We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place”
Review of Il Rosolaccio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Il Rosolaccio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2013

My brother and I stayed there four nights during our Tuscany trip. The hotel is ideally located for combining both, short trips to attractions in the area (San Gimignano, Siena, Volterra...) and relaxing days at the pool, getting carried away while overlooking the romantic tuscan scenery. The rooms and appartments are spacious and lovely furnished. For dinner, there is lots of excellent restaurants in the area, but I can also highly recommend the "home-cooking" offered by the hotel, including a little bit of "eating with friends and family feeling". Seems to be a good place for all kind of travellers, from young couples to families. Would like to go there again, will do next time I am in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcuspeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 204 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2012

Our first trip to Tuscany and we could not have chosen a better place than Il Rosolaccio! From the fabulous medieval banquet which Ann made happen on our first night there, to all the helpful recommendations that she made for a winery tour, dinner in Certaldo Alto (Taverna L'Antica Fonte, one of our best during our 2 weeks in Italy!) and suggestions for touring the Chianti region...it was just a great experience!
Il Rosolaccio is a restored Tuscan farmhouse set high on a hill overlooking vineyards, located between San Gimignano and Certaldo. Loved hearing the history of it from Ingrid, the owner. We were so comfortable in our corner room with its fabulous views, and we loved wandering the beautiful grounds and swimming in the pool with its beautiful views. We also made use of the comfortable upstairs living room with other guests after dinner one night. Tuscan dinners are served five nights a week, with a wonderful breakfast buffet which we had each morning on the back terrace.
Every single person on Ann's staff was very welcoming and helpful (and many of them had roles in the medieval banquet, including Ann and her husband, Charlie!) Our only regret is that we were only at Il Rosolaccio for 4 nights. We look forward to a next time!

Room Tip: We loved our corner room upstairs called "Anito!"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marykaypam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

This is a beautifully located friendly inn near San Gimignano. Our room overlooked a vineyard. The view was a fine way to start the day and a romantic way to end it. The rooms were well appointed. They are not air conditioned, but they were comfortable in the evening. The staff was very cooperative. Their recommendations for restaurants and for a vineyard visit and wine tasting were excellent. Meals aren't available every night but if you can't find a great restaurant in this part of Tuscany, you just aren't looking. (There are a bunch in Certaldo a few minutes away.)

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jandsnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

This was our last stop before returning home and having experienced friendly welcoming hosts at all four stays it was really disappointing to come to such a beautiful place to be greeted by a sour faced English owner . Despite her 30 years stay in Tuscany she was not able to advise us on how to best spend our last day. Luckily we met some nice locals who gave us a few options the night before.I wanted to stay an savour the views but could not wait to get out of this unwelcoming unfriendly place.Only had breakfast which was a simple .

Room Tip: Need a car to get here but best not to go .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Buck1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

We stayed here for 2 days in August. Once arriving we were greeted with a hostile owner. Very unhelpful telling us there was no food being served at night for the 2 days booked ! Very basic farmhouse. No air conditioning and full of Mosquitos. Will not be going back there. Very poor service, breakfast ordinary. Only saving grace was the views. Fortunately one of the guests told us where to eat at night. After driving for 3 hours to be greeted with. Sour face is not what u expect. We stayed in TUscany for 10 days at different places and typically as it was English owned no hospitality just agrees ion. Will not be going back and would not recommend place.

Stayed: August 2012
2  Thank Marcy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012 via mobile

Relaxed, rustic, charming and will look to return again.

We sat in green and took advantage of a 3 course BBQ meal, watched sun go down over the Tuscan hills while enjoying their local wine. Food was amazing and pleantyful. Service good. Breakfast brilliant.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BenG15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We stayed at il Rosolaccio a week ago and it was truly an experience. The rooms were good, the surrounding view from the hotel was fantastic. From the pool you have full view of the Tuscan wineyards. We had the pleasure of having their superb 3 course dinners in the evening which was really good. The staff was really nice and had really good knowledge of the surroundings, what to see and where to go. It´s located only 5 km from the fantastic old city San Gimligano. I can really reccomend this hotel, both if you are a couple or a family. You can combine culture excursions with a dip in the pool which my sons (8 and 10 years) really enjoyed.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B-OHellgren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
5.5 mi away
Molino di Foci
Molino di Foci
#8 of 29 in San Gimignano
228 reviews
1.8 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#2 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,391 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
#3 of 29 in San Gimignano
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#4 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,277 reviews
0.2 mi away
Poderi Arcangelo Agriturismo Farmhouse
4.4 mi away
Agriturismo Il Segreto di Pietrafitta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Rosolaccio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Rosolaccio

Address: Localita Capezzano 34, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 109 Speciality Lodging in San Gimignano
Price Range: £66 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Il Rosolaccio is placed in a panoramic position surrounded by vineyards and olive groves. Offering B&B and self catering accommodation, it is conveniently placed between Certaldo and San Gimignano making it an ideal starting point for sightseeing in the area from Siena, to FLorence and the Chianti region. Our large buffet breakfast includes home-baked cakes, we also provide dinner 5 nights a week and cooking courses are also available. Most importantly we are always pleased to help our guests with suggestions and information on how to enjoy their Tuscan holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Il Rosolaccio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Rosolaccio San Gimignano, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing