We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite as we expected.”
Review of Hotel le Volpaie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel le Volpaie
Ranked #15 of 31 Hotels in San Gimignano
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not quite as we expected.”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Disappointed!!! The pictures don't truly depict the hotel. The restaurant was closed, the pool was cold and the staff wasn't overly friendly to Americans. We asked for some ice and got the attitude that we had asked for the moon. The reviews were better than what we found. While it is very clean, the rooms are small and the hotel is fairly close to the road. We requested a balcony room which was so small that two chairs barely fit and absolutely no view at all.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    46
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
31
100
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
crathorne
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Stayed for one week and found it an ideal base to tour from, ideal for San Gimignano,florence, sienna, volterra. First class hospitality and a morning breakfast that must be the best in Italy. My only misgiving there was no evening meals only bar menu, but excellent restaurant in the village. Would definitely recommend this family run hotel.

Room Tip: Superior rooms have balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in August and had an excellent stay.

The hotel is based pretty much half way between San Gimignano and Volterra so is an excellent base for those with a car that want to explore Tuscany.

The room - Lovely view and plenty of space. The bathroom was huge and had great toiletries. There was a safe, TV and a huge window with beautiful view. The housemaids kept the room perfect every day.

The staff - Friendly and helpful at all times. There was always someone around to help and nothing was too much trouble.

Pool - Stunning! There are loads of pool loungers and it was a very quiet and peaceful place to laze away under the sun. The pool is a great temperature and there is also space out on the grass with tables and chairs if you want to have some more privacy.

Food/Drinks - Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice and different choices each day. The drink prices were very good and the bar is open until midnight and you can sit outside on the balcony and garden under the stars which was so nice.

Location- Must have a car. Is great to escape the usual crowds and have some peace. Plenty of parking.

Overall I couldn’t recommend this hotel more. It was a wonderful break.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dfitzgerald84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
70 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

This is a small family run hotel in a village outside San Gimignano. Its a relatively modern hotel over three floors. It has a nice reception / bar / lounge area, a small breakfast room and a small garden and veranda. Its just off the main road between San Gimignano and Volterra and quite quiet.

The room was simple with a tiled floor with a good sized bathroom. It was very clean. The bed was hard but comfortable. Breakfast was excellent with a very good buffet selection of meat, cheese, eggs, bread, cake etc

There is good off-street parking and a small swimming pool. The family and their staff were very friendly and efficient.

Its probably not the place for a weeks holiday but for a few days as a base for sightseeing its perfect and good value.

One thing to mention is that you do need a car and the village has limited facilities.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ps888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
55 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

What a treasure this small hotel is! Located within 30-40 minutes from Florence and Pisa and about 15 minutes from the walled city of San Gimignano, it's a little way out in the gorgeous Tuscany countryside. Owned by a husband and wife and their lovely daughter. The rooms were clean and spacious, there was a beautiful little swimming pool and the breakfasts were wonderful. Fresh pastries, fruit, cheeses, meats and perfectly cooked soft-bouled eggs. We spent almost three weeks in Italy, and this was our favorite hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lucas54, Proprietario at Hotel le Volpaie, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Dear Pat,

thank you so much for you great rewiew.
We are glad that you had a good stay at our hotel and we hope to see you soon.
Best wishes
Luca, Anna and Letizia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 February 2013

I have never spent a more relaxing time at a hotel in my life. The Italian countryside is beautiful compared to living in Upstate New York! The location is fantastic being just around 30 minutes from Siena and about 15 from San Gimignano. Most of the reviews rave about the food, and they're right. The food is remarkable. Having spent a few weeks traveling throughout Italy, I can truly say that the food at Hotel le Volapie is incredible. The rooms were clean, pool was relaxing, and hospitality was wonderful. Great value for the money. Would definitely recommend to couples or anyone traveling alone.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

This place is very charming, but it has some problems to be solved.
The first and worst of the is the bed. It was awful.
The room was simple, but good and clean. Too clean, for that matter. It had a very strong smell of products and that can be very bothersome.
Breakfast was very good! And free internet was available to the guests.
Service could be better and it is far from San Gimignano, so it's good only if you have a car.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ricardomello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
2.4 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#2 of 31 in San Gimignano
1,171 reviews
4.1 mi away
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
#9 of 31 in San Gimignano
598 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
#1 of 1 in Ulignano
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Hotel Sovestro
Hotel Sovestro
#3 of 31 in San Gimignano
605 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Pescille
Hotel Pescille
#11 of 31 in San Gimignano
344 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
#6 of 31 in San Gimignano
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel le Volpaie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Volpaie

Property: Hotel le Volpaie
Address: Via Nuova 9 | Castel San Gimignano, 53030, San Gimignano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel le Volpaie 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel le Volpaie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Volpaie Hotel
Le Volpaie San Gimignano
Hotel Le Volpaie San Gimignano, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing