We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice atmosphere - descent food”

La Bettola del Grillo 2
Ranked #59 of 130 Restaurants in San Gimignano
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“nice atmosphere - descent food”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

we came there by a recomendation from our apartment owner, especialy to have "bisteca ala fiorentina". we only ordered the steak and some potatoes.
the potatoes were simple and good - had some nice olive oil and rosemary on them.
we asked our steak to be grilled medium, and we got it more or less rear...after we asked the waitress to take it back and grill it a bit more, we got it a bit burnt...
the staff was nice, and we got a nice discount, and a degistif and dessert on the house....

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Aviram M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    136
    67
    36
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
415 reviews
303 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“Outstanding food and lovely patio and view”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Was taken here as part of a very small food and wine tour. Charming restaurant with a lovely outdoor patio with a nice view. Outstanding food, very generous portions. Their mixed bruschetta was the best we've had in Italy and one of the best anywhere. The bread was grilled and had just a touch of smoky flavour as did the grilled vegetables. The charcuterie plate was excellent with lean and flavorful samples of salami, the one with fennel was scrumptious, and prosciutto. The pastas were terrific. Gnocchi with a creamy saffron sauce, bici noodles with Gorgonzola and ravioli stuffed with spinach and ricotta with butter and sage sauce were plate licking good, but the first two were my favorites. No room for dessert.
We didn't pay as this was included in our tour, (My Tuscan Wine Tour), but the menu was very reasonable.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alwaysplanahead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zwevegem, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A master with the microwave”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

The chef's fantasy of bruscetta, my god wath a lousy imagination, even his ordinary tomato bruscetta was tasteless! the pici al ragu was clearly a microwaved sauce, not bad but nothing special!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Faustocoppi1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portsmouth
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent food in oneof the best restaurants in Italy”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We have had dinners in this restaurants several times, first time some 10 years ago and again this week and each time we have had really, really excellent meals. The menu is quite varied and typical for Tuscany with very generous size meals, very well priced. The members of staff are very friendly, the ambience in the restaurant very nice. Of various restaurants we have been to in San Gimignano, this is by far the best, we would go back thee any time and we would certainly recommend it to our friends.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anna22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not authentic pizza”
Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

This is certainly not a true indication of San Gimignano. If you are looking for a traditional, authentic Italian Pizza, forget it.
There are plenty of fantastic restaurants around and this certainly should not be top of your list of eateries.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank twinkle07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Bettola del Grillo 2 also viewed

San Gimignano, Province of Siena
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 

Been to La Bettola del Grillo 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing