We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appalling owner”
Review of Il Rosolaccio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Il Rosolaccio
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Appalling owner”
Reviewed 15 September 2012

We stayed here for 2 days in August. Once arriving we were greeted with a hostile owner. Very unhelpful telling us there was no food being served at night for the 2 days booked ! Very basic farmhouse. No air conditioning and full of Mosquitos. Will not be going back there. Very poor service, breakfast ordinary. Only saving grace was the views. Fortunately one of the guests told us where to eat at night. After driving for 3 hours to be greeted with. Sour face is not what u expect. We stayed in TUscany for 10 days at different places and typically as it was English owned no hospitality just agrees ion. Will not be going back and would not recommend place.

Stayed August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    39
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
52
84
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012 via mobile

Relaxed, rustic, charming and will look to return again.

We sat in green and took advantage of a 3 course BBQ meal, watched sun go down over the Tuscan hills while enjoying their local wine. Food was amazing and pleantyful. Service good. Breakfast brilliant.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BenG15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sverige
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We stayed at il Rosolaccio a week ago and it was truly an experience. The rooms were good, the surrounding view from the hotel was fantastic. From the pool you have full view of the Tuscan wineyards. We had the pleasure of having their superb 3 course dinners in the evening which was really good. The staff was really nice and had really good knowledge of the surroundings, what to see and where to go. It´s located only 5 km from the fantastic old city San Gimligano. I can really reccomend this hotel, both if you are a couple or a family. You can combine culture excursions with a dip in the pool which my sons (8 and 10 years) really enjoyed.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B-OHellgren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We had a wonderful stay! The rooms are beautifull and clean, the house has a perfect location overlooking the hills of Tuscany. The garden is well kept, breakfast is good. The beds are comfortable. Dinners are ok but not too special, the nice thing is the wonderfull view while enjoying your dinner. But do check out other restauants in the area recomended by tripadvisor! The only downside is that this place is located a few kilomiters from the city, so when you arrive there is no lunch so you will have to find a supermarket or restaurant while you are tired from the long trip.....

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

When we arrived at Il Rosolaccio we got the feeling our stay was going to be amazing and it did not disappoint. We stayed in the Brunella Apartment with our 3 children which was very clean and spacious. The children's room was very large with a double bed and one single bed which was great, so each child had a bed, rather than the usual fold out sofa for the 3rd child. The bathroom is also very large. The view from Il Rosolaccio is just breathtaking over the vineyard and valley. We enjoyed sitting outdoors and admiring the view and there were also swings for the children to play on. The manager Ann was so hospitable and nothing was too much trouble for her and her staff. Ann organised a cooking class for myself and the children which they are still talking about. The cooking class was fantastic and we got to enjoy what the children cooked for lunch. The 3 course Tuscan dinner offered is just beautiful - very authentic Tuscan food. This was also a lovely way to meet other people staying at the accommodation, if desried. Even though we had the Apartment we had the dinner at Il Rosolaccio each night it was offered. I would not hesitate recommending this accommodation and would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012 via mobile

The hotel is quite nice but the big issue was that we had a flat on the 2. Floor and they had no air condition. At midnight it was around 35 Celsius in the room. Sleeping and staying was impossible, so we left earlier. Dinner was ok, but also nothing worth to mention. Try out the restaurants in the area

Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Colorpoliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

We had a wonderful week at Il Rosolaccio staying in the Iris apartment. Ann was extremely helpful when we had a problem with our rental car on our first day. The apartment was quite spacious with simple, rustic decor.
The views are spectacular – the farmhouse is on a hill surrounded by vineyards. It was a great place to base ourselves for daily trips to villages and sites around Tuscany. It was great to relax by the pool from 4-6 almost daily before dinner as well.
We had dinner at Il Rosolaccio the last night and highly recommend this – delicious multi-course dinner under the stars! Wished we had done this earlier in the week.
Tips:
- the kitchen does not have a stove, just burners, and there aren’t any basic supplies (salt, pepper, sugar). But you are in Tuscany so go out and enjoy the local cooking!
- toiletries are also limited – a couple of small packages (like samples you get in a magazine) of combo shampoo/body wash – plan to shop for or bring your own soap, shampoo, etc.
- It is located between San Gimignano and Certaldo. Most people go to SG, but don’t miss old Certaldo above the new town. It is much quieter with a few nice restaurants
- Castello di Verrazzano (just north of Greve in Chianti) Wine & Food Experience program (tour, tasting and lunch) is not to be missed! One of the highlights of our trip – lunch is fantastic. Gino and his young son Giuseppe were great.

Room Tip: The Iris Apartment was good value and was at the end of the hotel so it was private and quiet. Ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TorontoVacationLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
4.1 mi away
Hotel Sovestro
Hotel Sovestro
#2 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#3 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
1.8 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#4 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Poderi Arcangelo Agriturismo Farmhouse
5.3 mi away
Fattoria San Donato
Fattoria San Donato
#13 of 111 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.6 mi away
Locanda dell' Artista
Locanda dell' Artista
#1 of 66 in San Gimignano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Rosolaccio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Rosolaccio

Property: Il Rosolaccio
Address: Localita Capezzano 34, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 111 Speciality Lodging in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Il Rosolaccio is placed in a panoramic position surrounded by vineyards and olive groves. Offering B&B and self catering accommodation, it is conveniently placed between Certaldo and San Gimignano making it an ideal starting point for sightseeing in the area from Siena, to FLorence and the Chianti region. Our large buffet breakfast includes home-baked cakes, we also provide dinner 5 nights a week and cooking courses are also available. Most importantly we are always pleased to help our guests with suggestions and information on how to enjoy their Tuscan holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Il Rosolaccio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Rosolaccio San Gimignano, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing