceptionally helpful and seems to know all there is to know about the near and distant surroundings.
Fully recommend it to anyone considering a visit to Chiantishire.
Book directly with the hotel and request a small room with balcony overlooking the valley.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cliffie_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We spent our last holiday in San Gimignano, Toscana, and we spent three nights in Santa Chiara hotel. Our stay there was great - the hotel is well located 5 minutes walk from the south gate of San Gimignano, and close to other places of interest in the region. The service is outstanding, the place is always clean and a rich breakfast is served daily for a very reasonable price.

It is highly recommended to come with a rented car in order to travel around Toscana - it's 35 minutes drive from Siena, 50 minutes drive from Florence and 1:20 hours from Pisa.

The rooms are small but functional - so if you want to spend some time in the room this is not the place - however there is a superb balcony and pool at the entrance.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
1 review
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We enjoyed this hotel so much. Everything is clean, classy and stylish without being pretentious. You can really feel the true Italian and Tuscan taste throughout the property. The staff are very friendly, knowledgeable and professional. The gardens, pool area and terrace are just lovely.

After busy days of sightseeing, we loved the comfortable feeling of coming back home to what felt like our own, private, boutique hotel just outside of town. And that's one of the best parts. We had the luxury of leaving our rental car at the hotel and taking the short stroll to the main gate and inside the medieval walls of this magical place. This was such a huge benefit for enjoying the historic center in the late afternoon and after dinner after the crowds have gone.

The rooms are not big, but tastefully decorated and very efficient. There is a lot of choice for rooms depending on your budget. For example, we booked the larger room with balcony which had an incredible view over the countryside, while we chose the smaller room without view for our 2 children. We also got a great deal by taking advantage of special offers through the hotel's website.

You really can't beat San Gimignano for visiting all the wonderful sights in Tuscany and staying right nearby at the Relais Santa Chiara.

Room Tip: There are different room categories to suit your budget, with or without countryside views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ILUVSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This was our second visit to Relais Santa Chiara Hotel; the first was six years ago. Unlike other hotels in which we've stayed, this hotel has preserved all of the charm and hospitality that we remember, and the reasons we returned. This is one of our favourite places to stay anywhere. The hotel is comfortable and highly maintained; all of the staff are courteous and helpful, and the setting and surrounding views are spectacular. A most relaxing visit. We will not hesitate to return at the earliest opportunity and would highly recommend RSC.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool and countryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WilliamM7259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Situated a comfortable ten minute walk from the town of San Gimignano, the RSC is a lovely hotel. We were not given a room on the front of the hotel with the magnificent views over the Tuscan countryside, but nevertheless we had a lovely room. Spacious, clean and comfortable with a lovely bright, clean bathroom. The bed was really comfortable. Staff were polite and helpful at all times. Breakfast was served in the lovely dining room with views onto the terrace. There is a nice pool area with pool towels provided, although the changeable weather meant we were only able to use them once!.
There are lots of lovely places to eat in San G. We ate twice at the taverna just up the road from the RSC, The food was excellent and very reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Front facing have wonderful views over Tuscan countryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dosyoldtwonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bagnols-sur-Ceze, France
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2014

excellent location, room and staff. Historical city within walking distance. only a ten minute walk to the old town which is absolutely easy at night. Wonderful view from the room with balcony on the little mountain.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pascal J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
2.0 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#2 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Sovestro
Hotel Sovestro
#3 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
2.3 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#4 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
#6 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
#1 of 1 in Ulignano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Leon Bianco
Hotel Leon Bianco
#5 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Santa Chiara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Santa Chiara Hotel

Property: Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Address: Via Giacomo Matteotti 15, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Gimignano
#4 Family Hotel in San Gimignano
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Santa Chiara Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Relais Santa Chiara is a charming and elegant hotel located in the heart of the rolling hills of Tuscany, between Florence and Sienna. The hotel looks over the splendid, peaceful countryside towards Volterra and is situated just 400 mt. below the city walls of San Gimignano, a town of fairy tales with its 14 medieval towers that testify to a fascinating past. In addition, the strategic location allows one to make day trips to all the major cultural and artistic sites of the surrounding area. The hotel offers 40 rooms, made up of 4 different room types either facing the rear garden or facing the splendid Tuscan countryside. Many rooms have beautiful balconies and our superior rooms have bath with hydromassage. All rooms have air-conditioning, digital TV with international channels, hair dryers and mini-bar. Other services include private parking, a meeting room with a capacity up to 60 persons, Mediterranean garden filled with olive and cypress trees that encompass the swimming pool, which includes a separate, heated mini pool with hydro massage and an inviting and well stocked bar serving an array of beverages and a variety of snacks and light meals. The breakfast is a complete buffet that will certainly satisfy the biggest morning appetite. In the summer breakfast and bar service are available outside on the terrace. Particular attention has been given to the hotel’s furnishings. Some of the most prestige materials make up the guest rooms, such as brier wood and national oak. The public areas breath an atmosphere that’s classic Tuscany. Florentine terracotta covers the lobby which is integrated with a colorful pastel marble mosaic. The famous Serena gray stone is another dominate element found throughout the hotel, like the reception desk and the grand fireplace. Activities available nearby are: walking itineraries departing from the hotel, guided tours of the historic centre, scooter rental, wine tasting (come with light lunch), cooking classes, tennis, horse riding and a 27 hole golf course 18 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, ACCOR, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Relais Santa Chiara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Relais Santa Chiara
Relais Santa Chiara San Gimignano
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel San Gimignano, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing