We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Utopia!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casolare di Libbiano
Ranked #4 of 67 San Gimignano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2012

All I can say is wow! My husband and I loved every minute of this off the beaten track retreat. From the minute we turned down the unpaved gravel road, we knew we were in for a special treat. After spending a week in the chaos of Rome and Florence in the depth of their tourist season, there was nothing more refreshing than this rustic and charming country home. We were welcomed with genuine kindness and felt as if we were in the comfort of our own home. Not only were the staff amazing, the food was off the charts amazing, so much so that we ate there each night of our stay. Simple, gourmet, fresh, and full of the flavor of their land. These meals were our favorite during our 2 week stay in Italy. Thank you to amazingly cool hosts for an unforgettable experience! We will be back:)

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarePhibbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (346)
There are newer reviews for Casolare di Libbiano
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 346 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2012

My husband and I had the good fortune to stay at "Casolare di Libbiano" for 5 nights just recently, and we could not have been more delighted. We wanted a place to relax in the country, with the opportunity to bop around and visit for part of the day if we chose and then come back and lounge around the pool. This was definitely it! Everything you need to know about it is on their website, and it fit our cirteria--Tucked away a bit off the beaten track, but readily accessible, we found ourselves treated to sun, pool, great meals and family hospitality that we will not forget, away from the hustle and bustle and distractions of every day life. Berta and Andrea could not be more welcoming or accommodating, truly invested in the business of hospitality, treating us like guests around the family dinner table of meals Berta and her chef lovingly invent for the guests every day. So much is home made--the Chianti, the bread, the croissants, the jam. I love the fresh fruit salad in the morning particularly. We did venture out for dinner one night, but we found the dinner experience at Casolare so charming that we stayed in most of the time. They offer a four course meal for a really modest price, and it's high quality food. The convivial setting meant that we engaged in conversation with other guests, meeting people from all over the world. Everyone who works there is so nice, and they will meet any need you have with a smile on their face, just as Andrea and Berta do. We even had our laundry done for a nominal fee, which was great and unexpected. After a morning at San Gimignano or Volterra, you can read a book, swim, relax and sip some grappa, and then look forward to a nice dinner to top off the evening. Thank you, Berta and Andrea, for this unforgettable experience. We can't wait to come back!
Joelle Reilly
Brooklyn, NY

Room Tip: We enjoyed the downstairs room in the main house, overlooking the garden. It's off the dining r...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

My wife and I along with another couple stayed four wonerful nights in early September of 2011. It was a respite from the activity of Florence and Rome. Costantino helped us through cooking school and also prepared amazing meals for us. We took advantage of the gardens, the views, the quiet times and the cordial and friendly service. It's off the beaten path but only a short drive to the beaten path and to San Gimignano.

Room Tip: If at all possible sign up for a cooking class with Costantino.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

It is a treat to arrive at this tucked away home after hectic travels! If you are looking for a place to get away from it all and just relax, this is a very pleasant setting. We particularly enjoyed the outside area. I would described it as being more of a country home than a Tuscan villa, and know that it is accessed via a bumpy gravel road if this is an issue for you (wasn't for us). We enjoyed our dinner there, as well as the wonderful aromas that were emanating from the kitchen during the late afternoon. The dinner differed from my expectations - I thought it was going to be a communal dinner where all the guests sit together, with a slower place between courses. Never-the-less, we enjoyed eating outside with classical music and tasty, well prepared food. Our family suite was very spacious and nicely decorated and the bathroom large, updated, and clean. However, I found the bed to be very hard (I like firm but with some cushion on top) and the kids' beds on the softer side. The only other minor thing that bothered me was the 4 euro per pool towel charge. The hosts are gracious but perhaps a bit rushed at times. Overall, we had a wonderful stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minkey2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

We just spent four nights in this beautiful place. Very beautiful garden and pool area, peace and quiet and absolutely amazing dinners! Grazie Andrea, Berta and the staff, such warm and welcoming service! Ci vediamo!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank auliella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

On a recent visit to Italy we unfortunately landed up here, it was not what we hoped for, no Tuscan countryside views, except from the far corner of the garden, dark rooms with very disturbed art on all the walls.
The garden was lovely, definetly the best part, a lovely pool, but be prepared to pay 4euro per towel every time you want to swim. It felt that once you were there, they could charge extra for every thing. The roads were farm roads, not safe at night, so you had to stay in for dinner, and it is pricey.
If you want that something extra and feel special, this is not the place.

Room Tip: If you end up there, do not take the one above the kitchen, very noisy
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gerald C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Such a peaceful retreat! It is most definitely remote -- out in the Tuscan countryside -- but that was the appeal for us. No TVs, mini bars, etc ..... it truly makes you tune out and unwind ... just what we needed! The grounds are BEAUTIFUL. Fruit trees, olive trees, vineyards, and flowers surround the pool. Rooms are rustic and charming, and quite spacious. Berta & Andrea are there to help you with whatever you need .... ideas for towns to visit, wine for up in the room or a limoncello by the pool after dinner. :)

Volterra is a wonderful town to visit that is very close .... we did walk thru San Gimignano too. Longer day trips to Florence, Siena & Montepulciano are possible as well.

By far, the best part of your stay will be the dinners. Definitely dine at the Casolare at least one night. It was so nice, after a long hot day walking up and down tuscan hills and towers .... to not have the think about where we were eating and if was going to be good or not. We just made our way home, squeezed in a quick dip in the pool and had a lovely dinner before us at 8:00 pm. We were there for four nights .... after the first night we were hooked and decided to eat there all four nights! 4 course meal, Fantastic, gourmet food and presentation. Local, fresh ingredients. House wine is great!

Our only regret is that we did not get to explore some of the hiking trails in the area .... Andrea had a map all ready for us, but with all the other activities there just wasn't enough time. One thing was for sure -- upon leaving Tuscany we all were wishing we had a few extra days at the Casolare. Forget sight seeing -- we just wanted to relax by the pool and sip some wine! A truly beautiful place!

Many Thanks to Berta & Andrea for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in the "Verde" room on the top floor .... excellent views!
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 July 2012

We are very happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay and dinners at "IL Casolare di Libbiano" , we do it with all our love and we really appreciated that you notice it. We hope to see you again in the future, now you know where we are. Our best wishes, Berta & Andrea.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
3.1 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#4 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,237 reviews
2.2 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#3 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,308 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hotel le Volpaie
Hotel le Volpaie
#14 of 29 in San Gimignano
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Locanda dell' Artista
Locanda dell' Artista
#1 of 67 in San Gimignano
358 reviews
3.0 mi away
B&B Le Undici Lune
B&B Le Undici Lune
#2 of 67 in San Gimignano
275 reviews
3.9 mi away
Tenuta Mormoraia
Tenuta Mormoraia
#9 of 67 in San Gimignano
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casolare di Libbiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casolare di Libbiano

Address: Localita Libbiano 3, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 67 B&Bs / Inns in San Gimignano
Price Range: £91 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casolare di Libbiano 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Casolare di Libbiano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casolare Di Libbiano Hotel San Gimignano
Casolare Di Libbiano San Gimignano, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing