We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Il Rosolaccio
Nearby Hotels
La Cisterna Hotel(San Gimignano)(Great Value!)
US$235
US$161
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Pescille(San Gimignano)(Great Value!)
US$172
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel La Collegiata(San Gimignano)
US$303
US$293
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Bel Soggiorno(San Gimignano)(Great Value!)
US$176
US$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Villasanpaolo(San Gimignano)
US$251
US$226
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Sovestro(San Gimignano)
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel le Volpaie(San Gimignano)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Leon Bianco(San Gimignano)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel San Michele(San Gimignano)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Villa Belvedere(San Gimignano)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (204)
Filter reviews
204 results
Traveller rating
144
43
9
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
144
43
9
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswatching the sunsetb bstunning viewstuscan hillsidesbalcony viewwelcome packcomfortable accommodationmulti coursecleaning staffhard boiled eggswonderful propertyrisottoswimming poolsurrounding vineyardsa wonderful staylocal winebeautiful area
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
83 - 88 of 204 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We rented Iris which was a bit basic but fine for our purposes as we spent most days sight seeing. The farmhouse is set in stunning Tuscan countryside with wonderful views as it's quite high up.

We had a cookery lesson while we were there which was excellent fun especially eating the results afterwards.

The medieval evening hosted by Ann was wonderful and ensured we got talking to our fellow travellers.

Only one small gripe - it would have been nice to have had a welcome pack in our apartment e.g a jug of milk for a cup of tea, we had been driving all day and were too tired to go into San Gimignano to get provisions.

Room Tip: Noise from the extractor fan in the hotel kitchen spoiled one nights sleep
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lollipopstrawberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2011

I stayed for 5 nights at Il Rosolaccio in June 2011 with my husband and mother in law. We had 2 of the B&B rooms, which were lovely, spacious and spotlessly clean. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Beds were comfy and the showers were good.

The gardens are also immaculately kept, and there is a swimming pool, which we didn't get to sit next to, but looked very inviting all the same.

There was free wifi too, which was helpful in planning our days out. There is a laptop for communal use.

The farmhouse is perched at the top of a hill on the road fom Certaldo to San Gimignano. There isn't much within walking distance, so you do need a car if you want to get about, but it is a beautiful and peaceful location.

As mentioned in previous reviews, the views over the Tuscan countryside are quite stunning.
Breakfast is varied and served until 10am on the patio at the back of the farmhouse. Dinner is served on the sunny terrace at the front if the weather permits. Dinner is a daily set menu of deliciousTuscan cooking, and there is a wide range of very reasonably priced wine to go with it. Spirits and beer are also available, so there is no need to go anywhere else if you don't want to!

If you do fancy a change of scenery, and you don't want to drive, then a taxi to Certaldo Alto (where there are 4 or 5 restaurants ranging from pizza to Michelin Star) will cost between 15 and 20 Euro each way.

Ann, the proprietor, was very helpful indeed in terms of planning our days out. She has a map for almost every occasion! We had planned on getting a train from Certaldo to Florence, but she persuaded us to drive, as it was so easy, and only took 40 minutes. We parked at the Piazza Michelangelo (free!) which also gave us stunning views over the city which we would have missed on the train.

We also drove to Siena (40 minutes) San Gimignano, Volterra and Radda in Chianti.

Some top tips:

Park at the Piazza Michelangelo in Florence for stunning views over the city and all day free parking. If you don't fancy the walk into town, then the Hop on Hop Off bus also stops there.

If you can manage it, climb the bell tower in San Gimignano for some stunning views over the Tuscan Countryside.

In Siena, the queue to climb the bell tower can be quite long (and it's over 400 steps!). Instead, you can climb to the Panorama which is part of the Siena Cathedral museum complex, where the views are stunning (only 138 steps!) Time on the Panorama is sometimes limited, and there is still a (shorter?) queue, but the view includes the bell tower.

Siena Cathedral is quite stunning inside, and well worth a look.

If you fancy some wine tasting, try Il Borgo di Vescine just outside Radda in Chianti (also a pretty village). This was fun, interesting, and in a beautiful location.

Just take a drive and go where your nose takes you- you won't be disappointed!

In summary, we would definitely come back here, and Il Rosolaccio is highly recommended! All the other guests seemed to be enjoying it too.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharpie180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2011

My wife and I spent a week in Calendula self-catered apartment in Il Rosolacio. The property is located about midway of San Gimignano and Certaldo (5km from each) and 20 minutes from the Raccordo Autoestradale Siena-Firenze.
It is a beautiful estate on top of a vineyard covered hill, with one main building (were the restaurant, the hotel rooms and the owners home are located) and a couple of smaller constructions housing the apartments.
Calendula apartment faces the downhill vineyard and has an almost infinite unobstructed view to the sunset. It is composed of two similar sized areas. The first one has the kitchen, dining table and the living room. They are quite spacious, but the kitchen could be better equipped and the living room has only one small couch and a small and outdated TV. To be fair, I don’t believe anybody should watch much TV in an amazing location as this. The sitting area could be cozier. As in the kitchen/living room, the bedroom also opens through a large glass door to the terrace. The bed is large and very comfortable, although I would prefer regular sheets and blankets than the combined kind they have. The bathroom is very spacious and comfortable, though very plain.
There is no doubt in our mind that the best feature of the apartment is the terrace. Occupying the whole length of the apartment’s front and facing the vineyard, it is not just spacious, but also very private. The perfect place to dine (after making pasta with those marvelous Italian tomatoes) and have some wine.
Il Rosolacio is not just a great base to explore the area, but also a very nice way of experiencing the life in Tuscany.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M&J_BR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

My wife and I just spent an amazing week at Il Rosolaccio with our two boys (ages 6 & 3). I don’t even know where to begin, but this place is truly paradise !!! Everything about the property is perfect: the location, the apartment we stayed in (Brunella), the peace and tranquility of the place, the fact that it sits on top of a hill surrounded by grape vineyards and olive orchards, etc. etc. The views are breathtaking and it’s the ideal location to visit some of the most amazing hill top towns of Tuscany. San Gimignano is less than 10 minutes one way and Certaldo is 5 minutes the other way. It was also very easy for us to take day trips to Voltera, Montalcino, Siena and Montepulciano. The manager, Ann, is lovely and such a wonderful host. She arranged horseback riding, provided directions to the hill towns that we wanted to visit and had some excellent recommendations for restaurants in the area – amazing food, beautiful views. Her staff was warm and helpful as well - we felt very much at home. Within hours of arrving we were already planning our return trip. I would highly recommend this place to anyone - it's a gem !!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KStetson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2010

Rosolaccio was a great place to stay and very central to all the sites of Tuscany. We travelled with four friends exploring Italy during September and October 2010. We found Rosolaccio to be high quality accommodation. We enjoyed a scrumptous evening meal with our friends and alos enjoyed lazy around the pool after our daily excursions. Laura was very helpful making sure we visited all the best sites of Tuscany.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mtonnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews