We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casolare di Libbiano
Ranked #4 of 67 San Gimignano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2011

If you're looking for a place to stay that is removed from anywhere, yet easily accessible, offers warm and genuine service and is lucky enough to have San Gimignano's best cook preparing a stunning 4 course meal every night, then Casolare de Libbiano is for you! I can't stop recommending Berta and Andreas charming Casolare... The perfect holiday for us (young couple) in Tuscany... Quiet, great pool, beautiful grounds and fabulous food! This is a special place!!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TraSBVvel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (347)
There are newer reviews for Casolare di Libbiano
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 347 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2011

Fantastic food. Great because you don't have to study a menu every night. Constatino the chef prepares what he likes every evening based on what is available and fresh in the market. We just turned up at dinner time and we were never disappointed. I'd go back again and again!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LvTv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

Arrived by bus in a thunder storm to San Gimignano town center. No taxis in sight. Called the owner, Andrea and he had one there to pick us up in 20 mins. Great host! The property is in the middle of rolling Tuscan hills and olive groves. The also grow their own grapes. The quintessential Tuscan B&B!

Room Tip: Book early
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maplemars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2011

The road that brings you to this hideaway is long and dusty, and steep, you wonder when you will ever arrive, but when you do the stillness and beauty of this place has an immediate impact. Everything is geared towards having a refined and relaxing experience. The garden and orchard have a lovely natural feel, and the pool is attractively placed.
This husband and wife team really know what they're doing, we dined every evening on a five course menu, sitting outside on a terrace facing the most charming view of haystacks that resemble cotton reels. Opera music wafts all around and the sun slowly goes down as you near the end of your meal. Fellow diners are very convivial and after dinner most people sit and relax in the lounge.
The food is a gourmets' dream and the table settings are well chosen. Natural things like petals and twigs are used to create an interesting centrepiece.
This area makes an excellent base for visiting all the surrounding medieval towns, including Sienna.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happytravellers94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2011

My sister and I had the good fortune to find Casolare through a friend. The beautiful restored 16th century home is so charming you don't want to leave. Andrea is a perfect host and his staff is always attentive to your needs.
The surrounding property and valley take your breath away. Try to find time to enjoy the pool!
The most amazing chef, Constantine,will delight you with four course meals every evening.
Andrea has a wonderful wine list as well to compliment the meal.
The B & B is truly a retreat from your busy day. Casolare is set back several miles from the main road so a car is essential.
We can't wait to go back>

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MLP10146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2010

After searching for many places to stay in Tuscany on the internet, we came across Casolare di Libbiano and it looked like the perfect place to relax and experience the true Tuscan countryside. To begin with, the booking was very easy and the email communication for reservation was very responsive. We arrived at the farmhouse and were met by Andrea (the owner) who could not have been more freindly and accomodating and made us feel at home straight away. The farmhouse itself was rustic, but very chaming and you could not help but feel instantly relaxed and comfortable . Our room overlooked the most amazing countryside, was very clean and own bathroom and we had a great night sleep each night there. The food that is served each night, was expectional and the chef (Constantino) is as good a chef that you would find in any 5 star hotel in Italy. His food is seasonal, honest and inspired. We also did the cooking class with him and would highly recommend that to anyone who stays. We loved our time at Casolare di Libbiano so much, that it was extrenely hard to leave and we are already planning our next trip back there. Berta and Andrea are the perfect hosts and make this place a home away from home. Obviously, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmrose1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2010

We have just returned from another stay at Il Casolare di Libbiano and yet again, we were not disappointed. We found ourselves just 3 weeks before our annual leave, with no holiday booked and no ideas what to do. We needed to rest but we didnt want to sit around all day. I was so pleased when my husband suggested that we return to see Berta and Andrea at the Casolare as it gave us the opportunity to relax and to take in some of the beautiful Tuscan towns and villages.

The Casolare was just as we remembered; comfortable, clean, relaxed and just what we needed. The food was exceptional and each night we sat down to a 4 course dinner of regional cuisine of the highest standard. Guests during our stay were from Spain, Italy, Germany and the U.S.A. and several guests were on their second or third visit.

I am almost tempted to say I was disappointed to find Casolare di Libbiano on Trip Advisor because it means that everyone else will find this hidden paradise. If you get the chance to stay - do it. It will be some of the best food you will eat in Italy.

When we left this time I said to Andrea that I was sad to be going and he just smiled and said " we'll see you next year". He probably will.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaspersmum71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
3.1 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#4 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,238 reviews
2.2 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#3 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,308 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hotel le Volpaie
Hotel le Volpaie
#15 of 29 in San Gimignano
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Locanda dell' Artista
Locanda dell' Artista
#1 of 67 in San Gimignano
361 reviews
3.0 mi away
B&B Le Undici Lune
B&B Le Undici Lune
#2 of 67 in San Gimignano
275 reviews
3.9 mi away
Tenuta Mormoraia
Tenuta Mormoraia
#9 of 67 in San Gimignano
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casolare di Libbiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casolare di Libbiano

Address: Localita Libbiano 3, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 67 B&Bs / Inns in San Gimignano
Price Range: £92 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casolare di Libbiano 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Casolare di Libbiano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casolare Di Libbiano Hotel San Gimignano
Casolare Di Libbiano San Gimignano, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing