We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous small hotel within the walls of San Gimignano.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel L'Antico Pozzo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in San Gimignano
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous small hotel within the walls of San Gimignano.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with a girlfriend for 4 nights. We had a charming twin bedded room overlooking the courtyard where breakfast is served on fine days. The hotel is only 3 star but , rooms comfortable with sky tv, minibar, hairdryer, bath and shower too. Staff v helpful and friendly. Would definitely stay here again. Wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emanuele-sang, Owner at Hotel L'Antico Pozzo, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review of L'Antico Pozzo!
We are thrilled to know that you had a memorable stay and are grateful for your appreciation of our service and the comfort of our rooms facing the courtyard.

We all look forward to welcome you again!

Elisabetta Marro
owner
info@anticopozzo.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    410
    230
    50
    13
    4
See reviews for
112
401
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Odessa, Ukraine
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

My wife and I visited San Gimignano in early May. The hotel is great because of 1) location; 2) staff; 3) services.
Staff was exceptionally nice and helpful in pointing out local attractions etc.

One thing to remember is that it is located in the central street so now and then it may get quite noisy and we recommend not to take any chances and before getting to bed to close the windows and the shutters.

The room was clean and spacy.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

this is a nice place .. rooms nice and large if a bit plain .. difficult to drive to and deliver luggage so phone hotel and get clear instructions! .. overnight parking some distance away... nice outside area for breakfast .. very good location as right in middle of town... front desk helpful.. lift to take luggage upstairs with staff help ... good restaurant referrals from front desk ... we would certainly stay here again

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OFC44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

My Wife and I spent 2no nights at this hotel and throughly enjoyed our stay and will return again in the near future.
The location was idea for a short walks to the piazza and the staff were delightful.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013 via mobile

The hotel is right in the middle of San G, facing onto the street about 200 yards from the main square. Location wise, it couldn't be better. We stayed in a standard double room which was somewhat spartan, but ok, and the bathroom large. The shower was a tap 'extension', and that bath had a few hole repairs, but functioned ok. The walls are paper thin though, you can hear the conversations in the next room pretty clearly.

The staff were fine (slightly annoying cleaner who wouldn't leave the room I was in!), and generally quite helpful.

I would say that if you want the location, this is the place for you, however in terms of value for money, I think that 140 Euros is too steep, unless it has some serious room renovations. Staying in a similar location in the heart of Lucca at the same price, you just get more for your money.

Quick tip....don't follow the advice to drive in, drop your bags and drive out. Just park in ParkingLot 3, take the lift, and then it's a 6 minute walk to the hotel...not too bad at all.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ffatso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emanuele-sang, Owner at Hotel L'Antico Pozzo, responded to this review, 7 July 2013
Dearest Guest,
thank you for your review and for the suggestion on choosing to get to the hotel by lift: a walking approach to the historical center is certainly very interesting.
We are sorry if you got a sense of neglect by the conditions of the bathtub; accidentally a perfume bottle fell into it and scratched the enamel surface which has been temporarily covered by a repair adhesive (cm1 X cm2) that I agree with you, is not the best from an aesthetic point of view.
Unfortunately this type of tub does not allow an effective repair and must be replaced. The replacement is already scheduled for the end of the tourist season as it requires the intervention of builders, plumbers and tilers for a few days.

We apologize for any inconvenience encountered during your stay and kindly invite you to return to our hotel, assuring you maximum comfort.

Witk kindest regards

Emanuele Marro
owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

My husband and I absolutely loved this hotel. We were so happy to have stayed right within the San Gimignano walls, as we were able to enjoy a bit of wine with supper and then stroll around this lovely town in the evening. We rented a car for Tuscany and I was quite anxious about finding the correct parking lot in San Gimignano, but it was very easy. We didn't bother driving up to the hotel to unload our luggage and I'm so glad we didn't because the streets were narrow, at times crowded, and looked difficult to navigate. We just followed the signs to Parking Lot #3 and walked our luggage up to the hotel. It was a pretty quick and easy walk, and there was an outdoor elevator up from the parking lot, which helped.

When we arrived at this charming hotel, we were made to feel very welcome. We stayed in Room 20 and the ceiling is breathtaking. All of the Dante rooms look beautiful and spacious. But we just loved our room and it was very quiet. We were given restaurant recommendations by the hotel and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

A word about San Gimignano in general: we almost didn't stay here because we'd read about it being so crowded. But it ended up being one of our favourite towns from the entire trip. Yes, we stayed in May and, yes, we had just come from Venice, which probably helped. The streets were definitely not empty, by any means, but I did not find the crowds overwhelming (except when ordering gelato!). As others have said, San Gimignano is absolutely charming at night and in order to fully experience that, I believe you should stay at least one night within the walls. And this hotel is the perfect choice!

Room Tip: Dante rooms seem to be the best choice for being quiet and spacious. Dante Room 20 had the domed, fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IrishJo18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emanuele-sang, Owner at Hotel L'Antico Pozzo, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Dearest Guest,
we are extremely grateful for your wonderful review, it is a real pleasure to know that we were able to make you feel welcome and that you enjoyed your stay at L'Antico Pozzo so much. We always strive to offer our guests a memorable experience in terms of service and hospitality.
We look forward to host you again at hour Hotel and in our beloved city.

Emanuele Marro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

Really a great location inside the city BUT you need to view the video to understand how to drive in with your luggage and where to park afterward. Our room was enormous with a canopied bed and 20 foot ceilings...the closet a large enough wardrobe, and the TV, ok, and way too far away. The bathroom was also enormous but not especially user friendly...with a single light (for the entire room)above the sink and the hair dryer nowhere near the mirror. The breakfast was ok...but hadn't been replenished after the american bike riders pillaged much earlier.
All-in-all....a charming and well located setting with friendly but mildly indifferent service. If you have never been to Italy and/or are freshly in love you will write epic poems of this experience. If you have you have traveled a bit you will say...nice.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sheams54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emanuele-sang, Owner at Hotel L'Antico Pozzo, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking your time to share your review on our hotel and we are glad that you have enjoyed the videos available on our official website.

I do honestly think however that it's the first time we have learned that the large size of our rooms and bathrooms may create discomfort for our guests.

Probably, given the space of the room, it would be proportionate use a giant screen for the tv however, while providing modern comforts and amenities, our priority is to offer genuine emotion of the past rather than a memorable multimedia experience.

We are sincerely sorry that the breakfast appeared to be scarce after the small biking group was present in the breakfast room. We are always generally very attentive to replenish during the breakfast service to satisfy our clients morning appetites. Our goal is to provide each guest with the best service possible, for example, we often serve breakfast on the terrace outside the hours of service before the check-out.

From the comment shared, I sense a well traveled individual and I would be happy to receive a more detailed report from you. Feedback from experienced travelers is extremely valuable to us and helps us to improve our service.

We are looking forward to welcome you back again to L'Antico Pozzo

Emanuele Marro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Leon Bianco
Hotel Leon Bianco
#4 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Sovestro
Hotel Sovestro
#2 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#3 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#5 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,201 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Cisterna Hotel
La Cisterna Hotel
#7 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
#1 of 1 in Ulignano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel L'Antico Pozzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Antico Pozzo

Property: Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Address: Via San Matteo 87, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Gimignano
#5 Family Hotel in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel L'Antico Pozzo 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stylish hotel in San Gimignano. Located in a superbly renovated historic building within the ancient walls of the medieval town, L’Antico Pozzo is the perfect backdrop for art lovers and travelers looking for sober and refined elegance. The peaceful and inspiring atmosphere of the hotel reflects the incomparable charm of the town that surrounds it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel L'Antico Pozzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo San Gimignano, Tuscany, Italy
l Antico Pozzo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing