We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but not within walking distance of town”
Review of Villasanpaolo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villasanpaolo
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in San Gimignano
Certificate of Excellence
Westmount, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice, but not within walking distance of town”
Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

This hotel is situated in the quiet countryside, and is only about a ten minute drive away from San Gimignano, but walking on that road might be a little unpleasant. The views of the Tuscan countryside are spectacular from this hotel. We stayed in a suite, which was clean and spacious, and had a very nice jacuzzi bathtub. The staff was extremely friendly, especially when I got sick one day. They prepared a nice tray of tea and toast for me. The restaurant is good, but nothing special. The pool is very nice. There is even a billiard table. I would certainly recommend this place to anyone looking for a quiet getaway.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amg4330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    804
    359
    75
    32
    17
See reviews for
143
823
20
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We had stayed in Villasanpaolo before, maybe 12 years ago and wondered if it would live up to our memories. It didn't quite, as the recent extensions do nothing to enhance the ambiance of the hotel. However, the hotel grew on us as our week went on. We had a pretty room in one of the older buildings, with a balcony overlooking the most beautiful view of San Gimignano. The swimming pool area is surrounded by attractive sun-bathing areas and a small cafe area is available there. I do think more could be made of this, as service was only available for a few hours around lunchtime.
The food in the restaurant was excellent, as was the range and quality of the breakfast. Staff were friendly and helpful, but we did feel there was a shortage of staff. It was difficult to speak to the reception desk when other people were there, and I was unable to book an appointment at the spa, as no-one was on duty and the phone was not answered. The spa looked very good but I was unable to sample it.
Having said all that, the hotel is set in the most beautiful surroundings and we did have a wonderful break. Will I go back in 12 years time? Probably not.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank greenbeeinshanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford, Oregon, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Overall great location, just a 4-5 minute drive to San Gimignano. The grounds are awesome, our room was very nice with a huge bathroom and huge tub/shower, plus a nice balcony. The staff here was incredible. They came outside to greet us as we drove up. The breakfast host treated us like a guest in his own home, and the food was great. Plus the dining area overlooks the beautiful valley. The girls at the front desk were happy to print off Yahoo driving directions for me. Wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luigi Z, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Villasanpaolo, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
dear Shane, all our best regards and gratitude from Villasanpaolo! GRAZIE ! for your stay in june with us an and for your wonderful reviews on TripAdvisor. yours, very cordially Luigi Zaccardi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We visited and stayed at Villa San Paolo in June, 2013. Once we saw the beautiful grounds of the hotel and the great rooms with outstanding views, we regretted only staying here for only one night. The Rooms were very clean and looked new, and the Hotel was such a relaxing place after a long day of driving from Porto Venere. The Beds were very comfortable and it was nice to finally have free wifi at a hotel in Italy. The breakfast was great, along with an amazing view of Tuscany. The Hotel was about 5 minutes away from San Gimignano's town, but believe me, being away from the main town makes the hotel so quiet and relaxing, so the 5 minute drive is worth the peacefulness of the hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the second floor facing Tuscany. The view is Beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conifer, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We can’t say enough good things about our recent stay at the Villasanpaolo in San Gimignano. We chose Tuscany and Villasanpaolo as part of a family trip and to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. Luigi and his staff were very accommodating and catered to our every need, going well beyond the call of duty in every instance. For example, the night before we left Villa San Paolo to return to Rome we mentioned to Luigi that we would be leaving the hotel at 4:00am. Luigi didn’t hesitate to offer and arrange for our departing breakfast in the hotel lobby at 3:30am. The chef also baked a beautiful, multi-layered cake for our anniversary dinner knowing ahead of time that we were coming to celebrate.

The staff was very friendly, helpful, and accommodating at the front desk (helping us with maps and directions), the dining room, and at the spa. Our rooms were comfortable and clean. They have a beautiful property, with a lovely pool setting, patios, and sitting areas inside and outside that create a welcoming, relaxed environment.

The food was delicious. We had an excellent dinner the evening we arrived. And the breakfast offered many delicious choices including options for a typical tuscan breakfast.

We won’t hesitate referring Villasanpaolo to our friends and family. In fact there are a few families looking into trips next year and we have already shared glowing reviews with them!

Hats off to everyone at Villasanpaolo! We look forward to returning someday soon.

The Benedetti Family, Colorado, USA

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We visited and stayed outside of SAN GIMIGNANO . We booked in from 15 April and OUT 18 April. The rooms are fairly large but are rather old. We had a large balcony. It was very hot but the air conditioners were not working. The bedding was also old. It was comfortable however. Breakfast was OK but the coffee dispensers were out of order.. If you like the country side without noise or interruption then this may be your hideaway. Staff were friendly. I think you could get better value for your cash elsewhere though

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevelDurban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hasselt, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Beatiful authentic hotel with nice pool area surrounded by olive trees, super wellness area, clean rooms, nice restaurant with plenty of choice. Also interesting wine card. Stayed in the superior rooms - it was worth the money!

Room Tip: Stayed in the superior rooms - it was worth the money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
2.3 mi away
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
#9 of 29 in San Gimignano
620 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#3 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,203 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
#1 of 1 in Ulignano
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
#6 of 29 in San Gimignano
741 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Sovestro
Hotel Sovestro
#2 of 29 in San Gimignano
617 reviews
1.0 mi away
Relais Cappuccina
Relais Cappuccina
#19 of 29 in San Gimignano
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villasanpaolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villasanpaolo

Property: Villasanpaolo
Address: Strada Provinciale 95/14, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Gimignano
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villasanpaolo 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villasanpaolo SPA & Wellness Hotel is a beautiful charming resort part of Whotels Worldeide circuit. The hotel is located in San Gimignano (Siena) surrounded by a private park, offer all kinds of amenities. Hotel consists of two Villas of 1800 to which was added the new Village welcomes guests into a world of well-being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Villasanpaolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Paolo
San Paolo Hotel
San Paolo Villa
Villasanpaolo San Gimignano, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing