We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ummm. Zzzzz”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Casolare di Libbiano
Ranked #6 of 67 San Gimignano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Essex England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Ummm. Zzzzz”
Reviewed 5 September 2011

No television, No Wi-Fi, No news, No papers No sound. Perfection. Awaking from our afternoon siesta, following Mario’s leisurely lunches, accompanied of course with a bottle of local wine, we awake to the sound of singing coming from the kitchen as chef Costantino prepares the next evening meal which we eagerly await, the smell is amazing. Time for an hour or two around the garden and pool listening to nothing. Change and shower and await the drifting sound of classical music which denotes dinner is served. No menu choice, but at this stage my mind couldn’t cope with decisions, but no issues here, each of the four courses results in many ummm’s and ahhh’s from our family, food simply couldn’t be better. Service from Andrea and Berta is passionate if relaxed, but who isn’t at this stage. The evening ends with a coffee served in the comfortable lounge and time to bed and a good night’s sleep in comfortable rustic surroundings, readying for breakfast and another morning of exploring this wonderful part of Italy.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    34
    8
    7
    4
See reviews for
86
165
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2011

We stayed for 5 nights in July with our daughter and it exceeded our expectations of what our Tuscan holiday was going to be like. Berta & Andrea are wonderful hosts and have really done the most fabulous job creating a wonderful & relaxing atmosphere for their guests. The room we stayed in was separate to the guesthouse which was perfect when you have a 3.5 year old staying with you. It gave us the privacy we needed as well as kept the noise away from the other guests. It was beautifully decorated and very comfortable for 3 people. I highly recommend the dinners that Andrea and his chefs put together so make sure you book a few dinners during your stay.. Such wonderful tuscan food in a very lovely setting overlooking the vineyard & garden outside in summer. Our 3.5 year old daughter ate everything! The breakfasts are perfect to start you day and the service is very friendly and warm. Thank you for the most memorable holiday and we can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MKPax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

My wife and I stayed here 10 days, although we had not intended to stay that long. But the hospitality, tranquility, wonderful suite and unsurpassed cuisine captured us. We're experienced world-wide travelers, but our stay here ranks as one of our most wonderful, relaxing vacations ever. We especially enjoy eating out and there are an abundance of restauranteurs nearby. But we found the four-course gourmet dinners, served exactly at 8:00pm, as unmatched, so we ate all our dinners here. Interestingly, we never ate the same dish more than once. The quality of guests also made the stay noteworthy, but the owners are some of the nicest people we have had the pleasure of knowing.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KWYSWilley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2011

This charming place was an absolute delight. Sitting a mile or so off the main road 10 minutes from San Gimignano was the perfect home base for our day trips around the area. You are greeted with open arms, to this converted dairy/olive/grape farming spot. There are only 4-5 buildings on the place, one a century(s) old church. Small and comfortable. Serving breakfast and the absolute best dinners we had in all of Italy. The owner/chef gets the total at breakfast for those returning for dinner and they served a wonderful seasonal meal. We had veal, wild boar, and other delightful entree's. I will go back and stay there. The place is old, but the bathrooms were modernized and spacious. Try for the upstairs suite, it's the best.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mygardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, Co Durham, England
Level Contributor
105 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

The Casolare is a totally relaxing experience. Berta, Andrea and their manager Mario have created an oasis of calm, deep within the Tuscan countryside. The food which is served is of the highest quality and grown locally and transformed by their chef to the most mouthwatering of traditional dishes. I would urge anyone considering just the bed & breakfast option to think again and book for dinner, bed and breakfast as the food served is of superior standard and you can enjoy either Andrea's house wine or drink from his extensive cellar of Italian wines. Dinner is served in one sitting which is generally around 8pm each evening; classical music wafts through the air - it is either chosen by Andrea or one of the guests - and it adds to the dining experience. All guests have their own table but everyone sits down to eat together when the dinner bell is rung. The menu is the same for everyone unless you have a specific dietary requirement. If the weather is good you will be sat on the outside verandah overlooking the beautiful countryside (we saw a wild boar sow with her piglets in the field beside the verandah one year). If the weather is cool or rainy, you will be sat inside in the cosy dining room.
The rooms of this bed and breakfast is filled with beautiful rustic furniture and lots and lots of paintings which were done by Berta's Father and also by Berta. They are in a variety of styles and feature various subjects but one repeating feature is Berta's Grandmother who appears at various life stages. It is always good to see her face each time we return.

Things which the Casolare doesn't have but which are not, in my opinion, required are: air conditioning - the walls are thick and have shutters so it is easy to keep a room cool for the night. The rooms also have ceiling fans so if it is particularly humid, at least the air gets circulated. There is no wi-fi and rooms do not have televisions so if any of these things rate highly on your list, this is probably not the place for you. If, on the other hand, you would like a fantastic taste of the best of Tuscan cooking, the best of Tuscan hospitality and a totally relaxing time, this IS the place for you. We returned for our 4th visit this year and the standards remain exceptionally high. For us a trip to Italy wouldn't be the same without a few days at the Casolare di Libbiano.

If wi-fi, flat screen TV and sound systems in your rooms are what you are looking for, don't go to the Casolarees

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaspersmum71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2011

If you're looking for a place to stay that is removed from anywhere, yet easily accessible, offers warm and genuine service and is lucky enough to have San Gimignano's best cook preparing a stunning 4 course meal every night, then Casolare de Libbiano is for you! I can't stop recommending Berta and Andreas charming Casolare... The perfect holiday for us (young couple) in Tuscany... Quiet, great pool, beautiful grounds and fabulous food! This is a special place!!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TraSBVvel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2011

Fantastic food. Great because you don't have to study a menu every night. Constatino the chef prepares what he likes every evening based on what is available and fresh in the market. We just turned up at dinner time and we were never disappointed. I'd go back again and again!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LvTv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
3.1 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#2 of 31 in San Gimignano
1,171 reviews
3.0 mi away
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
#9 of 31 in San Gimignano
598 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Sovestro
Hotel Sovestro
#3 of 31 in San Gimignano
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#4 of 31 in San Gimignano
1,259 reviews
3.0 mi away
B&B Le Undici Lune
B&B Le Undici Lune
#2 of 67 in San Gimignano
257 reviews
3.3 mi away
Locanda dell' Artista
Locanda dell' Artista
#1 of 67 in San Gimignano
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casolare di Libbiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casolare di Libbiano

Property: Casolare di Libbiano
Address: Localita Libbiano 3, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 67 B&Bs / Inns in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Casolare di Libbiano 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Casolare di Libbiano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casolare Di Libbiano Hotel San Gimignano
Casolare Di Libbiano San Gimignano, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing