We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place!”
Review of Il Rosolaccio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Il Rosolaccio
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place!”
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We had a wonderful stay! The rooms are beautifull and clean, the house has a perfect location overlooking the hills of Tuscany. The garden is well kept, breakfast is good. The beds are comfortable. Dinners are ok but not too special, the nice thing is the wonderfull view while enjoying your dinner. But do check out other restauants in the area recomended by tripadvisor! The only downside is that this place is located a few kilomiters from the city, so when you arrive there is no lunch so you will have to find a supermarket or restaurant while you are tired from the long trip.....

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    39
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
52
84
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

When we arrived at Il Rosolaccio we got the feeling our stay was going to be amazing and it did not disappoint. We stayed in the Brunella Apartment with our 3 children which was very clean and spacious. The children's room was very large with a double bed and one single bed which was great, so each child had a bed, rather than the usual fold out sofa for the 3rd child. The bathroom is also very large. The view from Il Rosolaccio is just breathtaking over the vineyard and valley. We enjoyed sitting outdoors and admiring the view and there were also swings for the children to play on. The manager Ann was so hospitable and nothing was too much trouble for her and her staff. Ann organised a cooking class for myself and the children which they are still talking about. The cooking class was fantastic and we got to enjoy what the children cooked for lunch. The 3 course Tuscan dinner offered is just beautiful - very authentic Tuscan food. This was also a lovely way to meet other people staying at the accommodation, if desried. Even though we had the Apartment we had the dinner at Il Rosolaccio each night it was offered. I would not hesitate recommending this accommodation and would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012 via mobile

The hotel is quite nice but the big issue was that we had a flat on the 2. Floor and they had no air condition. At midnight it was around 35 Celsius in the room. Sleeping and staying was impossible, so we left earlier. Dinner was ok, but also nothing worth to mention. Try out the restaurants in the area

Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Colorpoliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

We had a wonderful week at Il Rosolaccio staying in the Iris apartment. Ann was extremely helpful when we had a problem with our rental car on our first day. The apartment was quite spacious with simple, rustic decor.
The views are spectacular – the farmhouse is on a hill surrounded by vineyards. It was a great place to base ourselves for daily trips to villages and sites around Tuscany. It was great to relax by the pool from 4-6 almost daily before dinner as well.
We had dinner at Il Rosolaccio the last night and highly recommend this – delicious multi-course dinner under the stars! Wished we had done this earlier in the week.
Tips:
- the kitchen does not have a stove, just burners, and there aren’t any basic supplies (salt, pepper, sugar). But you are in Tuscany so go out and enjoy the local cooking!
- toiletries are also limited – a couple of small packages (like samples you get in a magazine) of combo shampoo/body wash – plan to shop for or bring your own soap, shampoo, etc.
- It is located between San Gimignano and Certaldo. Most people go to SG, but don’t miss old Certaldo above the new town. It is much quieter with a few nice restaurants
- Castello di Verrazzano (just north of Greve in Chianti) Wine & Food Experience program (tour, tasting and lunch) is not to be missed! One of the highlights of our trip – lunch is fantastic. Gino and his young son Giuseppe were great.

Room Tip: The Iris Apartment was good value and was at the end of the hotel so it was private and quiet. Ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TorontoVacationLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

This is described as a B and B, which doesn't really do it justice (although it doesn't claim to offer the services, or charge the rates, of a hotel). We had a lovely comfortable room with a stunning view across a classic Tuscan valley - which turned out to be where we had stayed on our first visit to Tuscany in 1985. We ate the set dinner on both nights. This had to be ordered earlier the same day and there was no choice. It was good rustic fare, reminiscent of the best home cooking. We were there out of season and the pool was closed but it looked very good. Il Rosolaccio is very well placed for exploring both well known places such as San Gimignano and Sienna. But there are also some delightful lesser known attractions and we have particularly fond memories of pottering around quiet hill towns.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VACR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 October 2011

This is a stunning location and accommodation - a real treat at the top of the long and steep hill which is exciting going up and there are views for miles. Our accommodation was lovely - traditional setting but modern fittings with original beams and windows, and interesting contemporary artwork. There are lovely grounds and gardens, with a wonderful swimming pool and the gardens are dotted by unusual cacti - looked great! From the pool area there are incredible views right across the landscape, with gorgeous sunsets. Breakfast offered a good selection in a nice setting in the gardens, and you could even have figs picked from the trees that morning. You could also have an evening meal, all the produce was local and very tasty - great cook! And even the wine came from the vinyard below. The team there were fantastic, very attentive, helpful and knowledgable, giving good recommendations (all in English too) for restaurants etc in local area, we highly recommend CumQuibis in San Gimignano, great! We saw a tour offered on the board for the Fiat 500, and found it was Anne the Manager's concept - we hired the fantastic 1966 ice blue Fiat 500 for the day and Anne lead us in her own 1968 Fiat 500 around the local area, stopping for interesting and quirky sights and a great lunch. This was a lot of fun and we'd highly recommend it!! The owner, Ingrid, introduced herself as soon as we arrived and was often around to chat about the area and her lovely agriturismo buildings - so overall this team and Ingrid were friendly and provided excellent customer service. We loved staying there.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sglover1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brazil
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

That was my first experience in this type of acommodation. It is a very nice place, you will sleep very well here. when you wake up and open the window the room has a very nice view.
They need to improve the breakfast.
I like this place but I like more hotels because they have more services to offer to their guests.
Anyway II Rosolaccio it is a very good option for those who want this type of accomodation.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erubin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
4.1 mi away
Hotel Sovestro
Hotel Sovestro
#3 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#2 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,159 reviews
1.8 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#4 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Poderi Arcangelo Agriturismo Farmhouse
5.3 mi away
Fattoria San Donato
Fattoria San Donato
#13 of 111 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.6 mi away
Locanda dell' Artista
Locanda dell' Artista
#1 of 66 in San Gimignano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Rosolaccio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Rosolaccio

Property: Il Rosolaccio
Address: Localita Capezzano 34, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 111 Speciality Lodging in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Il Rosolaccio is placed in a panoramic position surrounded by vineyards and olive groves. Offering B&B and self catering accommodation, it is conveniently placed between Certaldo and San Gimignano making it an ideal starting point for sightseeing in the area from Siena, to FLorence and the Chianti region. Our large buffet breakfast includes home-baked cakes, we also provide dinner 5 nights a week and cooking courses are also available. Most importantly we are always pleased to help our guests with suggestions and information on how to enjoy their Tuscan holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Il Rosolaccio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Rosolaccio San Gimignano, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing