We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overly expensive ,nice location,some rude staff, breakfast lousy”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Villasanpaolo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villasanpaolo
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in San Gimignano
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Overly expensive ,nice location,some rude staff, breakfast lousy”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

Altough the surroundings are excellent there are other alternatives , this one is very expensive. The porter of the spa ask me (not nicely) to pay 60€ !!! for acess to the indor pool with my wife.Breakfast is below Ibis

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlvaroAntonioNet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luigi Z, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Villasanpaolo, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dear signor Alvaro, thank you for your stay with us at Villasanpaolo. As you may read from other reviews, we fully respect opinions of our Guests and from them we enjoy their appreciation, we learn how to further improve standards, we apology when critics have a real motivation.
Reading your review, very respectfully, we do not agree and we wish to provide correct information for readers, as hereafter. Your reservation and your original request, for which you have received a extremely detailed confirmation reply, did not include SPA entrance. Please kindly note we do not have a indoor pool, but we have a huge wellness pavillion named IRISPA, which include a large hydromassage pool, sauna, turkish bath and other different sections. We expose in our web several special offers including IRISPA benefits, and several others including other services, to give our Clientele as many options as possible, and avoiding obligations. Receptionist giving you information about IRISPA entrance fees, I am sorry to say but is never rude, perhaps can look discreet or may be shy, ma rudeness I can assure is not within his dna. I am sorry you do not mention a nice gesture we have done : your hotel reservation with instant confirmation and guarantee was done in evening of august 22nd. with arrival guarantee for same evening and for 1 night stay. You have in fact arrived the following day, august 23rd for a change in your plans, and without any advance notice to us. Our reception team, as hotel was not full the previous evening, did not charge any penalty fee for "no show" and I sincerely believe this is a polite and honest token to good hospitality. Finally, our full buffet breakfast and its tuscan section "mattina Toscana" do receive a very high degree of satisfaction by our international Clientele and I cannot understand comparison with other different hotel brand. It seems not really appropriate. I trust readers will appreciate this reply, as much as reading your review. kindest regards from San Gimignano, Luigi Zaccardi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    752
    350
    75
    31
    17
See reviews for
135
785
18
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed for one week.....and did not want to leave !! Our room was exceptionally clean and well kitted out, and the balcony (although not with a view of San Gimignano but the beautiful Tuscan landscape ) was very pleasant.Initially we intended to eat out in the evenings in the beautiful Tuscan area.....but we quickly found that the food at the hotel was excellent and the service was very friendly and efficient, with many locally sourced foods. We made use of the spa , which is very well equipped, and the therapists are excellent....a beautiful place to "unwind"
Nothing was too much trouble for the staff during our stay, and on returning home to find a very minor discrepancy with our bill, Luigi the manager pulled out all the stops to correct the mistake and recompense us. We thoroughly enjoyed every moment of our stay and would definitely recommend it to anybody looking for a truly relaxing holiday in Tuscany.Can't wait to return !!!!

Room Tip: All rooms seemed to be of a very high standard and in good locations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luigi Z, Direttore at Villasanpaolo, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
dear signora Janet, we sincerely thank you for your stay with us in summer and for your wonderful comments to Villasanpaolo and San Gimignano in general. We feel, really we feel, very proud to have guests as yourselves and we will always do our utmost to improve services and standards, as to make happier your vacations in Tuscany. We really treasure your comments ! from everyone in Villasanpaolo Team and myself, Luigi Zaccardi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

We spent two nights at this beautiful place. The breakfast is amazing.
The SPA offers all one can wish. It is close to Siena and Firenze and also one of the most beautiful Golf courses is just 20 min away.
Staff was very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luigi Z, Direttore at Villasanpaolo, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear Sir, my apologizes for being late in this reply, but very sincerely true gratitude for your stay with us and for your so kind comments in our regards. grazie mille ! Luigi Zaccardi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

We had a room in the new part of the hotel, which had a balcony, large room and bathroom with whirlpool bath. The room was spotlessly clean and well appointed. The air conditioning was effective and it was needed as temps where high. The staff where friendly and helpful, particularly the manager Luigi. We booked the hotel as we went to see Andrea Bocelli in concert at the Teatro del Silenzio and Luigi arranged transport from the hotel too and from the concert even providing a picnic to take to the concert compliments of the hotel. The hotel is located not far from San Gimignano which is a typical historic tuscan hill town and well worth visiting. There are good restaurants here with great views across the surrounding countryside. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luigi Z, Direttore at Villasanpaolo, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
dear signor Ian, my personal warmest regards from San Gimignano. With everyone in our team wish to express our gratitude for your so charming comments and the hope to see you again this summer 2014. Or, at your earliest opportunity in Tuscany, very cordially Luigi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

We spent a week here - our fourth or fifth visit, but the first since the major expansion. Although a little of the exclusive atmosphere has been lost, the charm of the old villa and its little pool remained. It took a little while to establish relationships with the staff, but once done we found them very friendly and helpful, and Sr Luigi a welcoming host. It was delightful to eat at the sister establishment Le Renaie one evening , and to see Sr Leonetto absolutely unchanged.
Thoroughly recommended as somewhere too unwind; excellent food and wine.

Room Tip: Go for the old villa rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray41221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luigi Z, Direttore at Villasanpaolo, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
dear signor Ray and Mrs, every time you are back to Villasanpaolo and visit sister Hotel Le Renaie is a true joy ! First for our Patron signor Leonetto and as well for all of us. We are always so delighted to meet you again , assist your vacation , share nice conversations. Thank you for being so long-term and affectioned Tuscan Vacationers ! yours cordially, Luigi Zaccardi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

We had a room in the villa part of the hotel, it was a pleasant room and had a whirlpool bath. The room itself was clean and of a good condition. We also had a balcony which we made good use of however, a massive tree right outside meant we couldn't see San Gimigano - but this was only a small point.
The pool area / bar was very attractive. We only sat there in the late afternoon for a cup of tea but it was pleasurable.
All the staff were friendly and helpful - in particular Franco on reception who was really helpful in telling us how to get train tickets and places to visit off the tourist track.
The breakfast, in our opinion, was absolutely fine - there was a good enough range of drinks (hot and cold), local food, cereals, bread etc.
However, the evening dining experience was not quite up to scratch. Our biggest "moan" was the extremely slow service - we appreciate a go-slow approach, but in the restaurant it was almost at stop-speed. For example, we ordered pudding one night which after 30 mins had not arrived, so we asked the waiter to cancel our order. Another time, they forgot to bring our wine until half-way through the main course. The food itself was good - but not as good as other reviewers mentioned. My partner had the lamb - it was very fatty, over-cooked and smothered in thyme. As a vegetarian, I found the menu limiting - if we had of eaten there every night of our 10 day stay, I would have been bored! That said, the risotto was nice.
On the upside, the location of the hotel is perfect for seeing Tuscany (you definitely need a car!), with San Gimigano about 3 K away (great place, good restaurants), Florence and Sienna easily accessible on the trains from Certaldo and of course the Chianti trail. We really enjoyed our stay and would probably go back again!

Room Tip: We stayed in 115 - a very nice room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Basingstokechick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

beautiful setting and pool area but other shortcomings detracted from the overall experience so it didn't live up to its 4 star billing.Main lounge is just like an airport departure lounge with little if any atmposphere - why isn't there a proper fully staffed bar to relax in during the evening especially given its too far to walk into San G? Gym very disappointing - it doesn't open until 10am,isn't air conditioned and has limited equipment. Staff service variable some very friendly but not offered the courtesy of help with luggage on arrival and most days pool towels not supplied despite a large notice in the room advising they would be supplied everyday.Room up to expected standard and very clean as was the rest of the hotel.Food ok but nothing special.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simon186534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
2.9 mi away
Hotel Sovestro
Hotel Sovestro
#2 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#3 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,137 reviews
2.3 mi away
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
#9 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
#6 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
#1 of 1 in Ulignano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Leon Bianco
Hotel Leon Bianco
#4 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villasanpaolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villasanpaolo

Property: Villasanpaolo
Address: Strada Provinciale 95/14, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Gimignano
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villasanpaolo 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villasanpaolo SPA & Wellness Hotel is a beautiful charming resort part of Whotels Worldeide circuit. The hotel is located in San Gimignano (Siena) surrounded by a private park, offer all kinds of amenities. Hotel consists of two Villas of 1800 to which was added the new Village welcomes guests into a world of well-being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villasanpaolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Paolo
San Paolo Hotel
San Paolo Villa
Villasanpaolo San Gimignano, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing