We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, centrally located”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in San Gimignano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 December 2013

This is a good hotel, but I wasn't blown away. The staff is friendly, and breakfast was decent. The room was okay, but nothing too special. The best part is the central location of this hotel, but then again, the town is so small that it's hard to be too far. San G. is a great place to visit and I'm glad we stayed overnight to enjoy the town after the day-tourists had left. It was very helpful to have the detailed video and instructions for getting to the hotel; thank you for that!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank porjotok_Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (783)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

212 - 218 of 783 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 7 nights on a recent olive-picking trip to San Gimignano. My room was a lovely large room that overlooked the back courtyard. The room was spotless and the bathroom was quite large. The service was very good - the front desk was very helpful in ordering a great taxi service that helped me throughout the week. I did not take advantage of breakfast because I enjoyed going outside the hotel and having coffee in the square. I love this town. I felt very safe as a single woman traveling on my own.

Room Tip: At the end of the trip I moved to a double room with two twin beds as a friend had joined me. My se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lovetotravel0528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Very nice property, clean, inviting. They have an outdoor courtyard, and a Bar; making it very livable. Fridge in room as well. There are restaurants and shopping just outside the lobby door. This is a Super location! Good value.

Room Tip: Elevator is a big help with the luggage; and they permit you to drive up to the door for luggage dro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emanuele-sang, Owner at Hotel L'Antico Pozzo, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Dear Richard,
we are happy to hearing you had a great experience at L'Antico Pozzo and appreciated its excellent location as well as our relaxing courtyard, which is indeed a nice place to rest after walked throughout the medieval historical center.
We thank you for your lovely review and hope to welcome you again soon

Warmest regards

Emanuele Marro
info@anticopozzo.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Very pleasant stay in ideal location with charming staff. San Gimignano is a very special place and this hotel is a perfect base. I chose this hotel after studying the choice from Trip Adviser comments and am very glad i did. I will return and the sooner the better!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob_Chalmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emanuele-sang, Owner at Hotel L'Antico Pozzo, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Dear Bob,
thank you for your time and lovely review, we really appreciate your comments and are thrilled to hear that your expectations based on other travellers' experiences have not been disappointed! We thank you to suggest L'Antico Pozzo hotel as a perfect base to enjoy San Gimignano and hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again on your next trip to Tuscany

Warmest regards

Emanuele Marro
info@anticopozzo.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We chose San Gimignano to sleep during our trip to Tuscany. We stayed there for four nights. L'Antico Pozzo was lovely and SO pretty hotel in the center of San Gimignano. The breakfast was plentiful and of good taste. The staff was friendly and warming. We really enjoy the place.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniela J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emanuele-sang, Owner at Hotel L'Antico Pozzo, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Dear Daniela,
I sincerely thank you for sharing your lovely review with the travellers' community, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at L'Antico Pozzo as well as our breakfast and friendly ambience.
It has been a real pleasure to meet you and hope to see you soon again!
Warmest regards

Emanuele Marro
info@anticopozzo.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Staying at this delightful hotel was the highlight of our holiday to Italy and Germany. The staff could not have been more helpful and the room was big, beautiful and full of character. Very romantic! We had peace, perfect peace and the breakfasts were as good as we had in Europe. This would have to be one of the most charming hotels in Italy, so do yourself a favour and spent a few nights there.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank james m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emanuele-sang, Owner at Hotel L'Antico Pozzo, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Thank you for your fantastic review! We are truly blessed with warm and kind travellers like you at L'Antico Pozzo and sincerely thank you for recommend us to lovers of romantic and charming hotels in Italy.
We hope to see you within the near future
Warmest regards

Emanuele Marro
info@anticopozzo.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Wonderful hotel and staff in incredible san gimgnano.
2 couples stayed for 2 nights in July 2013 on our 16 day self guided tour of Italy, the hotel was clean and staff friendly, breakfast was also very good,
I highly recommend staying overnight as seeing the town after the day tours leave is wonderful,
The food and shopping are equally amazing.
This hotel is a wonderful base for exploring other town as Siena , then returning to have san gimignano to yourself in the evening.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Hone4209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emanuele-sang, Owner at Hotel L'Antico Pozzo, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Dear Hone,
thank you for choosing L'Antico Pozzo for your step in San Gimignano! We are delighted to have been part of your beautiful vacation in Italy and thank you for recommending our hotel as a perfect base to enjoy the surronding area.
We certainly can’t wait to see you next time you visit San Gimignano!

Emanuele Marro
info@anticopozzo.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Leon Bianco
Hotel Leon Bianco
#6 of 29 in San Gimignano
909 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Cisterna Hotel
La Cisterna Hotel
#7 of 29 in San Gimignano
767 reviews
1.9 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#2 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
#9 of 29 in San Gimignano
660 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bel Soggiorno
Hotel Bel Soggiorno
#10 of 29 in San Gimignano
362 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
#1 of 1 in Ulignano
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel L'Antico Pozzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Antico Pozzo

Address: Via San Matteo 87, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Gimignano
#5 Family Hotel in San Gimignano
Price Range: £91 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel L'Antico Pozzo 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stylish hotel in San Gimignano. Located in a superbly renovated historic building within the ancient walls of the medieval town, L’Antico Pozzo is the perfect backdrop for art lovers and travelers looking for sober and refined elegance. The peaceful and inspiring atmosphere of the hotel reflects the incomparable charm of the town that surrounds it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel L'Antico Pozzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo San Gimignano, Tuscany, Italy
l Antico Pozzo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing