We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than we Expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in San Gimignano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The hotel was just a few minutes away from the city center. We were welcomed by the very friendly staff. The ambiance was very relaxing and the view was amazing. We asked for a room with a view but unfortunately they were all booked. But regardless, our suite was nice and very clean. They were very accommodating with our check in time too, which we really appreciated. The ladies at reception were very helpful in suggesting places to see and restaurants to eat... (La Mangiatoia restaurant that they recommended was just wonderful... one of the best meals Italian meals) Breakfast was great too... they provided a lot of variety for breakfast. The lady taking care of the breakfast room was really nice and even offered suggestions on what to eat.
Overall a wonderful experience and definitely a place worth coming back to.

Room Tip: If you are planning a few nights stay, try to book the room with a view. Would be wonderful to wake...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank firstwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (650)
There are newer reviews for Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 650 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed in the suite and had a marvelous view over the tuscan mountains. Big terrace with beds and umbrella.
The swimming pool was great. The facility was very well maintained. Very friendly employees. A little bit of a downside was the lack of sun beds. A hotel with this allure should not have to leave it's guests worrying about a spot to relax. Furthermore we got a message asking us to like the hotel at trip advisor. A good hotel should not have to worry about good rankings.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Stadtje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Brilliant hotel a few minutes walk from San Gimignano. We used it as a base to explore Tuscany. The people on reception were really helpful with advice about where to park in the tourist cities and the best routes to get there. Nothing was too much trouble. The staff in general were always cheerful and helpful.
We had booked a small room but it had a large balcony with the most beautiful view of the Tuscan countryside - great. It was very hot when we were there and the air conditioning was perfect.
The pool was brilliant - always clean as was the rest of the hotel.
We would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

absolutely recommendable.
since some parts of the breakfast is not reloaded automatically, you need to ask often the staff, but then you get it freshly with a smile. Generally all staff are very friendly.

Room Tip: 2nd floor and/or at least rooms with Tuscany view (they offer a huge terraces with incredible view...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heinz N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The hotel is in excellent position, close to San Gimigano, 5 min walk. Rooms (std with a view is a best buy) are clean and comfortable. Professional and helpful staff, excellent breakfast.
We stayed for 7 nights traveling around and returning every day for a pleasant dip in the pool. Parking available and free just on the side of the hotel. If you drive Ferrari you wont mind paying 13 euros a night for the front parking. WiFi is 3 euros for the whole stay and working fine on all property.
Quiet place to rest after a long day around.
We shall return for shure

Room Tip: On the side towards pool and with view (which is a must) you have small rooms with huge terraces and...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Branislav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We just returned from a wonderful holiday in Italy including 3 nights at Relais Santa Chiara. The hotel staff are extremely welcoming and helpful, advice on how to find the hotel on arrival by bus and help pre-booking a special meal for my birthday. The smaller room was a little 'tight' and got a wee bit warm after a hot day (especially for those of us from less sunny climes) so if you do have the means, maybe choose an upgraded room. However it was clean and the bed was very comfy and we did have a balcony with the most wonderful view of the beautiful countryside and the pool area. The hotel is perfectly situated in easy walking distance to the town, a welcome stroll after a delicious meal on an evening with great views. Breakfast was tasty and enjoyable on the outside terrace in the perfectly maintained gardens and pool area. Thoroughly enjoyed the relaxing retreat and would certainly return in the future. Big thanks to the lovely hotel staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view, you will not be disappointed!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Betty900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Perfect location with short walking distance to San Gimignano. Make sure to get a room with a view of the countryside, it is fantastic! After 3 nights in Rome we rented a car and drove north. We spent 6 nights in Relais Santa Chiara Hotel, and the location was perfect for exploring Toscana in all directions. Lovely to start the day with a nice hotel breakfast outdoors before setting off sightseeing Toscana. After a busy day sightseeing it was nice to be able to return to the hotel in the late afternoon and relax in the hotel gardens by the pool before trying out one of the recommended restaurants in San Gimignano.
The hotel staff were very friendly and the reception gave us good recommendations for places to visit, and things to do. One day was spent on a hike in one of the Nature Reserves, and it was time well spent.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
2.3 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#3 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,308 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#4 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,238 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel le Volpaie
Hotel le Volpaie
#15 of 29 in San Gimignano
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Relais Cappuccina
Relais Cappuccina
#20 of 29 in San Gimignano
508 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
#5 of 29 in San Gimignano
764 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Sovestro
Hotel Sovestro
#2 of 29 in San Gimignano
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Santa Chiara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Santa Chiara Hotel

Address: Via Giacomo Matteotti 15, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Gimignano
#4 Family Hotel in San Gimignano
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Gimignano
Price Range: £85 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Santa Chiara Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Relais Santa Chiara is a charming and elegant hotel located in the heart of the rolling hills of Tuscany, between Florence and Sienna. The hotel looks over the splendid, peaceful countryside towards Volterra and is situated just 400 mt. below the city walls of San Gimignano, a town of fairy tales with its 14 medieval towers that testify to a fascinating past. In addition, the strategic location allows one to make day trips to all the major cultural and artistic sites of the surrounding area. The hotel offers 40 rooms, made up of 4 different room types either facing the rear garden or facing the splendid Tuscan countryside. Many rooms have beautiful balconies and our superior rooms have bath with hydromassage. All rooms have air-conditioning, digital TV with international channels, hair dryers and mini-bar. Other services include private parking, a meeting room with a capacity up to 60 persons, Mediterranean garden filled with olive and cypress trees that encompass the swimming pool, which includes a separate, heated mini pool with hydro massage and an inviting and well stocked bar serving an array of beverages and a variety of snacks and light meals. The breakfast is a complete buffet that will certainly satisfy the biggest morning appetite. In the summer breakfast and bar service are available outside on the terrace. Particular attention has been given to the hotel’s furnishings. Some of the most prestige materials make up the guest rooms, such as brier wood and national oak. The public areas breath an atmosphere that’s classic Tuscany. Florentine terracotta covers the lobby which is integrated with a colorful pastel marble mosaic. The famous Serena gray stone is another dominate element found throughout the hotel, like the reception desk and the grand fireplace. Activities available nearby are: walking itineraries departing from the hotel, guided tours of the historic centre, scooter rental, wine tasting (come with light lunch), cooking classes, tennis, horse riding and a 27 hole golf course 18 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, ACCOR, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Relais Santa Chiara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Relais Santa Chiara
Relais Santa Chiara San Gimignano
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel San Gimignano, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing