We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Tuscan villa”
Review of Il Rosolaccio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Il Rosolaccio
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful Tuscan villa”
Reviewed 7 November 2011

This is described as a B and B, which doesn't really do it justice (although it doesn't claim to offer the services, or charge the rates, of a hotel). We had a lovely comfortable room with a stunning view across a classic Tuscan valley - which turned out to be where we had stayed on our first visit to Tuscany in 1985. We ate the set dinner on both nights. This had to be ordered earlier the same day and there was no choice. It was good rustic fare, reminiscent of the best home cooking. We were there out of season and the pool was closed but it looked very good. Il Rosolaccio is very well placed for exploring both well known places such as San Gimignano and Sienna. But there are also some delightful lesser known attractions and we have particularly fond memories of pottering around quiet hill towns.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VACR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    39
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
52
84
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 October 2011

This is a stunning location and accommodation - a real treat at the top of the long and steep hill which is exciting going up and there are views for miles. Our accommodation was lovely - traditional setting but modern fittings with original beams and windows, and interesting contemporary artwork. There are lovely grounds and gardens, with a wonderful swimming pool and the gardens are dotted by unusual cacti - looked great! From the pool area there are incredible views right across the landscape, with gorgeous sunsets. Breakfast offered a good selection in a nice setting in the gardens, and you could even have figs picked from the trees that morning. You could also have an evening meal, all the produce was local and very tasty - great cook! And even the wine came from the vinyard below. The team there were fantastic, very attentive, helpful and knowledgable, giving good recommendations (all in English too) for restaurants etc in local area, we highly recommend CumQuibis in San Gimignano, great! We saw a tour offered on the board for the Fiat 500, and found it was Anne the Manager's concept - we hired the fantastic 1966 ice blue Fiat 500 for the day and Anne lead us in her own 1968 Fiat 500 around the local area, stopping for interesting and quirky sights and a great lunch. This was a lot of fun and we'd highly recommend it!! The owner, Ingrid, introduced herself as soon as we arrived and was often around to chat about the area and her lovely agriturismo buildings - so overall this team and Ingrid were friendly and provided excellent customer service. We loved staying there.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sglover1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brazil
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

That was my first experience in this type of acommodation. It is a very nice place, you will sleep very well here. when you wake up and open the window the room has a very nice view.
They need to improve the breakfast.
I like this place but I like more hotels because they have more services to offer to their guests.
Anyway II Rosolaccio it is a very good option for those who want this type of accomodation.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erubin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bussels
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

What a hidden gem Il Rosolaccio is. Nestling in the hills of Tuscany this idyllic B&B is a liitle piece of paradise. You can stay in a B&B room or take an apartment in the spectacular grounds of this authentic Tuscan property with it's lush gardens, amazing swimming pool with spectacular views and experience a total sense of peace and calm.Anne and Charly are the most welcoming of hosts and nothing is too much trouble; Dinner is served in the gardens where guests can mingle and relax after a hard day of touring or hiking, soothed with one of Anne's amazing cocktails before the gastronomic delight of home cooked food, course after delectable course. The fig tree provided us with its luscious fruit on the breakfast buffet every morning along with fresh eggs, cheeses, meats, fruits and cereals, served in the garden with a frothy cappuccino to start your day. Only regret - we should have stayed longer!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngieMaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2011

We where staying at Il Rosolaccio for a five days during the August. This agriturismo is positioned very well as a base for the exploration of the Tuscany. People are kind and service is very good. Room's are spacey, well run and quite. The pool has great view over the magnificent scenery. You could enjoy the dinner with the magnificent view (and don't miss the house wines). The road sign could be better as we missed it few times. It's particularly recommended for the family with small kids. Great!

Djordje,
Serbia

Room Tip: Rooms are quite, clean, spacious and furnished with style
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dj0rdje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

This was our second visit to Il Rosolaccio and we were not disappointed. We took friends with us to visit this beautiful area of Tuscany and it was great to see that they had the same opinion as us, the "Wow" factor was still there. The accommodation is quite varied at Il Rosolaccio but I am sure Ann and Ingrid can find something to suit your needs. The view from the pool and at evening dining is quite something, just a great place to stay.

Raimondo S.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rayferry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

A lovely place to stay in a good location.

1/2 way through our two day trip we were asked to move to the identical next room following a slight booking mix up; it was to help a family all be in the same area. We didn't mind one bit but were offered a nice lunch which we felt was not necessary but we were still given a free bottle of prosecco! This is was so kind.

Everyone was so friendly and we would definitely return tomorrow if we could; hopefully soon anyway!

The only only only one thing you could say was that the rooms did not have aircon but you feel that this would ruin the character and detract from the charming rooms and the general feel of the place.

TOP TIP - enjoy the food overlooking the wonderful view if you can. The food was amazing and the view is to die for.

Thanks to Ann and everyone at Il Rosolaccio for making our first trip to Italy so amazing.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StuartC1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
4.1 mi away
Hotel Sovestro
Hotel Sovestro
#3 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#2 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
1.8 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#4 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Poderi Arcangelo Agriturismo Farmhouse
Poderi Arcangelo Agriturismo Far...
#10 of 111 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
5.3 mi away
Fattoria San Donato
Fattoria San Donato
#13 of 111 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
0.6 mi away
Locanda dell' Artista
Locanda dell' Artista
#1 of 66 in San Gimignano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Rosolaccio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Rosolaccio

Property: Il Rosolaccio
Address: Localita Capezzano 34, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 111 Speciality Lodging in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Il Rosolaccio is placed in a panoramic position surrounded by vineyards and olive groves. Offering B&B and self catering accommodation, it is conveniently placed between Certaldo and San Gimignano making it an ideal starting point for sightseeing in the area from Siena, to FLorence and the Chianti region. Our large buffet breakfast includes home-baked cakes, we also provide dinner 5 nights a week and cooking courses are also available. Most importantly we are always pleased to help our guests with suggestions and information on how to enjoy their Tuscan holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Il Rosolaccio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Rosolaccio San Gimignano, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing